sourclams wrote:Yes. They work as long as the characters are alive. The rule says nothing about being 'on the table' or anything of the sort.
I disagree that it is clear, it needs to be
FAQ'd. In order for rules to work when the model is off the table it should say so (not vice-versa).
I think we all generally play (and the authors tend to seem to write for the most part) that stuff off the board is essentially not in play. If you don't interpret the rules that way you get some very crazy situations with any special rule that doesn't have a range associated with it. A good example are the old-school psychic hoods (the ones with no range) being used by Psykers in Reserve, but there are definitely other crazy examples out there.
Ultimately I do think that the
IG codex intended for the Astropath and
MotF's abilities to be used when they aren't on the table but I do not think that the rules clearly express this and I definitely hope it is something that
GW FAQs.