| Author |
Message |
 |
|
|
 |
|
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/05/11 18:29:59
Subject: Scout Move and Skimmers
|
 |
Whiteshield Conscript Trooper
|
If a skimmer makes a scout move before the game at flat out, on the first turn of the game does it count as obscured?
My feelings are no since Obscured says, moved flat out in the last movement phase. My interpretation is that a scout move is movement, but not a movement phase.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/05/11 18:41:03
Subject: Scout Move and Skimmers
|
 |
Sure Space Wolves Land Raider Pilot
|
Without having my Rulebook here at work, I am inclined to say that yes, it would count as obscured. All normal rules apply to a scout move(DT tests and such).
When they wrote the rule, were there any units that qualified for this question? They probebly didn't even think that they should have written "the last time it moved under it's own power" instead of "last movement phase"
Actually though, I hope they don't, as I don't play an army that this question is relevent, but do play against many friends that the solution to this will be a big help.
|
Cry Fenris, and let slip the Wolves of Russ!
-Erik Shadowfang
Space Wolves (Shadowfang's Great Company)
Tau (Aun'burn sept)
Dark Elves
Saints of Revelation (The Whole Flin-flarn Chapter) |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/05/11 18:43:43
Subject: Scout Move and Skimmers
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
I think they do.
Im looking forward to using Vendettas that start with the 4+ save because of it.
If I recall, the scout move says "scout move exactly as in the movement phase" so thats my basis. But not entirely sure.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/05/11 19:13:58
Subject: Re:Scout Move and Skimmers
|
 |
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime
|
No, they do not. 100% they do not. Checking the rulebook before answering the questions is fun! The rules for Skimmers state: A Skimmer that is not immobilised and has moved flat in its last Movement phase counts as obscured (cover save of 4+) when fired at.
The rules for Scouts say: After both Sides have deployed (including infiltrators), but before the first player begins his first turn, any scouts may make a normal move. This is done exactly as in their Movement phase, except that during this move, scouts must remain more than 12ยท away from any enemy.
Nowhere does it say it is an extra movement phase. If you move flat out on the scout move, you will also have to move flat out Turn 1 in order to claim the cover save. If you are going second, this means you will not get the cover save when being shot at if you move flat out in the scout move. Compare this to the wording for turbo-boosters: In the following enemy Shooting phase. the bike benefits from a cover save of 3+ to represent the difficulty of hitting such fast-moving targets.
Because the rule mentions the enemy shooting phase AFTER they have moved, that is why they do get the cover save.
|
|
This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2009/05/11 19:16:07
Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!) |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/05/11 19:35:12
Subject: Scout Move and Skimmers
|
 |
Sure Space Wolves Land Raider Pilot
|
Well there ya go....makes sense to me.
|
Cry Fenris, and let slip the Wolves of Russ!
-Erik Shadowfang
Space Wolves (Shadowfang's Great Company)
Tau (Aun'burn sept)
Dark Elves
Saints of Revelation (The Whole Flin-flarn Chapter) |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/05/11 19:48:49
Subject: Scout Move and Skimmers
|
 |
Heroic Senior Officer
|
Yep, no obscured (IMO) due to the "last movement phase" bit.
|
Don "MONDO"
www.ironfistleague.com
Northern VA/Southern MD |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/05/11 20:02:20
Subject: Scout Move and Skimmers
|
 |
Foolproof Falcon Pilot
|
Also of note, Skimmers moving during their "scout" move still count as stationary during an assault. The rules for hitting skimmers all refer to how far the vehicle moved in its "previous turn", and scout moves are not part of any turn.
This means that not only do you not get the 4+ cover save for going flat-out as a scout move, but you will still be auto-hit as stationary in assaults, if your opponent gets the first turn.
|
|
This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2009/05/11 20:03:22
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/05/11 20:13:52
Subject: Scout Move and Skimmers
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
Well, the rules support that you dont get the bonus, but it makes no sense honestly. Its the same as the IG getting to give orders in both players turns, makes no sense but the rules support it. This should be a FAQ.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/05/11 20:20:38
Subject: Scout Move and Skimmers
|
 |
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime
|
broxus wrote:Well, the rules support that you don't get the bonus, but it makes no sense honestly.
A lot of things don't make sense. Why do Space Marines ever Fail their Armour Saves? Why are marines only 4/4/4/4 when they should be 55/55/77/89 with a 2+ Save that you roll 6D6 for? Thats what they should be. Its the same as the IG getting to give orders in both players turns, makes no sense but the rules support it.
Oh god, not another one. No, it is NOT supported by the rules. AT ALL. Read the HUGE thread about it and see why please. This should be a FAQ. FAQ != I don't think it should be like this even though the rule is clear please clear up rules that are already clear. It's attitudes like that that lead to the Infamous "Blank Page Space Marine FAQ"
|
|
This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2009/05/11 20:22:23
Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!) |
|
|
 |
 |
|
|