Switch Theme:

Deploying pathfinder's Devilfish.  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in ca
Storm Trooper with Maglight





Toronto, Ontario, Canada

In the current codex, Pathfinders have to take a Devilfish as a dedicated transport. Thats fine, but I much prefer to deploy my fire warriors in it. Do I HAVE to deploy the devilfish with the pathfinders, or can I deploy it with the fire warriors instead?

~2100 pts
~2400 pts (Paladins, not imperial fist or gryphons!)
~2000 pts
DT:80S+GM+B--I+Pw40k09#--D++A++/areWD-R++T(T)DM+
 
   
Made in au
Quick-fingered Warlord Moderatus






You can deploy it next to the firewarriors and have them get in on turn 1, but you can't deploy the firewarriors in it, nor can you have them come on from reserves in it.

Interceptor Drones can disembark at any point during the Sun Shark's move (even though models cannot normally disembark from Zooming Flyers).


-Jeremy Vetock, only man at Games Workshop who understands Zooming Flyers 
   
Made in ca
Storm Trooper with Maglight





Toronto, Ontario, Canada

well could i say, deploy the devilfish near my FWs, and have my pathfinders somewhere else, or does the devilfish have to be with the pathfinders? if so, how close?

~2100 pts
~2400 pts (Paladins, not imperial fist or gryphons!)
~2000 pts
DT:80S+GM+B--I+Pw40k09#--D++A++/areWD-R++T(T)DM+
 
   
Made in au
Quick-fingered Warlord Moderatus






no, unless the pathfinders are starting in the devilfish they are two entirely seperate units that have no relation to eachother.

you could even have the devilfish start on the board while the pathfinders are outflanking, the only restriction is that units other than the pathfinders cannot enter play or start the game deployed in the devilfish.

Interceptor Drones can disembark at any point during the Sun Shark's move (even though models cannot normally disembark from Zooming Flyers).


-Jeremy Vetock, only man at Games Workshop who understands Zooming Flyers 
   
Made in ca
Storm Trooper with Maglight





Toronto, Ontario, Canada

Aaah ok. thanks. that really helps.

~2100 pts
~2400 pts (Paladins, not imperial fist or gryphons!)
~2000 pts
DT:80S+GM+B--I+Pw40k09#--D++A++/areWD-R++T(T)DM+
 
   
Made in us
Infiltrating Hawwa'





Australia

Drunkspleen wrote:no, unless the pathfinders are starting in the devilfish they are two entirely seperate units that have no relation to eachother.

you could even have the devilfish start on the board while the pathfinders are outflanking, the only restriction is that units other than the pathfinders cannot enter play or start the game deployed in the devilfish.


I do not think that this is true, as the Devilfish and Pathfinders are deployed as if a single unit...whether the Pathfinders are in it or not are irrelevant. If you decide to Outflank, the Devilfish must Outflank with the Pathfinders.

DakkaDakka.com does not allow users to delete their accounts or content. We don't apologize for this.  
   
Made in ie
Waaagh! Warbiker




Che-Vito wrote:
Drunkspleen wrote:no, unless the pathfinders are starting in the devilfish they are two entirely seperate units that have no relation to eachother.

you could even have the devilfish start on the board while the pathfinders are outflanking, the only restriction is that units other than the pathfinders cannot enter play or start the game deployed in the devilfish.


I do not think that this is true, as the Devilfish and Pathfinders are deployed as if a single unit...whether the Pathfinders are in it or not are irrelevant. If you decide to Outflank, the Devilfish must Outflank with the Pathfinders.
This is incorrect. The Pathfinders can outflank without the 'fish, the only caveat is that if they DO outflank with the Devilfish they must move onto the board embarked on it.
   
Made in us
Infiltrating Hawwa'





Australia

Waaaaaaagh! wrote:
Che-Vito wrote:
Drunkspleen wrote:no, unless the pathfinders are starting in the devilfish they are two entirely seperate units that have no relation to eachother.

you could even have the devilfish start on the board while the pathfinders are outflanking, the only restriction is that units other than the pathfinders cannot enter play or start the game deployed in the devilfish.


I do not think that this is true, as the Devilfish and Pathfinders are deployed as if a single unit...whether the Pathfinders are in it or not are irrelevant. If you decide to Outflank, the Devilfish must Outflank with the Pathfinders.
This is incorrect. The Pathfinders can outflank without the 'fish, the only caveat is that if they DO outflank with the Devilfish they must move onto the board embarked on it.


Please quote where a dedicated transport can be deployed on a different turn, and via a different method then it's attached unit.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2009/05/16 02:01:39


DakkaDakka.com does not allow users to delete their accounts or content. We don't apologize for this.  
   
Made in ie
Waaagh! Warbiker




The part where you dont have to start the game embarked on a dedicated transport if you dont want to? Nowhere says you must come on embarked other than if you outflank with your transport. If you want you can have them separate in reserves, and you will roll for each one separately.
   
Made in us
[ADMIN]
Decrepit Dakkanaut






Los Angeles, CA

Che-Vito wrote:
Please quote where a dedicated transport can be deployed on a different turn, and via a different method then it's attached unit.


Yeah, you've got that backwards.

The basic rules allow any unit to be put into Reserves or not so you'd need to find something in the rules prohibiting a player from doing what Waaagh describes.


The outflanking rules just say:

"Note that if such units are picked from their army list together with a dedicated transport, they may outflank with their transport, but if they do so they must move onto the table embarked in it."


So a unit with the outflanking ability MAY outflank with their transport but you could just decide to outflank with the Pathfinders and just deploy the Devilfish normally or have it move onto the table normally from Reserves.

You just can't have the Devilfish outflank if the Pathfinders aren't riding in it when they arrive.


I play (click on icons to see pics): DQ:70+S++G(FAQ)M++B-I++Pw40k92/f-D+++A+++/areWD104R+T(D)DM+++
yakface's 40K rule #1: Although the rules allow you to use modeling to your advantage, how badly do you need to win your toy soldier games?
yakface's 40K rule #2: Friends don't let friends start a MEQ army.
yakface's 40K rule #3: Codex does not ALWAYS trump the rulebook, so please don't say that!
Waaagh Dakka: click the banner to learn more! 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: