| Author |
Message |
 |
|
|
 |
|
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/05/14 13:20:42
Subject: Automated Weapons – rule clarification
|
 |
Fresh-Faced New User
|
Ok, rules question here. With the Deathstorm drop pod it reads “When it lands it opens fire indiscriminately. After landing all units (yours or opponents) with in 12” and in line of sight comes under fire for 1D3 attacks” –note this is my wording please check out the official wording with the free pdf at forge world.
http://www.forgeworld.co.uk/pdf/ia2-update.pdf
the question I am asking is when a pod lands from deep strike would you resolve the hits on all units before moving on to your next deep strike because that’s the way the rules appear to read. Your not actually going through the shooting steps because your not declaring a target since everything gets shot up.
I wanted to get a feel for what other people think about the way this unit is worded. this question was brought up inbetween games by my oponent last game i had been resolving them all in the shooting phase not when they land and he wanted to know if that was correct or not.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/05/15 20:10:40
Subject: Automated Weapons – rule clarification
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
As read, I would apply attacks immediately against all units within 12", not in the shooting phase.
|
What harm can it do to find out? It's a question that left bruises down the centuries, even more than "It can't hurt if I only take one" and "It's all right if you only do it standing up." Terry Pratchett, Making Money
"Can a magician kill a man by magic?" Lord Wellington asked Strange. Strange frowned. He seemed to dislike the question. "I suppose a magician might," he admitted, "but a gentleman never could." Susanna Clarke Jonathan Strange & Mr. Norrell
DA:70+S+G+M++B++I++Pw40k94-D+++A+++/mWD160R++T(m)DM+
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/05/15 20:33:53
Subject: Re:Automated Weapons – rule clarification
|
 |
Sure Space Wolves Land Raider Pilot
wakefield west yorkshire
|
i read the rule as it shoots in the shooting phase as there is nothing that specifies it shoots in the movement phase when it lands .
it says AFTER LANDING i read this to be in the next shooting phase it shoots indiscriminately------ NOT immediately
so as there is nothing expressly allowing you shoot out of turn ----so you cant
this just makes landing troops around it a lot more tactical with more chances for SNAFU
Automated Weapons: When a Deathstorm drop pod lands it
opens fire indiscriminately. After landing, each unit (enemy or friendly)
within 12” of the Deathstorm and in line of sight comes under
attack as a hail of missiles sweep the surrounding area. Roll to hit
using the Deathstorm’s BS4 for either D3 Whirlwind attacks or D3
assault cannon attacks against each target unit.
In subsequent turns the Deathstorm may continue to fire a single
weapon, picking a enemy target and resolving the firing as normal.
|
fear the dark
fear the angels for we are death
darkangels 15000+ pts
sisters of battle 6000+ pts
imp fists full codex company (lord knows how many pts)
space wolves - under construction but well on its away to a grand company
retired (may return) after a codex fubar
next ???????(but there will be a lot of it)
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/05/15 21:57:13
Subject: Automated Weapons – rule clarification
|
 |
[MOD]
Anti-piracy Officer
Somewhere in south-central England.
|
Mod:
This sort of query sits belongs in the YMDC forum.
|
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/05/15 22:01:37
Subject: Automated Weapons – rule clarification
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
The drop pod cannot land in the shooting phase - how the &%&%& can it?
The ddrop pod arrives via assault rules, i.e. start of movement phase. You then immediately fire it, then resolve the next landing - you are told it IMMEDIATELY fires, so you do not wait.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/05/15 23:56:44
Subject: Automated Weapons – rule clarification
|
 |
Waaagh! Warbiker
|
Nowhere does it say you can fire in the movement phase, therefore you do not. You fire it immediately... in the Shooting Phase it comes in.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/05/16 08:12:09
Subject: Automated Weapons – rule clarification
|
 |
[ADMIN]
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
Waaaaaaagh! wrote:Nowhere does it say you can fire in the movement phase, therefore you do not. You fire it immediately... in the Shooting Phase it comes in.
That is the ruling we went with in the INAT FAQ.
The thing is still amazing even with that ruling, but if you allow it to fire immediately when it lands. . .HOO-BOY!. . .it pretty much breaks the game (especially three of 'em). Well, more specifically it pretty much forces your opponent to start in reserve.
|
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2009/05/16 08:12:48
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/05/16 08:57:00
Subject: Automated Weapons – rule clarification
|
 |
Sure Space Wolves Land Raider Pilot
wakefield west yorkshire
|
Kilkrazy wrote:Mod:
This sort of query sits belongs in the YMDC forum.
soooooooooorry dear
|
fear the dark
fear the angels for we are death
darkangels 15000+ pts
sisters of battle 6000+ pts
imp fists full codex company (lord knows how many pts)
space wolves - under construction but well on its away to a grand company
retired (may return) after a codex fubar
next ???????(but there will be a lot of it)
|
|
|
 |
 |
|
|