Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/05/15 02:32:44
Subject: grenades
|
 |
Fresh-Faced New User
|
I had a questionsabout grenades that i can't seem to find answers to yet.
-only used in assault, does initiative still take priority. For instance a charging unit with a I4 versus a unit of I3 still gain then extra +1 attack for charge?
-Does only 1 grenade get used if the entire squad has them? or does the entire squad use them?
-1 Use or every assault?
thanks in advance!
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2009/05/15 02:49:44
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/05/15 02:36:00
Subject: grenades
|
 |
[ADMIN]
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
Please post rules questions in the YMDC forum.
Moving now. . .
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/05/15 04:18:00
Subject: grenades
|
 |
Quick-fingered Warlord Moderatus
|
Aubrie wrote:I had a questionsabout grenades that i can't seem to find answers to yet.
-only used in assault, does initiative still take priority. For instance a charging unit with a I4 versus a unit of I3 still gain then extra +1 attack for charge?
Unless the enemy has defensive grenades or some other special rule the attacking unit gets +1 attack, it doesn't matter when they strike.
-Does only 1 grenade get used if the entire squad has them? or does the entire squad use them?
-1 Use or every assault?
thanks in advance!
They aren't 1 use only, you use them every time you assault(offensive) or are assaulted(defensive) so it doesn't matter how many squad members use them.
|
Interceptor Drones can disembark at any point during the Sun Shark's move (even though models cannot normally disembark from Zooming Flyers).
-Jeremy Vetock, only man at Games Workshop who understands Zooming Flyers |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/05/15 05:35:33
Subject: grenades
|
 |
Confessor Of Sins
|
Drunkspleen wrote: They aren't 1 use only, you use them every time you assault(offensive) or are assaulted(defensive) so it doesn't matter how many squad members use them.
Assault grenades do depend on individual models insofar as they help only those that have them.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/05/15 05:54:02
Subject: grenades
|
 |
Infiltrating Hawwa'
|
Drunkspleen wrote: They aren't 1 use only, you use them every time you assault(offensive) or are assaulted(defensive) so it doesn't matter how many squad members use them.
Now this brings the question forward:
Can you give the entire squad the use of defensive grenades (say, Tau photon grenades) by buying them for only a single model?
Cheesy, unsportsmanlike, and unrealistic would be my description of a player who used that if it can be used.
I always equip the entire squad, as a rule.
|
DakkaDakka.com does not allow users to delete their accounts or content. We don't apologize for this. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/05/15 09:02:49
Subject: grenades
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
It depends on the wording for defensive grenades: if it states "enemies attacking a unit with defensive grenades...." then yes, one model in the unit would be enough.
If it uses the "model" wording then it would work only for the IC in the squad, not for attacks directed against the unit.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/05/16 02:12:53
Subject: grenades
|
 |
Infiltrating Hawwa'
|
Page 28, 4th Edition Tau Codex:
Models charging against units equipped with photon grenades gain no bonus attacks for charging..etc
Page 35:
The team may carry Photon Grenades at an additional cost of +1 point per model
So the Codex has answered the question at least for the Tau.
|
DakkaDakka.com does not allow users to delete their accounts or content. We don't apologize for this. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/05/16 12:40:33
Subject: grenades
|
 |
Waaagh! Warbiker
|
Well does it matter? The wording in the Tau codex means you have to buy them for every model anyway.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/05/17 07:16:39
Subject: grenades
|
 |
Infiltrating Hawwa'
|
Che-Vito wrote:
So the Codex has answered the question at least for the Tau.
|
DakkaDakka.com does not allow users to delete their accounts or content. We don't apologize for this. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/05/17 08:18:42
Subject: Re:grenades
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
Ok, so to answer your questions, and please correct me if I'm wrong, but according to the big rule book (pg 36 unless otherwise cited):
1. Assault grenades are used when assaulting through cover, they are used to "pin" down units being assaulted hiding behind cover. This is great when assaulting through cover as normally assaulted units behind cover get to strike first as per the "assaulting through cover" section regardless of initiative. So I am a 'nid player and say that my Carnifex (initiative 1) is behind cover and your Eldar Howling Banshees (initiative 5) are assaulting me through the cover. Normally, if I were not behind cover your units strike first. But because of the assaulting through cover rule, my Carnifex at the same time as your Banshees as your units will have there initiative lowered to 1 to represent you scrambling over the rubble. With the grenades, it pins my unit down so that you maintain that initiative of 5 after scrambling over the terrain. I know of no other use for assault grenades.
Defensive grenades are used whenever your unit is attacked (I would assume as the manual does not mention cover for this grenade where it does for the assault grenades). It states that its purpose is to deny the assaulting units of their +1 (or more if the unit has an increase to the number of attacks when assaulting through skills) to the total number of attacks.
The bonus to the number of attacks is gained regardless of the initiative of the units in question. For example, if my Carnifex assaulted your Banshees, then you would still get to go first, but I would still receive the +1 to number of attacks unless your model had the defensive grenades, or another rule stating that my Carnifex did not receive said bonus (I am just starting out in WH40K and not familiar with all the codex)
2. I would imagine that the whole unit uses them, but really you can imagine that one "Rambo" unit chucks a grenade that "stuns" attacking/defending unit/units if you want to. If your asking your whole squad has to take them, then you would have to look at your individual codex, I know as 'nids, my whole brood must take them and I know of only one unit in my army that can take different weapons, but only because my codex states only one venom cannon may be taken per squad. So your answer to this question really hinges on the idea that you must take for all, unless your codex states specifically that you cannot take for more than x number of figures (again, I am not familiar with all the codices in the WH40K universe). Edit: Again, as nosferatu1001 stated, ICs can be equipped differently than the squad they are in.
3. grenades are used for EVERY assault, they never run out. Think of your units carrying a magic bag 'o equipment that has all the stuff they need to fight 5 rounds of battle, or 7 with lucky rolls (pg 90 big rule book for the number of rounds) (I really pulled this one out of my arse, but the way I understand the rules is that no unit has an ammo count for anything they have).
Hope this helps, and again, if anyone has information to the contrary, feel free to correct me. Please post page numbers and/or references as I am still trying to learn the rules and enjoy looking them up so that I become more familiar.
Also, nosferatu1001, I guess you would be right as the IC would be part of the squad up until hits are rolled and then he is separated in terms of figures that are available to attack (pg 49 big rule book). I never thought of that. I guess it would work for assault and defense grenades as well. I am going to have to mull that over. It is one of those cheese wiener moves, but valid none-the-less.
s2
edit to fix some spelling and to reply to nosferatu1001
|
This message was edited 3 times. Last update was at 2009/05/17 08:27:45
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/05/18 07:03:28
Subject: grenades
|
 |
Trigger-Happy Baal Predator Pilot
Toronto (GTA), Ontario
|
I think that all codex's with units that can take grenades that are A or D make the whole unit take. I know orks and Tau do. old codex's might be different though.
-orkishly
|
Dracos wrote:Codex does not override rulebook. Specific rules (generally those found in codex tend to be more specific) override general rules in case of conflict.
|
|
 |
 |
|