Switch Theme:

Independent Characters in transport  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut






I'm trying to make an army list for 40K orks, but in the Codex where all the troops have information about Transports, the Independent Characters have nothing.

Are there specific rules I'm missing to determine whether or not a Warboss/Weirdboy/etc. can ride in a Trukk as a dedicated transport?
   
Made in us
Pyromaniac Hellhound Pilot






If they can not be assigned one, they can not be issued their own. However, it is permitted for them to embark into another unit's transport.

Just because anyone agrees with anyone, doesn't mean they are correct. Beware the thin line between what is "Correct" and what is "Popular." 
   
Made in us
Pyromaniac Hellhound Pilot






Here's an interesting ponderance... does it say anywhere in the rulebook that you can NOT embark into an enemy transport?

Just because anyone agrees with anyone, doesn't mean they are correct. Beware the thin line between what is "Correct" and what is "Popular." 
   
Made in us
Enginseer with a Wrench





Salt Lake City, UT

Skinnattittar wrote:Here's an interesting ponderance... does it say anywhere in the rulebook that you can NOT embark into an enemy transport?

The part where you can't move closer than 1" of an enemy model except when assaulting would cover it. Also, the rulebook is meant to be interpreted as such that it tells you what you can do, and does not convey that you can do something because it does not say you can't.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2009/05/18 20:20:19


 
   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut






So basically I would have to leave the warboss outside of the trukk and then embark on the first turn.
   
Made in us
Enginseer with a Wrench





Salt Lake City, UT

Dobie wrote:So basically I would have to leave the warboss outside of the trukk and then embark on the first turn.

If an IC is claimed as attached to a unit at deployment, he can deploy in a dedicated transport with that unit.
   
Made in au
Quick-fingered Warlord Moderatus






KaloranSLC wrote:
Skinnattittar wrote:Here's an interesting ponderance... does it say anywhere in the rulebook that you can NOT embark into an enemy transport?

The part where you can't move closer than 1" of an enemy model except when assaulting would cover it. Also, the rulebook is meant to be interpreted as such that it tells you what you can do, and does not convey that you can do something because it does not say you can't.
You only have to move within 2" of a door to embark on a vehicle, so you could get in that range without being within 1", and the rulebook does tell you what you can do, it says "A unit can embark onto a vehicle by moving each model to within 2" of its access points in the Movement phase." The transport rules fail to ever specify they can only carry friendly troops and given they allow the broader "units" to embark, by RAW a model may embark on an enemy transport.

Interceptor Drones can disembark at any point during the Sun Shark's move (even though models cannot normally disembark from Zooming Flyers).


-Jeremy Vetock, only man at Games Workshop who understands Zooming Flyers 
   
Made in gb
Horrific Hive Tyrant





London (work) / Pompey (live, from time to time)

If you have a transport with space free in it then you can deploy it with the IC and a unit in it.

Suffused with the dying memories of Sanguinus, the warriors of the Death Company seek only one thing: death in battle fighting against the enemies of the Emperor.  
   
Made in us
Enginseer with a Wrench





Salt Lake City, UT

Drunkspleen wrote:
KaloranSLC wrote:
Skinnattittar wrote:Here's an interesting ponderance... does it say anywhere in the rulebook that you can NOT embark into an enemy transport?

The part where you can't move closer than 1" of an enemy model except when assaulting would cover it. Also, the rulebook is meant to be interpreted as such that it tells you what you can do, and does not convey that you can do something because it does not say you can't.
You only have to move within 2" of a door to embark on a vehicle, so you could get in that range without being within 1", and the rulebook does tell you what you can do, it says "A unit can embark onto a vehicle by moving each model to within 2" of its access points in the Movement phase." The transport rules fail to ever specify they can only carry friendly troops and given they allow the broader "units" to embark, by RAW a model may embark on an enemy transport.

Wow, that's drawing at straws.
   
Made in ca
Angered Reaver Arena Champion






KaloranSLC wrote:Wow, that's drawing at straws.


It is... but damn by RAW its actually true.

Not that anyone could get away with playing it that way save by some crazy house rule.

Sangfroid Marines 5000 pts
Wych Cult 2000
Tau 2000 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut




No it is not. Because when embarked the unit measures distance and range from the hull of the transport. Therefore, when embarked, the unit is most definitely within 1" of the vehicle. So it can't be done.
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




Yes - you cant willingly break a rule in the future by your actions now. By attemptiong to embark you WILL bring yourself within 1" so you cannot therefore embark.

As for the OP question: When an IC is attached to a unit, which can be at deployment (or when in reserves) they may then embark the same transport as the combioned unit is a whole single entity - Page 3 of BRB i believe.
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: