Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/05/19 03:41:02
Subject: Stupid question about transports and stuff
|
 |
Fixture of Dakka
Chicago, Illinois
|
Okay can I buy a ten man thunderhammer and SS squad with a Redeemer then buy a Redeemer with my Heavy Support Slot and combat squad to start the game with all ten terminators inside a Landraider redeemer
|
If I lose it is because I had bad luck, if you win it is because you cheated. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/05/19 03:45:37
Subject: Stupid question about transports and stuff
|
 |
Trigger-Happy Baal Predator Pilot
Toronto (GTA), Ontario
|
No the CS using the non ded LR would have to embark on turn one.
|
Dracos wrote:Codex does not override rulebook. Specific rules (generally those found in codex tend to be more specific) override general rules in case of conflict.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/05/19 03:45:47
Subject: Stupid question about transports and stuff
|
 |
Long-Range Black Templar Land Speeder Pilot
Chicago
|
No. You cannot take a transport for a unit if the unit won't fit inside it.
At least, that is my understanding. Either way, a unit can't start a game deployed in a transport that is not its dedicated transport.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2009/05/19 03:47:01
Outside of a dog, a book is a man's best friend. Inside of a dog, it's too dark to read. -Groucho Marx
Sanctjud wrote:It's not just lame... it's Twilight Blood Angels Nipples Lame.  |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/05/19 03:52:37
Subject: Stupid question about transports and stuff
|
 |
Waaagh! Warbiker
|
orkishlyorkish wrote:No the CS using the non ded LR would have to embark on turn one.
Wrong, again.
Mad Rabbit wrote:No. You cannot take a transport for a unit if the unit won't fit inside it.
At least, that is my understanding. Either way, a unit can't start a game deployed in a transport that is not its dedicated transport.
Also Incorrect.
A Unit may buy a Transport even if it cannot fit in it, unless it is specifically stated otherwise. A lot of Old codex's have this restriction, but none of the new ones do (hence 10 man Squads can buy Razorbacks). Furthermore, a Squad may begin in any non dedicated Transport they want.
So yes, you may have one Combat Squad in your dedicated Redeemer, and the other in a Heavy Support One.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/05/19 03:56:10
Subject: Re:Stupid question about transports and stuff
|
 |
Fixture of Dakka
|
Did you mean 5 to an LRR?
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/05/19 04:04:17
Subject: Stupid question about transports and stuff
|
 |
Fixture of Dakka
Chicago, Illinois
|
Yes 5 to a LR redeemer ; it was my understanding during deployment I could split into two 5 man squads and put one of the 5 man squads in the LRR bought as a Dedicated Transport and the other 5 in the LRR bought as a heavy support choice.
|
If I lose it is because I had bad luck, if you win it is because you cheated. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/05/19 04:04:52
Subject: Stupid question about transports and stuff
|
 |
Waaagh! Warbiker
|
Hollismason wrote:Yes 5 to a LR redeemer ; it was my understanding during deployment I could split into two 5 man squads and put one of the 5 man squads in the LRR bought as a Dedicated Transport and the other 5 in the LRR bought as a heavy support choice.
And you would be correct in that understanding
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/05/19 04:33:56
Subject: Stupid question about transports and stuff
|
 |
Anti-Armour Swiss Guard
|
Hollismason wrote:Okay can I buy a ten man thunderhammer and SS squad with a Redeemer then buy a Redeemer with my Heavy Support Slot and combat squad to start the game with all ten terminators inside a Landraider redeemer
Are these a 10 man TERMINATOR TH+ SS squad?
Then they won't fit in the redeemer anyway (Terminators are a two-fer, taking up two spots per model. SM have no 20 man transports - outside of a thunderhawk - which is a 30). The most you can fit into one (Land Raider) is 8 (transport 16). They can buy a transport (if allowed), but may not use (embark and ride) it until either CSed or have taken sufficient casualties to warrant hiding in the can.
|
I'm OVER 50 (and so far over everyone's BS, too).
Old enough to know better, young enough to not give a ****.
That is not dead which can eternal lie ...
... and yet, with strange aeons, even death may die.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/05/19 07:27:09
Subject: Stupid question about transports and stuff
|
 |
Quick-fingered Warlord Moderatus
|
chromedog wrote:Hollismason wrote:Okay can I buy a ten man thunderhammer and SS squad with a Redeemer then buy a Redeemer with my Heavy Support Slot and combat squad to start the game with all ten terminators inside a Landraider redeemer
Are these a 10 man TERMINATOR TH+ SS squad?
Then they won't fit in the redeemer anyway (Terminators are a two-fer, taking up two spots per model. SM have no 20 man transports - outside of a thunderhawk - which is a 30). The most you can fit into one (Land Raider) is 8 (transport 16). They can buy a transport (if allowed), but may not use (embark and ride) it until either CSed or have taken sufficient casualties to warrant hiding in the can.
I have to ask... did you even read the post you quoted?
|
Interceptor Drones can disembark at any point during the Sun Shark's move (even though models cannot normally disembark from Zooming Flyers).
-Jeremy Vetock, only man at Games Workshop who understands Zooming Flyers |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/05/19 08:11:37
Subject: Stupid question about transports and stuff
|
 |
Lord of the Fleet
|
Waaaaaaagh! wrote:Hollismason wrote:Yes 5 to a LR redeemer ; it was my understanding during deployment I could split into two 5 man squads and put one of the 5 man squads in the LRR bought as a Dedicated Transport and the other 5 in the LRR bought as a heavy support choice.
And you would be correct in that understanding 
Although, according to the letter of the rules, you could not come on from reserve like that. (they don't split until deployment so they can't get into the transports in reserve)
I've never found an opponent with any problem with it. Most are astonished that it's not allowed when I tell them about it.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/05/19 15:12:30
Subject: Stupid question about transports and stuff
|
 |
Waaagh! Warbiker
|
No, you cant do this from reserves, you can deploy it though no problem.
|
|
 |
 |
|