Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/05/20 03:01:50
Subject: Ramming by way of Outflank ability
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
OK--in a recent game, an opponent of mine and I had an interesting situation, which I know we did not play correctly. I want to get as much clarification as possible on how it SHOULD have been played, and so I call to the dakka community.
Dawn of War. Annihilation. My tau versus his new IG. He deploys a veteran guard squad w 3x meltaguns in a chimera, in reserve. He has Creed, allowing him to outflank with this unit, as this unit is dedicated as a 'Scout' unit per Creed's rules (which, btw, he did not explain to me when putting the unit into reserve, so I was not expecting them to outflank...sigh).
So, on 2nd turn, my hammerhead and broadside have come onto the board edge and moved forward, not a full 6"--more like 3 or 4" max. They are extremely close to the right board edge as well--the hammerhead is appx 1" away from board edge, and the broadsides are about 5-6" away. He attempts to move the chimera on directly behind the hammerhead. We determine he can't, b/c there is about .0001" between him and my hammerhead. So instead, he declares a ramming attack against the hammerhead, starting from off the board edge (since the unit is deployed in reserves--this is correct per moving on from reserves rules). He moves appx 4" before the front hull of the chimera makes contact with the Hammerhead. The hammerhead fails it's Dodge roll, so does not avoid the chimera's ram. The chimera's ram fails to do any damage (+2 for armor, +1 for tank, +1 for moving 4", needs a 6 to damage rear armor of hammerhead, and fails). So he stops the chimera where it is at.
He then proceeds to shoot me in my rear armor with the multi-laser in the turret of the chimera. This destroyed the hammerhead on a penetrating 5 roll on the vehicle damage chart. We've since determined this was illegal, as he was not allowed to ram and shoot, per ramming rules. He also pops the top on the chimera and shoots the broadsides with 3 meltaguns and 2 lasguns. This results in 3 melta wounds and 3 lasgun wounds, and kills the ethereal with the broadside unit (2 of 3 meltagun shots), and 1 of the 3 broadsides--and puts a wound on another. BTW, we determined the broadsides were in cover, b/c one of the unit of 4 (3x broadsides + ethereal) was directly behind the hammerhead (which was now scrap), and one of them was behind area terrain--so 50% of unit was in cover.
Broadsides then get hit by Psyker Battle Squad's leadership negative ability, and proceed to flee off the board at the end of his shooting phase.
So--I know we did the following wrong:
- He did not declare that his veteran squad in reserves was using Creed's special ability, granting them the 'Scouts' special rule
- He shot his multi-laser after ramming
Did we do anything else wrong?
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/05/20 04:21:42
Subject: Ramming by way of Outflank ability
|
 |
[ADMIN]
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
How is it your Hammerhead was 1" away from the board edge but his Chimera was able to move 4" onto the table before contacting it? I think something isn't coming across quite right in your description.
But yeah, it sounds like besides those two major errors it sounds like everything else was okay.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/05/20 07:25:56
Subject: Ramming by way of Outflank ability
|
 |
Raging Ravener
|
If he was not able to place the whole of his tank on the board when moving on, they it would have been destroyed.
|
"I am the crash of blades, and the furry of the storm. There is no shelter from my wrath, and no reprieve from my judgment." --Unknown (but it sure sounded cool) |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/05/20 07:48:20
Subject: Ramming by way of Outflank ability
|
 |
Quick-fingered Warlord Moderatus
|
psf3077 wrote:If he was not able to place the whole of his tank on the board when moving on, they it would have been destroyed.
there is absolutely no rule in the rulebook which supports the way you and your friends choose to play the game.
|
Interceptor Drones can disembark at any point during the Sun Shark's move (even though models cannot normally disembark from Zooming Flyers).
-Jeremy Vetock, only man at Games Workshop who understands Zooming Flyers |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/05/20 07:55:37
Subject: Ramming by way of Outflank ability
|
 |
Traitor
|
I'd also like to point out that the veterans shouldn't have been able to shoot from the chimera, as the chimera wasn't able to shoot.
P.66 + P.69 of the rulebook.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/05/20 08:56:23
Subject: Ramming by way of Outflank ability
|
 |
Quick-fingered Warlord Moderatus
|
The veterans can shoot out of a chimera regardless of whether or not the vehicle itself is allowed to shoot, they are two seperate units, the only thing that effects whether or no the veterans can shoot is if the chimera moved over 6" which it did not.
|
Interceptor Drones can disembark at any point during the Sun Shark's move (even though models cannot normally disembark from Zooming Flyers).
-Jeremy Vetock, only man at Games Workshop who understands Zooming Flyers |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/05/20 12:40:19
Subject: Ramming by way of Outflank ability
|
 |
Waaagh! Warbiker
|
psf3077 wrote:If he was not able to place the whole of his tank on the board when moving on, they it would have been destroyed. Ian1138 wrote:I'd also like to point out that the veterans shouldn't have been able to shoot from the chimera, as the chimera wasn't able to shoot. P.66 + P.69 of the rulebook. ITT people who don't bother to learnt the rules
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2009/05/20 12:40:27
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/05/20 16:12:42
Subject: Ramming by way of Outflank ability
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
yakface wrote:
How is it your Hammerhead was 1" away from the board edge but his Chimera was able to move 4" onto the table before contacting it? I think something isn't coming across quite right in your description.
But yeah, it sounds like besides those two major errors it sounds like everything else was okay.
Maybe this picture helps...
Filename |
pic of tourney incident.bmp |
Download
|
Description |
|
File size |
750 Kbytes
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/05/20 16:30:58
Subject: Ramming by way of Outflank ability
|
 |
Unrelenting Rubric Terminator of Tzeentch
|
Drunkspleen wrote:psf3077 wrote:If he was not able to place the whole of his tank on the board when moving on, they it would have been destroyed.
there is absolutely no rule in the rulebook which supports the way you and your friends choose to play the game.
Well, you aren't allowed to move a unit so that it is off the table, so moving on from reserve would force you to arrive in a spot on the table. You aren't destroyed, you just can't come in there.
Ian1138 wrote:I'd also like to point out that the veterans shouldn't have been able to shoot from the chimera, as the chimera wasn't able to shoot.
P.66 + P.69 of the rulebook.
I checked those pages. The rules say occupants cannot fire from a transport if the transport is stunned/shaken, but they don't say occupants can't fire if the vehicle can't.
|
DR:90S+G++MB+I+Pw40k07++D++A++/eWD-R+++T(Ot)DM+
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/05/20 16:36:21
Subject: Ramming by way of Outflank ability
|
 |
Stealthy Space Wolves Scout
|
Ian1138 (and possibly Waaaaaaagh!) is incorrect. As the transport only moved 4" it only moved at combat speed. Passangers may shoot if a transport moves at combat speed regardless if the vehicle can shoot or not.
|
In one game turn an Imperial guardsman can move 6", kill a few guys with his flamer, assault 6", kill two more guys with his bayonet, flee 12", regroup when assaulted, react 6", kill one more guy with his bayonet and then flee another 12".
So in one game turn an Imperial guardsman can move 42" and kill more than 5 people. At the same time a Chimera at top speed on a road can move 18"... |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/05/20 16:39:55
Subject: Ramming by way of Outflank ability
|
 |
Martial Arts Fiday
|
To Ram a tank must move at it's highest movement rate possible IE Cruising speed. Cruising Speed=no fire for passengers
we determined the broadsides were in cover, b/c one of the unit of 4 (3x broadsides + ethereal) was directly behind the hammerhead (which was now scrap), and one of them was behind area terrain--so 50% of unit was in cover.
A squad must have a majority in cover to get cover not just half.
|
"Holy Sh*&, you've opened my eyes and changed my mind about this topic, thanks Dakka OT!"
-Nobody Ever
Proverbs 18:2
"CHEESE!" is the battlecry of the ill-prepared.
warboss wrote:
GW didn't mean to hit your wallet and I know they love you, baby. I'm sure they won't do it again so it's ok to purchase and make up. 
Albatross wrote:I think SlaveToDorkness just became my new hero.
EmilCrane wrote:Finecast is the new Matt Ward.
Don't mess with the Blade and Bolter! |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/05/20 16:42:05
Subject: Ramming by way of Outflank ability
|
 |
Waaagh! Warbiker
|
Webbe wrote:Ian1138 (and possibly Waaaaaaagh!) is incorrect. As the transport only moved 4" it only moved at combat speed. Passangers may shoot if a transport moves at combat speed regardless if the vehicle can shoot or not.
Unless the Vehicle is Shaken or Stunned
Page 67 wrote:Crew shaken & crew stunned
Passengers may not shoot from the vehicle in their next Shooting phase, but are otherwise unaffected.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/05/20 16:55:25
Subject: Ramming by way of Outflank ability
|
 |
Heroic Senior Officer
|
Nurgleboy77 wrote:we determined the broadsides were in cover, b/c one of the unit of 4 (3x broadsides + ethereal) was directly behind the hammerhead (which was now scrap), and one of them was behind area terrain--so 50% of unit was in cover.
A squad must have a majority in cover to get cover not just half.
You sure? Page 22:
If half or more of the models in the target unit are in
cover, then the entire unit is deemed to be in cover and
all of its models may take cover saves.
|
Don "MONDO"
www.ironfistleague.com
Northern VA/Southern MD |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/05/20 17:09:21
Subject: Ramming by way of Outflank ability
|
 |
Stealthy Space Wolves Scout
|
Nurgleboy77 wrote:To Ram a tank must move at it's highest movement rate possible IE Cruising speed. Cruising Speed=no fire for passengers
No!
I quote:
RB page 57 wrote:A vehicle that travels up to 6" is moving at combat speed.
A vehicle that travels more than 6" and up to 12" is moving at cruising speed.
The vehicle moved 4".
|
In one game turn an Imperial guardsman can move 6", kill a few guys with his flamer, assault 6", kill two more guys with his bayonet, flee 12", regroup when assaulted, react 6", kill one more guy with his bayonet and then flee another 12".
So in one game turn an Imperial guardsman can move 42" and kill more than 5 people. At the same time a Chimera at top speed on a road can move 18"... |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/05/20 17:09:37
Subject: Ramming by way of Outflank ability
|
 |
Waaagh! Warbiker
|
ITT Yet more people who dont know rules (Except myself and Don ofc)
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/05/20 18:09:43
Subject: Ramming by way of Outflank ability
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
And yet, somehow Don isn't quite so pompous about it....
Once a unit is on the table, there is a rule saying you can't move any of it off the table.
There is no rule saying you must move it fully onto the table when it is 'walking on'.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/05/20 20:14:38
Subject: Ramming by way of Outflank ability
|
 |
Perfect Shot Ultramarine Predator Pilot
|
coredump wrote:There is no rule saying you must move it fully onto the table when it is 'walking on'.
This would appear to be the case.
As I read it, and I'm open to correction, the rules for arriving from reserve (specifically that which refers to measuring the arrival move) coupled with the diagram on p12 of the rulebook would indicate that a 6" long model which moves onto the table by 4" is going to have 2" of it's rear end dangling in the breeze !
I can find nothing indicating that this would be an illegal position in which to leave the model, as the move would have been measured correctly in accordance with the rules.
As I said, I'm open to correction on this, but please cite your source when correcting me.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/05/20 20:43:52
Subject: Ramming by way of Outflank ability
|
 |
Martial Arts Fiday
|
don_mondo wrote:Nurgleboy77 wrote:we determined the broadsides were in cover, b/c one of the unit of 4 (3x broadsides + ethereal) was directly behind the hammerhead (which was now scrap), and one of them was behind area terrain--so 50% of unit was in cover.
A squad must have a majority in cover to get cover not just half.
You sure? Page 22:
If half or more of the models in the target unit are in
cover, then the entire unit is deemed to be in cover and
all of its models may take cover saves.
Then GW needs to learn what the word "Majority" means.
Page 22:
Sometimes, a unit will only be partially in cover, with some of its models in cover and some not. In this case you must decide if the majority of the unit is in cover.
|
"Holy Sh*&, you've opened my eyes and changed my mind about this topic, thanks Dakka OT!"
-Nobody Ever
Proverbs 18:2
"CHEESE!" is the battlecry of the ill-prepared.
warboss wrote:
GW didn't mean to hit your wallet and I know they love you, baby. I'm sure they won't do it again so it's ok to purchase and make up. 
Albatross wrote:I think SlaveToDorkness just became my new hero.
EmilCrane wrote:Finecast is the new Matt Ward.
Don't mess with the Blade and Bolter! |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/05/20 20:49:00
Subject: Ramming by way of Outflank ability
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
GW rules be inconsistent? That's inconceivable!
|
In the dark future, there are skulls for everyone. But only the bad guys get spikes. And rivets for all, apparently welding was lost in the Dark Age of Technology. -from C.Borer |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/05/20 20:58:04
Subject: Ramming by way of Outflank ability
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
I do not think that word means what you think it means.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/05/20 21:11:32
Subject: Ramming by way of Outflank ability
|
 |
Martial Arts Fiday
|
stormtitan wrote:I do not think that word means what you think it means.
Straight outta the Oxford American Dictionary:
Majority: The greatest part of a group or class
|
"Holy Sh*&, you've opened my eyes and changed my mind about this topic, thanks Dakka OT!"
-Nobody Ever
Proverbs 18:2
"CHEESE!" is the battlecry of the ill-prepared.
warboss wrote:
GW didn't mean to hit your wallet and I know they love you, baby. I'm sure they won't do it again so it's ok to purchase and make up. 
Albatross wrote:I think SlaveToDorkness just became my new hero.
EmilCrane wrote:Finecast is the new Matt Ward.
Don't mess with the Blade and Bolter! |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/05/20 21:12:47
Subject: Ramming by way of Outflank ability
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
Nurgleboy77 wrote:Straight outta the Oxford American Dictionary:
You've never seen the Princess Bride, I take it.
|
In the dark future, there are skulls for everyone. But only the bad guys get spikes. And rivets for all, apparently welding was lost in the Dark Age of Technology. -from C.Borer |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/05/20 21:17:49
Subject: Ramming by way of Outflank ability
|
 |
Martial Arts Fiday
|
"Inconcievable"!!!
|
"Holy Sh*&, you've opened my eyes and changed my mind about this topic, thanks Dakka OT!"
-Nobody Ever
Proverbs 18:2
"CHEESE!" is the battlecry of the ill-prepared.
warboss wrote:
GW didn't mean to hit your wallet and I know they love you, baby. I'm sure they won't do it again so it's ok to purchase and make up. 
Albatross wrote:I think SlaveToDorkness just became my new hero.
EmilCrane wrote:Finecast is the new Matt Ward.
Don't mess with the Blade and Bolter! |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/05/21 16:27:11
Subject: Ramming by way of Outflank ability
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
You are confusing fluff wording, for rules explanations...
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/05/21 17:16:43
Subject: Ramming by way of Outflank ability
|
 |
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime
|
dietrich wrote:GW rules be inconsistent? That's inconceivable! QFT.
Gw Have never ever made a contradictory rule ever!
|
Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!) |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/05/21 21:26:46
Subject: Ramming by way of Outflank ability
|
 |
Nurgle Chosen Marine on a Palanquin
|
What is QFT?
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/05/21 21:30:27
Subject: Ramming by way of Outflank ability
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
Sazzlefrats wrote:What is QFT?
If you hold your cursory over it, it should tell you.
But, it means Quoted For Truth. It's basically 'I agree with you'.
|
In the dark future, there are skulls for everyone. But only the bad guys get spikes. And rivets for all, apparently welding was lost in the Dark Age of Technology. -from C.Borer |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/05/22 02:32:12
Subject: Ramming by way of Outflank ability
|
 |
Unrelenting Rubric Terminator of Tzeentch
|
dietrich wrote:Sazzlefrats wrote:What is QFT?
If you hold your cursory over it, it should tell you.
But, it means Quoted For Truth. It's basically 'I agree with you'.
I originally thought it means Quit Fething Talking, as it usually came after some kind of assertion.
|
DR:90S+G++MB+I+Pw40k07++D++A++/eWD-R+++T(Ot)DM+
|
|
 |
 |
|