Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/05/20 08:13:29
Subject: Outflanking with Scorpions, Autarchs and Wave Serpents
|
 |
Fresh-Faced New User
|
Eldar Striking Scorpions have the Exarch Power Shadowstrike, which gives them the ability Infiltrate, it also clearly states that "this ability cannot affect an Autarch".
The entry for infiltrate says "if a unit with this ability is deployed inside a transport vehicle, it cannot infiltrate" then goes on to say a unit with infiltration can outflank if they are kept in reserve.
So i want to know, can Striking Scorpions Outflank in the Wave Serpent, and can an Autarch join them?
I'm pretty sure that the Transport can, the Autarch cannot. I just wanted more opinions on this.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/05/20 09:05:38
Subject: Outflanking with Scorpions, Autarchs and Wave Serpents
|
 |
Quick-fingered Warlord Moderatus
|
I suppose there's nothing to prevent you from combining the Autarch with no infiltrate, with the unit with infiltrate that happens to be mounted in a dedicated transport they are granting the ability to outflank in to.
The way I see it yes, despite being unable to benefit from infiltrate normally, he can outflank with them so long as it is in a dedicated transport purchased for them. He can even help himself get on the board.
|
Interceptor Drones can disembark at any point during the Sun Shark's move (even though models cannot normally disembark from Zooming Flyers).
-Jeremy Vetock, only man at Games Workshop who understands Zooming Flyers |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/05/20 11:00:55
Subject: Outflanking with Scorpions, Autarchs and Wave Serpents
|
 |
Proud Phantom Titan
|
Can never happen. The unit has infiltrate till its joined by an IC without it, at which point the rule is lost. Page 74 BGB
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2009/05/20 11:09:56
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/05/20 12:38:19
Subject: Outflanking with Scorpions, Autarchs and Wave Serpents
|
 |
Waaagh! Warbiker
|
No, if the Autarch joins them, the unit loses the infiltrate ability, so they cannot declare they are outflanking.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/05/20 15:14:54
Subject: Outflanking with Scorpions, Autarchs and Wave Serpents
|
 |
Proud Phantom Titan
|
echo?
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/05/20 17:38:15
Subject: Re:Outflanking with Scorpions, Autarchs and Wave Serpents
|
 |
Towering Hierophant Bio-Titan
UK
|
Bah.
The BGB states one thing.. IC without certain powers force the entire squad joined to them to loose that power aswell BUT the eldar codex P21 basically over-writes this.
But.. under the striking scorpain heading where it mentions Shadow-strike confering the ability to infiltrite - It states that the autarch cannot make use of this ability. If it had more specifically mentioned infiltrate (although moot, as these are 4ed rules so such nit-picking wouldve been about symantics not RAI) then fine. It doesnt, it talks about the ability in its entirety.
The Autarch cannot (make use of the ability shadowstrike therefore cannot) outflank via a striking scorpain loaded wave-serpent.
|
H.B.M.C. wrote:Friend of mine just sent me this:
"The Tyranid Codex, where I learned the truth about despair, as will you. There's a reason why this codex is the worst hell on earth... Hope. ." Too be fair.. it's all worked out quite well!
Heh. |
|
 |
 |
|