| Author |
Message |
 |
|
|
 |
|
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/05/20 19:19:25
Subject: IG Rules questions
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
Can you use the "First Rank Fire, Second Rank Fire" on hot shot lasguns? I think you can and is most likely why the Storm Troopers are so expensive but was curious what the consensus is. Also, it seems they changed the name of hell guns to Hot Shot Lasguns for a reason and it must be for this order. They are now a type of lasguns just a variant of it.
Also, if you take a Griffion with the reroll on scatter with other artillery variants how does that work? Do you lose that ability if lets say a Colossus is in the squad?
Thanks
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/05/20 19:43:25
Subject: IG Rules questions
|
 |
Water-Caste Negotiator
|
While I agree that FRFSRF should work on STroopers to at least make them worth the high point cost, an identical post was made last week, and most disagreed.
|
Waaagh! |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/05/20 19:47:40
Subject: IG Rules questions
|
 |
Unrelenting Rubric Terminator of Tzeentch
|
There's a four page thread on the Stormtrooper issue on the front page. It goes over the issue pretty well. Last I checked most agree'd that a Hot Shot Lasgun is NOT a Lasgun (in the eyes of the rules) and that the similarities are just fluff issues. There were a couple of die hards, but last I checked they had resorted to "lalala, I can't hear you".
|
DR:90S+G++MB+I+Pw40k07++D++A++/eWD-R+++T(Ot)DM+
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/05/20 19:54:34
Subject: Re:IG Rules questions
|
 |
Fresh-Faced New User
|
Id say no it doesnt work, its clearly designed for lasguns only, it even explains that its related to the 12" and 24" ranges which the hot shot lasgun doesnt even have, saying hotshot lasguns should work is like saying lascannons should work just because they have the word las in them.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/05/20 20:19:33
Subject: Re:IG Rules questions
|
 |
Towering Hierophant Bio-Titan
UK
|
Lasguns have one profile. Lascannons another. Multi-lasers yet another.. and Hot shot lasguns have thier own profile too. A grenade launcher has different ammo types.. Krak & frag. These are both included within its weapon stat profile - If the new 5ed IG dex wanted the FRFSRF order to effect hotshot lasguns then they would have either; 1) Given storm troops a special rule modifying lasguns & equipping them with stock-standard lasguns or 2) Given the standard lasgun different energy settings.. settings that are restricted to certain infantry units etc. Griffons, I think, can be used in conjunction with other artillery while retaining the use of thier re-roll. Upon re-reading the rules, I see no reason (if the griffon is the closest vehicle in the squadren to the target) that the griffons blast scatter die cannot be re-rolled. But its just not an effective strategy. You do not get a re-roll on the subsequent shells fired by the non-griffon tanks & either it gets the standard % chance (as it would normally alone) to make a direct hit.. Otherwise, it scatters of the egde of the blast. It scatters 5" from the centre point to the centre point (as both have radi (radiueses? Radiei? bah..) of 2.5") which is about 2" less than avarge scatter on 2d6.. but theres no chance to actually ever get less than that. It would actually be worse if the tank in question could fire directly as the avarge scatter with BS3 deductions is 4". Yes you can cover a large area with multiple blast markers but I think the rule-book is misleading. It uses small-blast templates (ones you get for GL's, missile launchers etc) in its diagramatical explanation. Large blasts joining at the egdes like that would lead to large areas of blast not hitting all but the largest squads. Weapons like the Collouses & bassilisk should be firing at MEQ's when they can & MEQ's generally dont come in squads that justify that much dedicated pie.
|
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2009/05/20 20:24:16
H.B.M.C. wrote:Friend of mine just sent me this:
"The Tyranid Codex, where I learned the truth about despair, as will you. There's a reason why this codex is the worst hell on earth... Hope. ." Too be fair.. it's all worked out quite well!
Heh. |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/05/21 03:08:22
Subject: IG Rules questions
|
 |
Lieutenant General
|
|
'It is a source of constant consternation that my opponents cannot correlate their innate inferiority with their inevitable defeat. It would seem that stupidity is as eternal as war.'
- Nemesor Zahndrekh of the Sautekh Dynasty Overlord of the Crownworld of Gidrim |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/05/21 03:13:13
Subject: IG Rules questions
|
 |
[ADMIN]
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
Please use the existing thread.
Locking now as this thread is redundant.
|
|
|
|
 |
 |
|
|