So I have been reading 'nid codex to familiarize myself with my army, but being the noob I am, I have a question about the spore mines that are fired from the Biovores. I know this is a hotly contested issue, but I have some serious reservations about considering every shot fired as a KP.
Firstly, I cannot find anywhere in the biovore entry where it states that spore mines are deployed on the table if they do not hit the target and detonate. Maybe I am just blind, but I am looking at the biovore entry in the codex. Can someone let me know where the rule states in the 4th edition codex that a mine is placed on the table if it does not hit a figure after being fired from the biovore? I had imagined that the spore mine cannon was like the shokk attack gun that the orks have in which a snottling was fired and that the round was ammunition and not an actual figure, as I cannot find this, it leads me to believe that this is how it is at least for this figure. Mines brought in through deep strike would still definitely warrent kill points as they are a seperate unit. My reasoning for this stems from the difference between wording (semantics I know) in the biovore entry and the spore mine cluster entry. The Biovore entry says it fires "spore mines", where the entry for the spore mines that enter via deep strike call themselves as "spore mine clusters".
To further drive home this point, in the Biovore entry in the Tyranid 3rd edition codex, it specifically states that you place a spore mine marker and that they follow rules given to spore mines (pg 16 3rd edition Tyranid codex), so for this, I totally understand the KP per figure fired rule for the 3rd edition codex. Where I am at a loss is that this rule is absent in the Biovore entry in the Tyranid 4th edition codex (pg 45 4th edition Tyranid Codex). This to me is enough to say that they have repealed the rule and that the mine detonates on the table where it lands/scatters unless someone can show me where in the 4th edition that this is addressed (not a threat, just curious about this myself).
Again, I'm just the n00b asking the questions.
Thanks,
s2
|