| Author |
Message |
 |
|
|
 |
|
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/05/25 11:44:54
Subject: Valkryies, Techpriests and Stormies
|
 |
Unbalanced Fanatic
|
Hello all,
I am confused about some points about the new IG rules.
1.) Can a Techpriest fix a Valkyrie even though it is a skimmer?
2.) As it is not a dedicated transport can I not deploy my Stormies in it at the start of a game?
3.) Can a Techpriest repair the immoblised result that counts as destroyed when a vehicle is part of a squadron?
Many thanks,
The OC-D
|
DT:90SGM+B++I+Pw40k04#+D++A++/areWD315R+t(M)DM+
4000 points of Cadian 33rd
English and Proud
http://forum.emergency-planet.com/ The other foum I post on
Playstation 3 Player
"Whoever said the pen is mightier than the sword obviously never encountered automatic weapons" - Douglas MacArthur. |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/05/25 11:54:05
Subject: Valkryies, Techpriests and Stormies
|
 |
Hooded Inquisitorial Interrogator
|
1) Yes, its a vehicle he can fix it.
2) Of course you can, if the skimmer is in your deployment zone its a perfectly valid place to deploy a unit... if they fit.
Remember that the dedicated transport rule only prevents units other than the one it belongs to starting inside it. Its got nothing to do with undedicated transports.
3) No, the vehicle has been destoryed.
|
If brute force doesn't work, you're not using enough... |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/05/25 18:39:51
Subject: Valkryies, Techpriests and Stormies
|
 |
The New Miss Macross!
|
does a vehicle with scout (like the valk) get to use it if you deploy a unit inside it (like stormtroopers)?
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/05/25 18:52:15
Subject: Valkryies, Techpriests and Stormies
|
 |
Waaagh! Warbiker
|
warboss wrote:does a vehicle with scout (like the valk) get to use it if you deploy a unit inside it (like stormtroopers)?
Does a Drop Pod get to Deep Strike if you put a Unit of Tactical Marines in it?
Of course it can, and so can the Valk
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/05/25 19:00:21
Subject: Valkryies, Techpriests and Stormies
|
 |
The New Miss Macross!
|
Waaaaaaagh! wrote:warboss wrote:does a vehicle with scout (like the valk) get to use it if you deploy a unit inside it (like stormtroopers)?
Does a Drop Pod get to Deep Strike if you put a Unit of Tactical Marines in it?
Of course it can, and so can the Valk
the drop pod is a dedicated transport and therefore subject to special rules sharing with it's parent infantry unit. i'm not saying you're wrong (as i agree that it should be able to scout), just that your example isn't as clear cut as you'd like it to seem. after rereading the rules, it only talks about units and independent characters joining and losing the special rules, not vehicles. i'll be playing it as such (assuming i get my two planned valks).
|
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2009/05/25 19:15:34
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/05/26 10:55:00
Subject: Re:Valkryies, Techpriests and Stormies
|
 |
Unbalanced Fanatic
|
Thanks for all the replies, they will affect my decisioning on buying a Valk.
The OC-D
|
DT:90SGM+B++I+Pw40k04#+D++A++/areWD315R+t(M)DM+
4000 points of Cadian 33rd
English and Proud
http://forum.emergency-planet.com/ The other foum I post on
Playstation 3 Player
"Whoever said the pen is mightier than the sword obviously never encountered automatic weapons" - Douglas MacArthur. |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/05/26 11:08:41
Subject: Valkryies, Techpriests and Stormies
|
 |
Waaagh! Warbiker
|
warboss wrote:Waaaaaaagh! wrote:warboss wrote:does a vehicle with scout (like the valk) get to use it if you deploy a unit inside it (like stormtroopers)?
Does a Drop Pod get to Deep Strike if you put a Unit of Tactical Marines in it?
Of course it can, and so can the Valk
the drop pod is a dedicated transport and therefore subject to special rules sharing with it's parent infantry unit. i'm not saying you're wrong (as i agree that it should be able to scout), just that your example isn't as clear cut as you'd like it to seem. after rereading the rules, it only talks about units and independent characters joining and losing the special rules, not vehicles. i'll be playing it as such (assuming i get my two planned valks).
With all Due respect, No. You are wrong. Dedicated transports do not have any sort of Special Rules that you are suggesting. The ONLY rules that Dedicated transports have that non-dedicated ones are:
* They may only have the Unit it is bought for being inside it at deployment or in reserves
* If a Unit Outflanks with a Dedicated transport, they must be embarked on it
That is it. The Drop Pod has no More Special Rules when Deep Striking with a Tactical Squad in tow than a Valkary with Storm Troopers Outflanking.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/05/26 19:07:39
Subject: Valkryies, Techpriests and Stormies
|
 |
The New Miss Macross!
|
Waaaaaaagh! wrote:warboss wrote:Waaaaaaagh! wrote:warboss wrote:does a vehicle with scout (like the valk) get to use it if you deploy a unit inside it (like stormtroopers)?
Does a Drop Pod get to Deep Strike if you put a Unit of Tactical Marines in it?
Of course it can, and so can the Valk
the drop pod is a dedicated transport and therefore subject to special rules sharing with it's parent infantry unit. i'm not saying you're wrong (as i agree that it should be able to scout), just that your example isn't as clear cut as you'd like it to seem. after rereading the rules, it only talks about units and independent characters joining and losing the special rules, not vehicles. i'll be playing it as such (assuming i get my two planned valks).
With all Due respect, No. You are wrong. Dedicated transports do not have any sort of Special Rules that you are suggesting. The ONLY rules that Dedicated transports have that non-dedicated ones are:
* They may only have the Unit it is bought for being inside it at deployment or in reserves
* If a Unit Outflanks with a Dedicated transport, they must be embarked on it
That is it. The Drop Pod has no More Special Rules when Deep Striking with a Tactical Squad in tow than a Valkary with Storm Troopers Outflanking.
that rule is EXACTLY what i'm talking about. pg 76 "If a unit with this ability is deployed inside a dedicated transport vehicle, it confers the scout ability to the transport vehicle too." no where does it say that a vehicle does the reverse, conferring scout to a unit embarked on it. if the unit is embarked, it's effectively gaining the ability without anything in the rules to support it. also, the valk is not a dedicated transport so the above doesn't even apply to it either. i agree that it SHOULD be able to scout even with a unit deployed onto it but NO WHERE do the actual rules support this decision. I hope that GW faq's this in the valk's favor but i'm not holding my breath. if you have any actual rules quotes to prove me wrong, feel free to post them. in the meantime, just wishing the opposite is true doesn't make it so.
edit: on second thought, i'm done with this thread. the OP has abandoned it and we'll just end up arguing. i'm out.
|
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2009/05/26 19:26:02
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/05/27 23:15:46
Subject: Re:Valkryies, Techpriests and Stormies
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
The rules on page 76 include the passage about conferring the scout ability on dedicated transports is purely a convenience to avoid requiring the outflanking unit to walk onto the board and leave their dedicated transport behind.
A drop pod has the ability to deep strike, and does not confer that ability on the unit which it is carrying. Yet marines in a drop pod still manage to arrive on the table. A transport which can outflank, or for that matter a transport which arrived on the table by some other magical mechanism, because nothing in the rules puts a qualifier on transports using their special rules while transporting models.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/05/30 04:32:25
Subject: Valkryies, Techpriests and Stormies
|
 |
Imperial Recruit in Training
Bremerton, Washington USA
|
If you put a unit (say a special weapons squad) in the Valk and have it in reserves, can it still deepstrike?
I think most people would say "yes". The same applies to scout.
You could always take the reconnaissance special operation and give your storm troopers infiltrate/outflank and pinning on thier first shot.
|
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2009/05/30 04:33:22
Redheads don't need a reason, they ARE the reason. |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/05/30 07:53:29
Subject: Valkryies, Techpriests and Stormies
|
 |
Frenzied Berserker Terminator
|
warboss wrote:that rule is EXACTLY what i'm talking about. pg 76 "If a unit with this ability is deployed inside a dedicated transport vehicle, it confers the scout ability to the transport vehicle too." no where does it say that a vehicle does the reverse, conferring scout to a unit embarked on it. if the unit is embarked, it's effectively gaining the ability without anything in the rules to support it. also, the valk is not a dedicated transport so the above doesn't even apply to it either. i agree that it SHOULD be able to scout even with a unit deployed onto it but NO WHERE do the actual rules support this decision. I hope that GW faq's this in the valk's favor but i'm not holding my breath. if you have any actual rules quotes to prove me wrong, feel free to post them. in the meantime, just wishing the opposite is true doesn't make it so.
edit: on second thought, i'm done with this thread. the OP has abandoned it and we'll just end up arguing. i'm out.
If you want to get technical, there is nothing to say that embarked units move as fast as the transport they're in, either. Does that mean that the transport can only move 6" since the unit inside can only move that far?
It seems pretty clear that the models inside do not affect how a transport moves and what special rules it uses.
|
|
|
 |
 |
|
|