Switch Theme:

Can stormboyz run?  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut




Can a unit of stormboyz benefit from the "run" rule?

If I understand things right, they get 12 + d6 movement in the movement phase, but they cannot benefit from the "waaagh" move. They can still run, though, right? So Turn 1 they can go 12 + d6 move, d6 run, then 12 + d6 move, + 6 inch assault, for a total of 30 + 3d6 in 2 turns (51'' average).

Went digging through my old posts, and guess what? I've been hating on mat ward since before it was cool

http://www.dakkadakka.com/dakkaforum/posts/list/244212.page 
   
Made in ca
Serious Squig Herder






I believe they can.

I'll have to check though.

blarg 
   
Made in au
Stormin' Stompa






YO DAKKA DAKKA!

Why not? They can assault, and are considered to do so on foot, as well as being allowed to move as infantry if they desire.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2009/05/30 02:24:01


 
   
Made in ie
Waaagh! Warbiker




Stormboyz are Jump Infantry and as such may utilise the Run Rule in addition to their Special Movement rule.

Just remember that the Run is done in the Shooting Phase, and the special Stormboy extra D6 is done in the Movement Phase. So yeah, if you don't mind not assaulting, Stormboyz can potentially move 24" a turn.

Pretty Speedy!
   
Made in au
Quick-fingered Warlord Moderatus






The stormboyz are only restricted in not getting 'fleet of foot' on the turn a waaagh! is called because the rule states that fleet of foot is granted to "infantry units" which does not encompass jump infantry.

They are still allowed to run at any time, even during the turn the waaagh! is called, they simply won't be able to assault after running.

edit:
Arctik_Firangi wrote:Why not? They can assault, and are considered to do so on foot, as well as being allowed to move as infantry if they desire.


not trying to de-rail the thread but just wanted to point out, despite Dark Eldar Hellions and characters on Skyboards being jump infantry (and thus following the jump infantry rules which say they close the final distance on foot and still have to roll difficult terrain) the Dark Eldar FAQ ruled that combat drugs can't be used with the board for a 12" assault because "the drugs can't make the skyboard fly faster". I'm still facepalming over this one.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2009/05/30 02:30:37


Interceptor Drones can disembark at any point during the Sun Shark's move (even though models cannot normally disembark from Zooming Flyers).


-Jeremy Vetock, only man at Games Workshop who understands Zooming Flyers 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: