Switch Theme:

Deploying from the short table edge...is this valid?  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Boom! Leman Russ Commander








I've seen two players do this, and as it did not give them an advantage, I didn't want to argue it but:

On a gaming table you have the long table edges, and then the short table edges. these two players brought units on from reserve on the short table edge, but still in their deployment zone.

I did question both players if the unit could outflank, and their reply was its their deployment zone....

Legal or loophole?

.Only a fool believes there is such a thing as price gouging. Things have value determined by the creator or merchant. If you don't agree with that value, you are free not to purchase. 
   
Made in ca
Auspicious Skink Shaman





Mississauga, Ontario, Canada

Totally legal.

The rules simply state that you must deploy within X inches of your table edge. How far along to the left or right of your controlled table edge is totally your call.

DS:80S++G++MB+I+Pwhfb05+D+A++/areWD-R+++T(D)DM+

 
   
Made in us
Painlord Titan Princeps of Slaanesh






Dallas, TX

it says the player's own table edge.

Not edges. In this case I'd say that it's the long board edge.

This becomes awkward in a quarters deployment though, where both sides are just about equally the player's deployment zone.

40k Armies I play:


Glory for Slaanesh!

 
   
Made in gb
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime







No, he cannot.

All non outflanking/Deepstriking etc reserves must Arrive from the players TABLE EDGE. Nowhere Else.

Deployment zones only matter for initial Deployment. Nothing else.

If they still argue refer them to the reserves rule.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2009/06/01 04:14:12


Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!)
 
   
Made in us
Boom! Leman Russ Commander








I looked up the wording under reserves....It does say the unit must come from the player's table edge. However....I can see someone saying that the table edge is "theirs" because their deployment zone "claimed"it. Is there a specific place in the rules that says deployment zones are gone after deployment?

I will note though, that in the deployment zone sections, it does say a player picks a long table edge and that is the players table edge.....I guess the problem will be connecting that edge with the one referenced in the reserves rule.

.Only a fool believes there is such a thing as price gouging. Things have value determined by the creator or merchant. If you don't agree with that value, you are free not to purchase. 
   
Made in us
Lieutenant General





Florence, KY

Look at the various scenarios, specifically on pages 92 and 93. The long table edge is always noted as being the 'player's table edge'.

'It is a source of constant consternation that my opponents
cannot correlate their innate inferiority with their inevitable
defeat. It would seem that stupidity is as eternal as war.'

- Nemesor Zahndrekh of the Sautekh Dynasty
Overlord of the Crownworld of Gidrim
 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut




General Hobbs wrote:

I looked up the wording under reserves....It does say the unit must come from the player's table edge. However....I can see someone saying that the table edge is "theirs" because their deployment zone "claimed"it. Is there a specific place in the rules that says deployment zones are gone after deployment?

I will note though, that in the deployment zone sections, it does say a player picks a long table edge and that is the players table edge.....I guess the problem will be connecting that edge with the one referenced in the reserves rule.

How is that a hard connection?

It says the player picks a table edge; then says the reserves come in from the players table edge. Sounds pretty darn cut and dry there...
   
Made in us
Junior Officer with Laspistol






The eye of terror.

Also remember that in a spearhead deployment, reserves come from the entire long table edge, and can be used as a sort of "poor man's outflank."

Why did the berzerker cross the road?
Gwar! wrote:Willydstyle has it correct
Gwar! wrote:Yup you're absolutely right

New to the game and can't win? Read this.

 
   
Made in us
Wolf Guard Bodyguard in Terminator Armor







willydstyle wrote:Also remember that in a spearhead deployment, reserves come from the entire long table edge, and can be used as a sort of "poor man's outflank."


This has won me a couple of games where the opposing player did not realize it could be done.

THE HORUS HERESY: Emprah: Hours, go reconquer the galaxy so there can be a new golden age. Horus: But I should be Emprah, bawwwwww! Emprah: Magnus, stop it with the sorcery. Magnus: But I know what's best, bawwwwww! Emprah: Horus, tell Russ to bring Magnus to me because I said so. Horus: Emprah wants you to kill Magnus because he said so. Russ: Fine. Emprah's always right. Plus Ole Red has already been denounced as a traitor and I never liked him anyway. Russ: You're about to die, cyclops! Magnus: O noes! Tzeentch, I choose you! Bawwwww! Russ: Ah well. Now to go kill Horus. Russ: Rowboat, how have you not been doing anything? Guilliman: . . . I've been writing a book. Russ: Sigh. Let's go. Guilliman: And I fought the Word Bearers! Horus: Oh shi--Spess Puppies a'comin? Abbadon: And the Ultramarines, sir. Horus: Who? Anyway, this looks bad. *enter Sanguinis* What are you doing here? Come to join me? Sanguinius: *throws self on Horus's power claws* Alas, I am undone! When you play Castlevania, remember me! *enter Emprah* Emprah: Horus! So my favorite son killed my favorite daughter! Horus: What about the Lion? Emprah: Never liked her. Horus: No one does. Now prepare to die! *mortally wounds Emprah*Emprah: Au contraire, you dick. *kills Horus* Dorn: Okay, now I just plug this into this and . . . okay, it works! Emprah? Hellooooo? Jonson: I did nothing! Guilliman: I did more nothing that you! Jonson: Nuh-uh. I was the most worthless! Guilliman: Have you read my book? Dorn: No one likes that book. Khan: C'mon guys. It's not that bad. Dorn: I guess not. Russ: You all suck. Ima go bring the Emprah back to life.
DA:80-S+++G+++M++++B++I+Pw40k97#+D++++A++++/fWD199R+++T(S)DM+  
   
Made in us
Heroic Senior Officer





Woodbridge, VA

Relevant lines:
From a scenario (all have the same line):
The player that goes first then chooses one of the long table edges to be his own table edge.

Reserves, Page 94:
When a reserve unit arrives, it must move onto the table from the controlling player’s own table edge (unless it’s deep striking or outflanking).

Don "MONDO"
www.ironfistleague.com
Northern VA/Southern MD 
   
Made in ca
Auspicious Skink Shaman





Mississauga, Ontario, Canada

Woopsy! My post was wrong! I misread the question, and thought you meant deployements. GWAR!'s answer is the right one.

If the scenario doesn't permit it, he has to be touching his table edge. There is no "claiming" any of the short table edge because of his deployment zone.

DS:80S++G++MB+I+Pwhfb05+D+A++/areWD-R+++T(D)DM+

 
   
Made in us
Fixture of Dakka






on board Terminus Est

I think in 3e and 4e is was okay to deploy along the short edges but in 5e it is very clear you can only deploy from your long table edge for pitched battle deployment.

G

ALL HAIL SANGUINIUS! No one can beat my Wu Tang style!

http://greenblowfly.blogspot.com <- My 40k Blog! BA Tactics & Strategies!
 
   
Made in ca
Frothing Warhound of Chaos





(as if this wasn't said a million times before) Gwar! is right, but i still read half my rulebook to check

You're not a geek if you can beat the out of people who call you a geek, as such, i am not a geek.
I play 2000 point (homebrew warband) L:2 D:1 W:2
DS:90-S+GMB-IPw40K08#++D+A+/SWD-R+T(OT)DM+
Purgo vestri vesica per vestri hostilis cruor.
Purgo vestri animus per cruor of reproba unus 
   
Made in us
Enginseer with a Wrench





Salt Lake City, UT

Green Blow Fly wrote:I think in 3e and 4e is was okay to deploy along the short edges but in 5e it is very clear you can only deploy from your long table edge for pitched battle deployment.

G

And for Dawn of War and Spearhead.
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: