Switch Theme:

< Taken by the void dragon. >  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Infiltrating Hawwa'





Australia

< Taken by the void dragon. >

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2020/03/14 04:00:29


DakkaDakka.com does not allow users to delete their accounts or content. We don't apologize for this.  
   
Made in au
[MOD]
Making Stuff






Under the couch

Placing them within 1" of his unit would not be placing them in a valid Deepstrike formation, since they can't be placed within 1" of enemy units.

 
   
Made in us
Infiltrating Hawwa'





Australia

< Taken by the void dragon. >

This message was edited 3 times. Last update was at 2020/03/14 04:00:36


DakkaDakka.com does not allow users to delete their accounts or content. We don't apologize for this.  
   
Made in us
Morphing Obliterator




The Void

Well units may not be placed within 1 inch of enemy units. So i'd say he simply can't do that in the first place.

Always 1 on the crazed roll. 
   
Made in us
Infiltrating Hawwa'





Australia

< Taken by the void dragon. >

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2020/03/14 04:00:42


DakkaDakka.com does not allow users to delete their accounts or content. We don't apologize for this.  
   
Made in us
Morphing Obliterator




The Void

I don't see what any of what you just said has to do with what i said.

You are not allowed to have a model within an inch of an enemy model, and you are not allowed to place them on top of enemy models. Therefore when he places them after the 3-4 result, there is nothing allowing him to break these rules.

Always 1 on the crazed roll. 
   
Made in au
Stormin' Stompa






YO DAKKA DAKKA!

But they DON'T scatter. You can't place your valid deepstrike formation within an inch of other units or dangerous terrain - the entire unit fails to make formation, and the mishap test is made. The standard rules for DS don't need to make special mention of a valid formation.

The 4-6 result doesn't say, 'Your opponent may choose where you Deep Strike', it simply tells you how to place them on the table. In a valid fashion. The only reason DS is mentioned there is so that we know to still consider it as such for difficult/dangerous tests.
   
Made in au
[MOD]
Making Stuff






Under the couch

Che-Vito wrote:The "formation" part of the rule is the author referring back to the Deep Strike rules which state that Deep Striking units must be placed base-to-base around a central unit.


Right... and for that to be possible, you need to be able to place the first model. If you're trying to put the first model somewhere it can't go, then you don't get a valid deepstrike formation.

Likewise, if you place the first model, and can't place the rest of the models without them being within 1" of an enemy, you don't have a valid deepstrike formation.

 
   
Made in us
Sslimey Sslyth




Someone's Easter egg hunting.
   
Made in us
Guard Heavy Weapon Crewman




Novi, Michigan

Che-Vito wrote:
So what this makes me wonder is if this could be done:
Deepstrike Player: "I rolled scatter and I am within 1" of an enemy unit. I rolled a 4 on the Mishap table"
Noobsauce Player: "I am going to place then within 1" of one of my units, or on impassable terrain. You have to take another Mishap test."
Deepstrike Player: Rolls Again
Noobsauce Player: Places units within 1" again, unless the Mishap removed/destroyed the Deep Striking unit

Is this completely legal to do? If so, it virtually guarantees the destruction/incapacitation of Deep Striking units that have Mishaps....


"Noobsauce" can not place your troops within 1" of his troops as per the rules.

You can only drop from space once and have a mishap...I don't know of any instance where you would be forced to roll twice on a unit that experienced a mishap landing. If your units are moved to difficult terrain, then make the required rolls to save them. Quiet simply, "Noobsauce" broke the rules on placement of your troops and suckered you into a reroll you would never have to do.
   
Made in gb
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime







No, if you roll a Misplaced, the enemy must place them anywhere that is not in Impassible terrain or within 1" of an enemy. Anything else is not a "Valid Deep Strike Formation"

Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!)
 
   
Made in us
Infiltrating Hawwa'





Australia

< Taken by the void dragon. >

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2020/03/14 04:01:01


DakkaDakka.com does not allow users to delete their accounts or content. We don't apologize for this.  
   
Made in gb
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime







Che-Vito wrote:My question has been answered, mods do you want to give this one a close?
Yes, and while we're at it can the Mods make me a Ham Sandwich!

Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!)
 
   
Made in us
Enginseer with a Wrench





Salt Lake City, UT

Che-Vito wrote:
Arctik_Firangi wrote:But they DON'T scatter.
Yes, clearly you need to revisit the initial Deep Strike rules. When a unit initially Deep Strikes in, they roll scatter. Period.

They do not scatter when your opponent places them on the table after you roll a Misplaced result. It's at the very end of the sentence you quoted from the BGB in your OP.
   
Made in us
Infiltrating Hawwa'





Australia

< Taken by the void dragon. >

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2020/03/14 04:01:27


DakkaDakka.com does not allow users to delete their accounts or content. We don't apologize for this.  
   
Made in us
Enginseer with a Wrench





Salt Lake City, UT

Che-Vito wrote:
KaloranSLC wrote:
Che-Vito wrote:
Arctik_Firangi wrote:But they DON'T scatter.
Yes, clearly you need to revisit the initial Deep Strike rules. When a unit initially Deep Strikes in, they roll scatter. Period.

They do not scatter when your opponent places them on the table after you roll a Misplaced result. It's at the very end of the sentence you quoted from the BGB in your OP.


Mishaps do not scatter, but my question was whether they could be placed with 1" of an enemy unit. Clearly they cannot, but his point about scatter was quite irrelevant and unspecific.

The following is why it was mentioned:
Che-Vito wrote:
Yes. But when units Deep Strike, they scatter. Also, keep in mind that units Deep Striking into difficult terrain treat it as Dangerous Terrain...so a unit placed into Difficult Terrain would only take a Dangerous Terrain test and call it a day.
   
Made in au
Quick-fingered Warlord Moderatus






Had there been scatter involved I would potentially see the argument for allowing you to place them within 1" of an enemy unit, although I would consider it highly abusive. This is because I think some models should be able to deep strike in those locations such as a monolith and potentially a drop pod (although it is somewhat stranger unless you are prepared to bend the rules a bit).

Given that there is no scatter involved with this mishap result you are creating a situation that is guaranteed to break certain rules and so cannot perform that action. The big thing here for me is your opponent isn't deep striking the unit at a location of his choice but simply deploying them in a certain formation, the unit couldn't normally be deployed in that position, even if there were overlapping deployment zones, so it may not be placed there.

Interceptor Drones can disembark at any point during the Sun Shark's move (even though models cannot normally disembark from Zooming Flyers).


-Jeremy Vetock, only man at Games Workshop who understands Zooming Flyers 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: