No, he is forced to use it.
You could do that in old editions, but not in 5th.
The rule in question can be found on page 42, under the Subheading
"A normal and a special weapon":
Page 42 wrote: A normal and a special weapon
These models gain one additional attack. All of their attacks, including the bonus attack, benefit from the special weapon's bonuses.
Red for Emphasis. As you can see, all his attacks must be done with the Special Weapon. He cannot elect to use the Normal Weapon Instead or not use it at all.
Edits: [Jedi]These are not the Droids you are looking for[/Jedi]