Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/06/08 00:19:19
Subject: Imolator Dual Heavy Flamers Question
|
 |
Sword-Bearing Inquisitorial Crusader
|
Ok, during a game yesterday an issue came up, I thought, and always played the Imolator as having two seperate Heavy Flamers. My opponent thinks that since they're twin linked in their rules that the wording leads a person to believe that you fire the Imolator as a single twin linked flamer.
So, my question is, is the Imolator's twin heavy flamers a single flamer template, or two flamer templates?
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/06/08 00:28:40
Subject: Imolator Dual Heavy Flamers Question
|
 |
Stormin' Stompa
|
This is answered in your codex.
What is the Immolator armed with?
A twinlinked heavy flamer.
Refer to the rulebook for what that means.
*SPOILER*
It fires as a single heavy flamer with a reroll to wound. Your opponent was right.
|
-------------------------------------------------------
"He died because he had no honor. He had no honor and the Emperor was watching."
18.000 3.500 8.200 3.300 2.400 3.100 5.500 2.500 3.200 3.000
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/06/08 00:35:04
Subject: Imolator Dual Heavy Flamers Question
|
 |
Sword-Bearing Inquisitorial Crusader
|
Steelmage99 wrote:This is answered in your codex.
What is the Immolator armed with?
A twinlinked heavy flamer.
Refer to the rulebook for what that means.
This is wrong, this isn't what the codex states (No where does it state the flamers are specifically twin linked, but instead says the words)
"Twin Heavy Flamers" the word flamers makes me think that there's two of them.
"Weapons: The immolator is armed with twin heavy flamers" is the exact wording from the codex.
Special Rules
"Twin Heavy flamers: The Immolator's twin heavy flamers are fired like an ordinary heavy flamer. However, any failed rolls to wound or to penetrate a vehicle's armor may be rerolled..."
|
This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2009/06/08 00:36:23
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/06/08 00:35:15
Subject: Imolator Dual Heavy Flamers Question
|
 |
Avatar of the Bloody-Handed God
|
Yes its on page 36, with addition you can also re-roll armor pen
Kreedos wrote:
Special Rules
"Twin Heavy flamers: The Immolator's twin heavy flamerS are fired like an ordinary heavy flamer. However, any failed rolls to wound or to penetrate a vehicle's armor may be rerolled..."
|
This message was edited 3 times. Last update was at 2009/06/08 00:37:01
Paused
◙▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬
◂◂ ► ▐ ▌ ◼ ▸▸
ʳʷ ᵖˡᵃʸ ᵖᵃᵘˢᵉ ˢᵗᵒᵖ ᶠᶠ |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/06/08 00:52:24
Subject: Imolator Dual Heavy Flamers Question
|
 |
Stormin' Stompa
|
Kreedos wrote:
Special Rules
"Twin Heavy flamers: The Immolator's twin heavy flamers are fired like an ordinary heavy flamer. However, any failed rolls to wound or to penetrate a vehicle's armor may be rerolled..."
This.
|
-------------------------------------------------------
"He died because he had no honor. He had no honor and the Emperor was watching."
18.000 3.500 8.200 3.300 2.400 3.100 5.500 2.500 3.200 3.000
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/06/08 11:01:44
Subject: Imolator Dual Heavy Flamers Question
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
It is fired as a SINGLE flamer. SINGLE. That is the clue...
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/06/08 11:09:50
Subject: Imolator Dual Heavy Flamers Question
|
 |
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime
|
In effect, it is a Special non twin linked weapon but fires as a single weapon with a re-roll to wound, which is the same effects as if it were twin linked.
|
Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!) |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/06/08 12:48:01
Subject: Imolator Dual Heavy Flamers Question
|
 |
Hardened Veteran Guardsman
|
God Damn it Kree.... I Totally said it was Sigle Template but you were so damn sure i just let it go... Just think of the countless wounds you've done to me... no wonder your gak seemed so OP. lol. Just kidding. But IMO it's a Single Template. Automatically Appended Next Post: Oh, and OP stands for Over Powered... case your Insta-Dictionary says Original Poster... lol. It made me giggle. Automatically Appended Next Post: Oh yeah... One more THing... You play with space nuns.
|
This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2009/06/08 12:48:52
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/06/08 19:49:17
Subject: Imolator Dual Heavy Flamers Question
|
 |
Sword-Bearing Inquisitorial Crusader
|
They couldn't have made this more confusing, I guess it just depends on what kind of guy you are, RAW would suggest that it's single because it says "Fired like AN ordinary Heavy Flamer..." RAI might suggest that because they didn't make it Twin Linked, that it was intended to fire as two heavy flamers. Twin linked was around when the codex came out, and twin linked heavy bolters exist. Also, when making mention to twin linked weapons, it's always stated as such "A twin linked heavy bolter." This leads you to believe that it's just a single twin linked weapon. As written in the immolator's section it's written as "Twin Heavy Flamers", if you replaced twin with twin linked, then it would be "Twin Linked Heavy Flamers," which would account for two of them. Why would they write seperate rules when they could just state that the immolator is just a twin linked heavy flamer? Also, where do you measure on the imolator if it's just a single one? In the middle of the flamers?
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2009/06/08 19:50:45
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/06/08 20:30:30
Subject: Imolator Dual Heavy Flamers Question
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
Twin linked flamers did not exist however, meaning they didnt want to confuse things: twin linking on other weapons rerolls to hit, where flamers reroll to wound.
It is fired as A SINGLE flamer. Nothing, and I mean NOTHING indicates there are two flamers there.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/06/08 20:36:40
Subject: Imolator Dual Heavy Flamers Question
|
 |
Stalwart Tribune
Olympus Mons
|
As Nosferatu said, there was no such thing as a twin linked template weapon at the time the codex came out, so they had no other choice, and calling it twin linked would have created confusion at the time.
Indeed, the weapon is a single "Twin Heavy Flamer", which fires as a heavy flamer that re-rolls to wound/penetrate. The same way as being equiped with a pair of pants doesn't give you two pieces of clothing.
|
2500 1000
Mechanicum Fleet 2000 1000
2000? (Almost all 2nd ed.)
I think that about covers it. For now. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/06/08 20:38:26
Subject: Imolator Dual Heavy Flamers Question
|
 |
Stinky Spore
|
nosferatu1001 wrote:Twin linked flamers did not exist however, meaning they didnt want to confuse things: twin linking on other weapons rerolls to hit, where flamers reroll to wound.
It is fired as A SINGLE flamer. Nothing, and I mean NOTHING indicates there are two flamers there.
Exactly, under 4th ed there were no t-l flamer weapons, and the codex was written under 4th ed rules, so they had to come up with a way of getting the affect they wanted. Calling it twin-linked would have been confusing since flamers do not roll to hit, and thus a "twin-linked flamer" under 4th ed would have had no effect. Also the statement that it fires as "an ordinary heavy flamer" etc is referring to BOTH flamers at once, and so this would have been the case under 4th ed as well.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/06/08 20:44:14
Subject: Imolator Dual Heavy Flamers Question
|
 |
Sword-Bearing Inquisitorial Crusader
|
I guess that all makes sense. Single flamer template it is. Thanks for all the help guys.
|
|
|
 |
 |
|