Switch Theme:

A couple of questions that have emerged recently.  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in fi
Hooded Inquisitorial Interrogator






Hi there. I just want your clarification for these questions.

1. Does a unit have to take a leadership when it is damaged by a vehicle explosion or gets hot! wounds even on the owning player's turn? What about failed dangerous terrain tests?

2. Has the rule changed from last edition when attacking skimmers in close combat? Do you hit on 6+ nowadays too?

3. Here's one scenario. My space marine bikers shoot and charge a rhino surrounding it almost completely. They do not succeed destroying it. Then the rhino tries to tank shock them out of its way. I make death or glory and the rhino explodes (I rolled 5 wounds on my squad, 3 bikers died and Khan and an attack bike lost a wound. Failure.). So the rhino did not get to move, hardly even pivot! The opponent had declared that it would move 12". So do the plague marines left in the crater get to act normally as their transport did not actually move? We played it so that they counted as moving.

4. If a piece of area terrain is cluster mined (SM scouts) can I deploy there safely? I did not _move_ into the terrain. Isn't this a good way to prevent assaults? Do both of the units get bombed if a unit enters the terrain?

5. Turbo-boosting when scout moving. If the enemy goes first, do you get the cover save? The rulebook says something along the lines "in the following enemy shooting phase" but does it apply to scout moves too?

I guess that is all for now. Thanks for your time.
   
Made in gb
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime







Zaephyr wrote:Hi there. I just want your clarification for these questions.
Glad to be of Service
Zaephyr wrote:1. Does a unit have to take a leadership when it is damaged by a vehicle explosion or gets hot! wounds even on the owning player's turn? What about failed dangerous terrain tests?
1) In any of these cases if those wounds cause 25% casualties in any Phase other than the Assault, then yes you take a Morale test as normal.
Zaephyr wrote:2. Has the rule changed from last edition when attacking skimmers in close combat? Do you hit on 6+ nowadays too?
2) Yes it Has Changed. Skimmers no longer have Special CC Rules.
3. Here's one scenario. My space marine bikers shoot and charge a rhino surrounding it almost completely. They do not succeed destroying it. Then the rhino tries to tank shock them out of its way. I make death or glory and the rhino explodes (I rolled 5 wounds on my squad, 3 bikers died and Khan and an attack bike lost a wound. Failure.). So the rhino did not get to move, hardly even pivot! The opponent had declared that it would move 12". So do the plague marines left in the crater get to act normally as their transport did not actually move? We played it so that they counted as moving.
3) It Does not count as moving. "Declared" Distance has no meaning in 40k, you only use the actual distance moved to determine any and all effects.
Zaephyr wrote:4. If a piece of area terrain is cluster mined (SM scouts) can I deploy there safely? I did not _move_ into the terrain. Isn't this a good way to prevent assaults? Do both of the units get bombed if a unit enters the terrain?
4) Yes you can Deploy, you can even move inside the terrain and even move out of it, but you wont be able to move back into it, as the rules for cluster mines state: "Cluster mines are automatically triggered the first time a unit (friendly or enemy) moves into the booby-trapped terrain." So you see, you have to move INTO the terrain to trigger them, not just move about inside or move out of the terrain. . As for the second part, only the unit that moved into the terrain gets hit. To again quote the codex: "When triggered, the cluster mines inflict 2D6 hits on the unfortunate unit once it has finished its move." As you see, it only affects the unit that moved into the terrain.
Zaephyr wrote:5. Turbo-boosting when scout moving. If the enemy goes first, do you get the cover save? The rulebook says something along the lines "in the following enemy shooting phase" but does it apply to scout moves too?
5) Yes you get the cover save. In fact, if you are going first, you can Turboboost in Scout, then move and shoot and assault as normal Turn 1, and STILL get the Cover save in the next Shooting Phase. A warning though, Skimmers do NOT get the Cover save if they move flat out in the scout phase and the enemy goes first, as the wording for their rule is different.
Zaephyr wrote:I guess that is all for now. Thanks for your time.
<English> Not at all I'm Sure!</English>

This message was edited 4 times. Last update was at 2009/06/08 22:01:30


Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!)
 
   
Made in au
Quick-fingered Warlord Moderatus






Gwar! wrote:
Zaephyr wrote:3. Here's one scenario. My space marine bikers shoot and charge a rhino surrounding it almost completely. They do not succeed destroying it. Then the rhino tries to tank shock them out of its way. I make death or glory and the rhino explodes (I rolled 5 wounds on my squad, 3 bikers died and Khan and an attack bike lost a wound. Failure.). So the rhino did not get to move, hardly even pivot! The opponent had declared that it would move 12". So do the plague marines left in the crater get to act normally as their transport did not actually move? We played it so that they counted as moving.
3) It Does not count as moving. "Declared" Distance has no meaning in 40k, you only use the actual distance moved to determine any and all effects.
While you are correct that it's based on the inches actually moved rather than the declared distance I tend to feel that because of the tank shock rules ( "when moving a tank the player can declare that the vehicle is going to attempt to make a tank shock attack" ) means that if you are executing a tank shock the vehicle has necessarily moved to allow it. I don't think it's clear enough for me to actively argue over it mid game, but this is certainly the view I would offer up.

Gwar! wrote:
Zaephyr wrote:5. Turbo-boosting when scout moving. If the enemy goes first, do you get the cover save? The rulebook says something along the lines "in the following enemy shooting phase" but does it apply to scout moves too?
5) Yes you get the cover save. In fact, if you are going first, you can Turboboost in Scout, then move and shoot and assault as normal Turn 1, and STILL get the Cover save in the next Shooting Phase. A warning though, Skimmers do NOT get the Cover save if they move flat out in the scout phase and the enemy goes first, as the wording for their rule is different.
An extra warning, it seems in my experience quite common for people to not take a RAW approach to this, my experience is that most people play that both bikes and skimmers can benefit from the save for turbo-boosting/moving fast however only if the opponent goes first after the scout move. I'm not trying to say the rulebook says anything like it, just warning that it seems a common take on the situation.

Interceptor Drones can disembark at any point during the Sun Shark's move (even though models cannot normally disembark from Zooming Flyers).


-Jeremy Vetock, only man at Games Workshop who understands Zooming Flyers 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: