Switch Theme:

Cavalry question  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in ca
Fresh-Faced New User




If a model is on a cavalry model then would it be able to be picked out for shooting if it were part of a regular squad? here's the example: a chaos lord mounted on a juggernaut of Khorn is attached to a squad of plague marines, can a squad pick out the lord individually in the shooting phase?
   
Made in fi
Confessor Of Sins




No, that rule only applies to MCs no matter how stupid it sounds. ICs and shooting at them, page 49, BRB.

edit: note that I lack the CSM codex so I can't check if the Juggernaut has any special rules on the subject

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2009/06/11 07:30:07


 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




It has no special rules, it is simply a mount that does not make the character a MC in anyway shape or form.
   
Made in gb
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime







nosferatu1001 wrote:It has no special rules, it is simply a mount that does not make the character a MC in anyway shape or form.
Indeed, as such he cannot be picked out.

Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!)
 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut




Whats with the MC talk, you can't pick out MCs either.
   
Made in gb
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime







coredump wrote:Whats with the MC talk, you can't pick out MCs either.
Very true, Bit of rules muddling there . However, I do not recall ever seeing an MC with the Independent Character Special Rule.

A quick gander at my Eldar, Tyranid and Chaos Marine/Daemon Codex reinforces that (Apologies if I have missed any).

Because no MC's* currently have the IC rule, they can never join a Unit anyway, and as such can always be shot at separately, hence the belief that MC's can be picked out.


*That I know of

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2009/06/11 17:37:45


Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!)
 
   
Made in au
Lone Wolf Sentinel Pilot






Gwar! wrote:
*That I know of


How unlike you....

Many started armies including: / , , ....and Bretonnia 
   
Made in gb
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime







colonel584 wrote:
Gwar! wrote:*That I know of
How unlike you....
Just covering all my bases as I have better things to do at the moment than trawl through all of my 3rd, 4th and 5th edition codexes and Rulebooks.

If someone knows of a Monstrous Creature with the IC rule, let me know. At First I thought Karamazov from Codex: Witchhunters might be but he has a special rule regarding how to deal with his retinue so it is not an issue.

Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!)
 
   
Made in fi
Hooded Inquisitorial Interrogator






Gwar! wrote:
colonel584 wrote:
Gwar! wrote:*That I know of
How unlike you....
Just covering all my bases as I have better things to do at the moment than trawl through all of my 3rd, 4th and 5th edition codexes and Rulebooks.

If someone knows of a Monstrous Creature with the IC rule, let me know. At First I thought Karamazov from Codex: Witchhunters might be but he has a special rule regarding how to deal with his retinue so it is not an issue.


Could a daemon prince be one of them? CSM codex of course. Both C'tans are ICs at least.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2009/06/11 18:52:44


 
   
Made in gb
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime







Zaephyr wrote:Could a daemon prince be one of them? CSM codex of course. Both C'tans are ICs at least.
Nope, neither C'tan have the Independent Character rule, and both have a Rule that prevents them from joining another unit anyway. Shush I'm drunk.

Daemon Princes of both Flavour (Daemons/Marines) do not have the IC rule either.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2009/06/11 19:03:31


Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!)
 
   
Made in us
Huge Bone Giant





Oakland, CA -- U.S.A.

Actually C'Tan do have IC status, and rules that make it entirely irrelevant.

"It is not the bullet with your name on it that should worry you, it's the one labeled "To whom it may concern. . ."

DQ:70S++G+++MB+I+Pwhfb06+D++A+++/aWD-R++++T(D)DM+ 
   
Made in gb
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime







kirsanth wrote:Actually C'Tan do have IC status, and rules that make it entirely irrelevant.
I have a horrible feeling this is my First Print run Codex being a bitch again, but I only see the "Character" Special Rule, not the Independent Character Special Rule for both of them. They do have "Above All Others" which means they cannot join anyway however MOAR RUM PLOX!

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2009/06/11 19:03:54


Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!)
 
   
Made in us
Huge Bone Giant





Oakland, CA -- U.S.A.

It's in the rules for "Character" as you said, for each of them.

At least in this codex.

"It is not the bullet with your name on it that should worry you, it's the one labeled "To whom it may concern. . ."

DQ:70S++G+++MB+I+Pwhfb06+D++A+++/aWD-R++++T(D)DM+ 
   
Made in fi
Hooded Inquisitorial Interrogator






Gwar! wrote:
kirsanth wrote:Actually C'Tan do have IC status, and rules that make it entirely irrelevant.
I have a horrible feeling this is my First Print run Codex being a bitch again, but I only see the "Character" Special Rule, not the Independent Character Special Rule for both of them. They do have "Above All Others" which means they cannot join anyway however


My friend's codex states:

Character: A C'tan is an Independent Character and follows all the rules for characters given in the Warhammer 40000 rulebook, modified by the "above all others"...
   
Made in gb
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime







kirsanth wrote:It's in the rules for "Character" as you said, for each of them.

At least in this codex.
Yup, you are right. Rum Goggles blurred the Independent from the rules text

So yeah, C'Tan are MC's with the IC rules, but cannot join units ANYWAY because of another special rule, further reinforcing the notion that MC's can be "Picked out"

And seriously how hard would it have been to just call the special rule "Independent Character"

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2009/06/11 19:03:08


Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!)
 
   
Made in fi
Hooded Inquisitorial Interrogator






Gwar! wrote:
kirsanth wrote:It's in the rules for "Character" as you said, for each of them.

At least in this codex.
Yup, you are right. Rum Goggles blurred the Independent from the rules text

So yeah, C'Tan are MC's with the IC rules, but cannot join units ANYWAY because of another special rule, further reinforcing the notion that MC's can be "Picked out"

And seriously how hard would it have been to just call the special rule "Independent Character"


Yeah, it is widely known that GW leaves many difficult things unclear but clarifies simple things too much.
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut




A Hive tyrant is not an IC, but it can 'join' with tyrant guards.


IIRC there was a rule in 4E that MCs could be picked out even if part of a unit; which is why the Shieldwall rule exists.
   
Made in gb
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime







coredump wrote:A Hive tyrant is not an IC, but it can 'join' with tyrant guards.


IIRC there was a rule in 4E that MCs could be picked out even if part of a unit; which is why the Shieldwall rule exists.
Funny you should mention that, I was just looking at my 4th ed book for that reason lol.

Turns out, there wasn't any such rule in 4th ed At least not in the MC rules on Page 55. There were rules regarding them for TP tests, but I cannot see anything that would let them be picked out. I think I must be missing something because the Tyranid Codex is pretty explicit in the Shield Wall Rule that they can be.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2009/06/12 04:18:17


Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!)
 
   
Made in us
Huge Bone Giant





Oakland, CA -- U.S.A.

Shoot the big ones.

Main rules, iirc

"It is not the bullet with your name on it that should worry you, it's the one labeled "To whom it may concern. . ."

DQ:70S++G+++MB+I+Pwhfb06+D++A+++/aWD-R++++T(D)DM+ 
   
Made in gb
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime







kirsanth wrote:Shoot the big ones.

Main rules, iirc
That was in the 3rd edition Tyranid Codex.

Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!)
 
   
Made in us
Huge Bone Giant





Oakland, CA -- U.S.A.

hmm.

I never played 3rd. I remember something of the sort, but I started in 4 and promptly tried to forget it and move on with 5e.

I believe it is in the targeting rules. Priority rules can be ignore when choosing vehicles and MC.

"It is not the bullet with your name on it that should worry you, it's the one labeled "To whom it may concern. . ."

DQ:70S++G+++MB+I+Pwhfb06+D++A+++/aWD-R++++T(D)DM+ 
   
Made in gb
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime







kirsanth wrote:hmm.

I never played 3rd. I remember something of the sort, but I started in 4 and promptly tried to forget it and move on with 5e.

I believe it is in the targeting rules. Priority rules can be ignore when choosing vehicles and MC.
Aye its in the targeting rules. it says you can shoot at it regardless of closer units, but nothing about picking it out if it is joined with a squad. Unless the Shieldwall rule means that you cannot ignore Target priority and instead test as if it were a normal unit.... It is a 4th edition codex after all

Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!)
 
   
Made in us
Huge Bone Giant





Oakland, CA -- U.S.A.

Well, that is the issue. How can you pick that unit to hit?

the way the ruleitself works has changed. But the ideal is the same. It is one of the few relics that works - almost better.

"It is not the bullet with your name on it that should worry you, it's the one labeled "To whom it may concern. . ."

DQ:70S++G+++MB+I+Pwhfb06+D++A+++/aWD-R++++T(D)DM+ 
   
Made in gb
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime







kirsanth wrote:Well, that is the issue. How can you pick that unit to hit?

the way the ruleitself works has changed. But the ideal is the same. It is one of the few relics that works - almost better.
True, it does seem a little redundant now though, as there are no rules to pick out MC's joined to a unit (there are no MC's that can even join a unit anyway). The only thing it does is give the Hive Tyrant a retinue, which means he would not be able to be picked out anyway...

Gah my brain hurts.

I am assuming the rule is there because the HT is not an IC and as such could not technically have a retinue and so could be picked out even if he brought some Guard along. Or something.

Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!)
 
   
Made in us
Huge Bone Giant





Oakland, CA -- U.S.A.

Well, it used to ignore priority rules.
Remember those? hehe spore mines FTW!!!

Now it circumvents most cover save rules.

Either way I agree with the last part!

cheers

"It is not the bullet with your name on it that should worry you, it's the one labeled "To whom it may concern. . ."

DQ:70S++G+++MB+I+Pwhfb06+D++A+++/aWD-R++++T(D)DM+ 
   
Made in nz
One Canoptek Scarab in a Swarm





New Zealand

From what I gather you cant target a monstrous creature that has is in a unit. The Necron Tomb Spyder is the best example, as it can spawn a Scarab Swarm which then joins with it and they become the same unit. it works in the same way as any others, the TS isnt an independant caracter, however that shouldnt too much of an effect (if any) on the way it works.

I play: - 2000pt
Deathwing - 12-1500 pts and counting
 
   
Made in gb
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime







Blackeagle wrote:From what I gather you cant target a monstrous creature that has is in a unit. The Necron Tomb Spyder is the best example, as it can spawn a Scarab Swarm which then joins with it and they become the same unit. it works in the same way as any others, the TS isnt an independant caracter, however that shouldnt too much of an effect (if any) on the way it works.
Correct. The TS is a MC, it creates a Scarab base that forms a unit with it, because the Artificer rule says so. It still is not an IC, so cannot joi other units. Once the Scarabs are formed, you have to fire at the unit, you cannot just fire at the TS. A interesting side effect is that even though it is not a retinue, if you charge the unit of the TS and Scarabs, you cannot pick out the TS as it is not an Independent character.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2009/06/12 05:14:09


Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!)
 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: