Switch Theme:

IG Commander TL Plasma Pistols?  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut




I'm not really sure you'd actually want to do this, but:

If I'm reading the codex correctly, you can trade a Company Commander's (or Platoon Commander's) Laspistol for a Plasma Pistol. You can also trade his CCW for a Plasma Pistol. Does this legitimately then give you a TL Plasma Pistol?

Or is this a case where the "and/or" wording means that you can't actually trade both weapons individually for Plasma Pistols?
   
Made in gb
Veteran Wolf Guard Squad Leader






i think its a case of one of them could be traded for that and another for this
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




Even if you could swap them out for 2 pistols NOTHING lets you assume this makes them twin-linked, unless it specifically tells you it does. It simply gives you 2 plasma pistols that you can only ever use one at a time.
   
Made in gb
Longtime Dakkanaut





Dundee, Scotland/Dharahn, Saudi Arabia

All that having two plasma pistols will do is let you fire one or the other each turn.
You can't fire both, and the are not twin linked.
You need a special rule such as seraphim and creed have to TL a pistol.

If the thought of something makes me giggle for longer than 15 seconds, I am to assume that I am not allowed to do it.
item 87, skippys list
DC:70S+++G+++M+++B+++I++Pw40k86/f#-D+++++A++++/cWD86R+++++T(D)DM++ 
   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut




Ah, yes, good point. I was only thinking about the two matching weapons being treated as a single TL weapon for firing purposes, and was forgetting that you still have to be allowed to fire two weapons for it to even matter.

I think I've been playing bugs too long.
   
Made in gb
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime







Balzac wrote:Ah, yes, good point. I was only thinking about the two matching weapons being treated as a single TL weapon for firing purposes, and was forgetting that you still have to be allowed to fire two weapons for it to even matter.

I think I've been playing bugs too long.
Indeed, it is not a general rule, but its a Specific codex rule.

Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!)
 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: