Switch Theme:

Infantry/Vehicle movement question...  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in gb
Emboldened Warlock







I've got a question about movement, and nothing in the rules book agrees or disagrees with what I have to ask... so I'm asking it here.

Say I wish to move my squad of Eldar Guardians around some difficult terrain, but don't want to enter it. Can I move them 3' towards the terrain, and then pussyfoot around 3 inches?

On a similar note, for my Eldar Vehicles (Fast Skimmers...), if I want them to hold a position, yet get their coversave for Turboboost, am I allowed to have them move 24" "in a circle." Hence, effectively staying immobile, but still getting that coversave.

Basically my question is, does movement *have* to be straight?

What 'bout my star?~* 
   
Made in gb
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime







Kouzuki wrote:Say I wish to move my squad of Eldar Guardians around some difficult terrain, but don't want to enter it. Can I move them 3' towards the terrain, and then pussyfoot around 3 inches?
You mean move arround the terrain? Sure. Or do you mean just move 3"? Cause that's also fine,
Kouzuki wrote:On a similar note, for my Eldar Vehicles (Fast Skimmers...), if I want them to hold a position, yet get their coversave for Turboboost, am I allowed to have them move 24" "in a circle." Hence, effectively staying immobile, but still getting that coversave.
Strangely enough, Yes, you can. Unlike Turboboosters, which states you must be 18" or more away to benefit, there is no requirement to be 18" or in fact any number of inches away from your starting point.

So yeah, you can Move 12", Pivot 180 degrees and move 11.9999" back. You will have moved Flat out, even though you ended up in a Similar Position (but not Identical [not that it matters, but it helps keep things less argumentative] as you moved 11.99999" on the second part)

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2009/06/14 00:15:08


Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!)
 
   
Made in fi
Bounding Assault Marine





Gwar! wrote:Strangely enough, Yes, you can. Unlike Turboboosters, which states you must be 18" or more away to benefit, there is no requirement to be 18" or in fact any number of inches away from your starting point.

So yeah, you can Move 12", Pivot 180 degrees and move 11.9999" back. You will have moved Flat out, even though you ended up in a Similar Position (but not Identical [not that it matters, but it helps keep things less argumentative] as you moved 11.99999" on the second part)


And i was pretty sure that wasn't allowed Have to check the rulebook again as soon as i get home

Space Marines 6700pts Tyranids 5000pts Tau 2350pts Blood Angels 2850pts Orcs & Goblins 1350pts
 
   
Made in gb
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime







Thunder555 wrote:
Gwar! wrote:Strangely enough, Yes, you can. Unlike Turboboosters, which states you must be 18" or more away to benefit, there is no requirement to be 18" or in fact any number of inches away from your starting point.

So yeah, you can Move 12", Pivot 180 degrees and move 11.9999" back. You will have moved Flat out, even though you ended up in a Similar Position (but not Identical [not that it matters, but it helps keep things less argumentative] as you moved 11.99999" on the second part)


And i was pretty sure that wasn't allowed Have to check the rulebook again as soon as i get home
Yup, it is alowed. A lot of people I know remember the Turboboosters rule and apply it to skimmers, but they don't have any such rule

Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!)
 
   
Made in au
Quick-fingered Warlord Moderatus






It also might be coming over from 4th where the Skimmers Moving Fast rules specifically said to count as moving over 6" you had to end up over 6" away from where you started, it seems that between the old rule and the similar turbo-boost rule it might be a mistake to leave out the distance requirement in this instance.

Either way it most certainly is legal.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2009/06/15 00:43:48


Interceptor Drones can disembark at any point during the Sun Shark's move (even though models cannot normally disembark from Zooming Flyers).


-Jeremy Vetock, only man at Games Workshop who understands Zooming Flyers 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: