Switch Theme:

A few questions from different codexes.  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in gb
Fresh-Faced New User




Hey! I'm new here on Dakka and coming with few rules questions:

Codex Deamonhunters: Let's say two Mystics in a retinue of an Inquisitor are riding in a transport vehicle, Chimera for example. Can Mystics use their ability to intercept deep strikes if in a transport vehicle? If yes can the Inquisitor (and any other members in his retinue) take advantage of the Chimeras firing points to shoot at the deep strikers? Can the Mystics give the free shooting turn to some other unit and if so from where is the 12" measured?

Codex Space Marines: Scout Sergeat Telion has this cool special bolter of his. It has S4 and Sniper rule which says something in a line of "always wounds on 4+". Which rule takes precedens or should it be something like "always wounds at least on 4+" meaning you would use the strength if it's better? Also what happens when you shoot vehicles?

Edit: Codex Space Marines: When a Librarian succesfully invokes the Vortex of Doom power will the template scatter like a blast weapon would or will it simply stay where you put it, the psychic test being enough to "make it hit"?

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2009/06/16 13:47:17


 
   
Made in us
Heroic Senior Officer





Woodbridge, VA

DH: Yes, yes, and from the vehicle hull

SM: Yes, IIRC if shooting at my T3 IG, Telion's bolter would still wound on a 3+. Vehicles it would use the ST 4.

Don "MONDO"
www.ironfistleague.com
Northern VA/Southern MD 
   
Made in au
Quick-fingered Warlord Moderatus






don_mondo wrote:SM: Yes, IIRC if shooting at my T3 IG, Telion's bolter would still wound on a 3+. Vehicles it would use the ST 4.


Not quite, sniper weapons wound on a 4+ and that's all there is to it, you totally ignore Str and T when rolling to wound with a sniper weapon.

Regarding Vortex of Doom, because it's specifically stated to be a "Psychic Shooting Attack" you follow normal shooting rules after you pass the psychic test which includes scattering the template.

Interceptor Drones can disembark at any point during the Sun Shark's move (even though models cannot normally disembark from Zooming Flyers).


-Jeremy Vetock, only man at Games Workshop who understands Zooming Flyers 
   
Made in gb
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime







Drunkspleen wrote:
don_mondo wrote:SM: Yes, IIRC if shooting at my T3 IG, Telion's bolter would still wound on a 3+. Vehicles it would use the ST 4.


Not quite, sniper weapons wound on a 4+ and that's all there is to it, you totally ignore Str and T when rolling to wound with a sniper weapon.
DrunkSpleen and ChadeFIN, Tellions Stalker Pattern Boltgun does not have the Sniper rule, it has the Rending and Pinning Special Rules. So you use the Strength 4, roll to wound as normal and counts as S4 against vehicles.

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2009/06/16 22:40:20


Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!)
 
   
Made in fi
Fresh-Faced New User




Gwar! wrote:Don and ChadeFIN, Tellions Stalker Pattern Boltgun does not have the Sniper rule, it has the Rending and Pinning Special Rules. So you use the Strength 4, roll to wound as normal and counts as S4 against vehicles.


My God what a newbie mistake from my behalf. Should have received the "Read the codex!" answer on this one.

Thanks all of you, it has been really helpful! I'll resurrect this tread if new questions pop up.
   
Made in gb
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime







ChadeFIN wrote:
Gwar! wrote:Don and ChadeFIN, Tellions Stalker Pattern Boltgun does not have the Sniper rule, it has the Rending and Pinning Special Rules. So you use the Strength 4, roll to wound as normal and counts as S4 against vehicles.


My God what a newbie mistake from my behalf. Should have received the "Read the codex!" answer on this one.

Thanks all of you, it has been really helpful! I'll resurrect this tread if new questions pop up.
Glad to be of service, and you are better off just making a new thread TBH. Or you can PM me

Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!)
 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: