Switch Theme:

Placing Lashed Units  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Eternally-Stimulated Slaanesh Dreadnought






New York, NY

I'm curious what the restrictions are surrounding placement of lashed units. I know the units can't be moved "off the table, onto impassable terrain, or within 1" of an enemy unit."

Most often the unit is clumped in order to maximize the number of hits under a blast.

But what if your goal was simply to slow a unit or cut off their LOS; could you place the unit in a straight line, keeping coherency, so the unit is behind terrain?

Let's look at this hypothetical. You lash a unit 2d6" and want to place the unit in a straight line. Which of the following is proper?:

A) place the first model in the unit 2d6" and then each consecutive model 2" from the one preceding it out beyond the first (likewise beyond the 2d6" rolled for distance)

B) same as (A) but instead that first model is the farthest model and every other model in the unit is no farther then the 2d6" rolled

C) same as (A) but half the unit is beyond 2d6" and the other half is inside 2d6", so you have a nice average of the rolled distance.


I would put my money on (B) however this as a bright-line/hard-and-fast rule would have consequences. The way I see lash played is the placement is done similarly to a deepstrike where the unit is essentially placed in consentric circles around a center model in which case the center model is 2d6" from the unit. If this forum says option (B) is the way to play it then the effective distance of lash on units will be shortened dramatically.

I have a love /hate relationship with anything green. 
   
Made in gb
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime







Deuce11 wrote:I'm curious what the restrictions are surrounding placement of lashed units. I know the units can't be moved "off the table, onto impassable terrain, or within 1" of an enemy unit."

Most often the unit is clumped in order to maximize the number of hits under a blast.

But what if your goal was simply to slow a unit or cut off their LOS; could you place the unit in a straight line, keeping coherency, so the unit is behind terrain?

Let's look at this hypothetical. You lash a unit 2d6" and want to place the unit in a straight line. Which of the following is proper?:

A) place the first model in the unit 2d6" and then each consecutive model 2" from the one preceding it out beyond the first (likewise beyond the 2d6" rolled for distance)

B) same as (A) but instead that first model is the farthest model and every other model in the unit is no farther then the 2d6" rolled

C) same as (A) but half the unit is beyond 2d6" and the other half is inside 2d6", so you have a nice average of the rolled distance.


I would put my money on (B) however this as a bright-line/hard-and-fast rule would have consequences. The way I see lash played is the placement is done similarly to a deepstrike where the unit is essentially placed in consentric circles around a center model in which case the center model is 2d6" from the unit. If this forum says option (B) is the way to play it then the effective distance of lash on units will be shortened dramatically.
B is correct. No Model may move further than the 2D6" rolled.

Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!)
 
   
Made in gb
Ultramarine Land Raider Pilot on Cruise Control






Yorkshire, UK

Much as I hate to add to his epic signature - Gwar is correct...

While you sleep, they'll be waiting...

Have you thought about the Axis of Evil pension scheme? 
   
Made in us
Fixture of Dakka





Feasting on the souls of unworthy opponents

Yeah...the range of lash isn't 2d6+

2D6 isn't the minimum range from which you start lashing, its the maximum. =p

   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: