Switch Theme:

Flyrant and Devo's  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Lurking Gaunt





I know some while back at my FLGS the tyrant's entry read him something to the extent of jump infantry and thus lost his 12 shots, reduced to 6 shots with wings, is this the case? Or does the Flying Tyrant with 2 sets of twin linked Devo's in fact get 12 shots?

For clarificatin on the excerpt, page 31 of the Tyranid Codex states that any creature with wings will be treated like jump infantry in all respects.

Thanks in advance!

Freaka

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2009/07/07 11:59:35


 
   
Made in au
Gore-Soaked Lunatic Witchhunter






Australia (Recently ravaged by the Hive Fleet Ginger Overlord)

Do jump infantry even lose shots? I don't think so.

Smacks wrote:
After the game, pack up all your miniatures, then slap the guy next to you on the ass and say.

"Good game guys, now lets hit the showers"
 
   
Made in gb
Lord of the Fleet






He is jump infantry. He is also a monsterous creature but I can see where the rule might be a little confusing.

From a fluff perspective - if two of his limbs are now wings then what's he using to hold the four devourers?
   
Made in au
Anti-Armour Swiss Guard






Newcastle, OZ

Most tyranid weapons are assault, hence will always shoot the same number of shots whether stationary or moving.
Jump infantry doesn't change this.


I'm OVER 50 (and so far over everyone's BS, too).
Old enough to know better, young enough to not give a ****.

That is not dead which can eternal lie ...

... and yet, with strange aeons, even death may die.
 
   
Made in au
Gore-Soaked Lunatic Witchhunter






Australia (Recently ravaged by the Hive Fleet Ginger Overlord)

...the other 2?
He's got six limbs doesn't he?
What kind of weapon was it? Assualt? Rapid-Fire? Heavy?

Smacks wrote:
After the game, pack up all your miniatures, then slap the guy next to you on the ass and say.

"Good game guys, now lets hit the showers"
 
   
Made in cn
Blackclad Wayfarer





From England. Living in Shanghai

I imagine the confusion arose due to the fact that he has wings. It's a simple conversion but I guess your friend thought he would have to put them in the arms slots thus taking away a twin linked devourer. This isn't the case since you just put some wings onto the carapace (check out my avatar).

Looking for games in Shanghai? Send a PM 
   
Made in au
Gore-Soaked Lunatic Witchhunter






Australia (Recently ravaged by the Hive Fleet Ginger Overlord)

Is that legal? Does it say that the wings replace the twin-linked devourers?

Smacks wrote:
After the game, pack up all your miniatures, then slap the guy next to you on the ass and say.

"Good game guys, now lets hit the showers"
 
   
Made in gb
Lord of the Fleet






chromedog wrote:Most tyranid weapons are assault, hence will always shoot the same number of shots whether stationary or moving.
Jump infantry doesn't change this.



But, infantry can only fire one weapon per turn.

This is fine though since he is a monsterous creature that moves as jump infantry (not IS or BECOMES jump infantry).


Emperor's faithful - he's got two twin-linked devourers. That's four hands for the devourers and two that are wings....
   
Made in au
Gore-Soaked Lunatic Witchhunter






Australia (Recently ravaged by the Hive Fleet Ginger Overlord)

oh, so 2 are required for a twin-linked devourer.

Still, do the wings REPLACE some of the limbs?

Smacks wrote:
After the game, pack up all your miniatures, then slap the guy next to you on the ass and say.

"Good game guys, now lets hit the showers"
 
   
Made in cn
Blackclad Wayfarer





From England. Living in Shanghai

No

Looking for games in Shanghai? Send a PM 
   
Made in au
Gore-Soaked Lunatic Witchhunter






Australia (Recently ravaged by the Hive Fleet Ginger Overlord)

Then the problem is a confusing conversion. You should move the wings so that theydon't look like replacing some of the limbs.

BTY, scientifically, wings are classified as limbs.

Smacks wrote:
After the game, pack up all your miniatures, then slap the guy next to you on the ass and say.

"Good game guys, now lets hit the showers"
 
   
Made in cn
Blackclad Wayfarer





From England. Living in Shanghai

Actually it's simple. Just put them onto the carapace.

Looking for games in Shanghai? Send a PM 
   
Made in nl
Blood-Drenched Death Company Marine





The Netherlands

Emperors Faithful wrote:Then the problem is a confusing conversion. You should move the wings so that theydon't look like replacing some of the limbs.

BTY, scientifically, wings are classified as limbs.


Just think of ants. They normally have 6 legs but males grow a set of wings, which technically would make them 8 limbed. Anyway, nowhere in the 'nid codex does it say the nids need to enforce the 6 limbs rule, or that wings take up a weapon biomorph slot.

But if you're making a 2xTL dev flyrant conversion and want to stick to the six limbs for whatever reason, just cut off some devourer tips from gaunt or warrior devourers and make each arm a double devourer. Or just glue some devourer tips to the wings; there's usually a claw on the top you can replace.

   
Made in gb
Lord of the Fleet






Emperors Faithful wrote:oh, so 2 are required for a twin-linked devourer.

Still, do the wings REPLACE some of the limbs?


ruleswise no - you can have feet + four weapon arms + wings.

Fluffwise, the 'nids are all supposed to have six limbs. You could have the wings as extra limbs but then they lack the support muscules that would be required for something so big. I've seen some nice conversions where the legs are now weapon arms.
   
Made in gb
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime







No, a Flyrant moves as Jump Infantry, but remains a Tyranid Monstrous Creature, so can fire two weapons in the shooting phase. </Lateness>

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2009/07/07 13:36:42


Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!)
 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: