Switch Theme:

Tau FW w/ Markerlight and Tau Hammerhead Question(s)  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut




I'm going to be playing a friend with a Tau army in the next few days (no, the friend is not me ). He was telling me about his army and mentioned he has firewarriors that have a markerlight in the squad as well as a hammerhead with some upgrade that counts the hammerhead as being concealed if it is shot at from more than 12 inches away.
We were unsure if:

The squad of fire warriors with the markerlight cannot shoot a squad of (lets say) guardians with the marketlight and then have the same squad benefit from the markerlight's abilities with firing their pulse rifles (or whatever the standard FW weapons are called) because technically all of a squads shots are fired and resolved at the same time, right? A different squad could benefit from the marketlight in the same turn if it fired after that marketlight FW squad though. I ask because I've played against people who will roll a lascannon first and then the bolters afterwords but I am under the impression that the rules are every shot goes off at the same time so I couldn't choose to shoot a lascannon/marketlight/whatever and then not the bolters.

I believe the Tau codex came out during 4th ed, when concealed meant that a vehicle counted all hits against it as glancing. Because of the consolidated vehicle damage chart in 5th ed glancing lowers the damage roll rather than being a different table. In this cause for the Hammerhead with the upgrade that counts all shots from more than 12 inches away as having the vehicle being concealed does this mean that all his against the Hammerhead are glancing (-2 on vehicle damage chart) or that that Hammerhead receives the 4+ coversave for being obscured?

Hopefully those questions make sense, its late :/ Thanks for the help!

   
Made in au
Shas'la with Pulse Carbine




Tau Player

The hammerhead upgrade you're talking about is the disruption pod, which are also available for the other tau vehicles. Basically if the person firing at it is more than 12" away, the vehicle counts as obscured and recieves a 4+ cover save.

With the fire warrior squad, the shas'ui may take a regular markerlight. I say regular because the markerlight is not a "networked markerlight". A markerlight counter can't be expended by the unit that fired the markerlight because, as you said, all shots happen at once. Networked markerlights are the exception, because they fire before the rest of the unit, and so may benefit their own unit. So that's a no go for the fire warriors.

In case you're wondering, the only models that have a networked markerlight are the spotter (sniper drone team), the marker drone (battlesuit/infantry wargear), and the skyray (a tank with 2 networked markerlights). With networked markerlights, you roll for the markerlight, then you roll for the rest of the unit (possibly using up the counter you just placed on the target unit).

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2009/07/08 10:24:24





 
   
Made in au
Quick-fingered Warlord Moderatus






The 4th edition core rules effectively don't exist anymore, so any codex which refers to something in the core rules such as obscured uses the 5th edition rules (unless it explains the older functionality within the codex). If the referenced rule doesn't exist in the 5th edition codex, then it doesn't exist anymore and the thing that referenced it will not function.

So because of this, the wargear that makes Tau vehicles count as obscured when fired on from a distance use standard 5th edition obscurement rules and as such get a 4+ save.

Interceptor Drones can disembark at any point during the Sun Shark's move (even though models cannot normally disembark from Zooming Flyers).


-Jeremy Vetock, only man at Games Workshop who understands Zooming Flyers 
   
Made in gb
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime







Drunkspleen wrote:The 4th edition core rules effectively don't exist anymore, so any codex which refers to something in the core rules such as obscured uses the 5th edition rules (unless it explains the older functionality within the codex). If the referenced rule doesn't exist in the 5th edition codex, then it doesn't exist anymore and the thing that referenced it will not function.

So because of this, the wargear that makes Tau vehicles count as obscured when fired on from a distance use standard 5th edition obscurement rules and as such get a 4+ save.
Drunkspleen has it right here.

Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!)
 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: