Switch Theme:

Newb question about CC and 2 CC weapons...  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Guarding Guardian



Virginia Beach, Virginia

I'm just starting so I don't have a firm grasp on rules of 40k so I was hoping someone can answer a question that came up while a playing a game with my roommate. He assaulted my DA with some ork nobs. My Exarch had a Dire Sword and Shuriken Pistol. He was saying that out of the 2 wounds that landed from my Exarchs CC attacks only one could count as the diresword effect and the other my Pistol....

I honestly didn't know what to do with that so, I just went with one LD test for the unsaved wound. I couldn't find anything to dispute what he said but is that right? Special weapons or power weapon only count for half your attacks (with 2xCCW)? For 1 wound units like Ork boyz it isn't a big deal but what if they were Nobs or something that can take more wounds? That is 1+ less Power Weapon or Diresword effect. Is there a rule in the rulebook I've overlooked?
   
Made in au
[MOD]
Making Stuff






Under the couch

QuanQuan wrote:He was saying that out of the 2 wounds that landed from my Exarchs CC attacks only one could count as the diresword effect and the other my Pistol....


Does he also play Warhammer Fantasy, by any chance?

Because that's a rule over there (or used to be, at any rate)... but is not the case in 40K.

Rulebook, page 42 explains how this works. All of your attacks are resolved with the one sword's effects.
   
Made in us
Guarding Guardian



Virginia Beach, Virginia

Thanks a lot I found the page in the rulebook and shall point it out to him at the next opportunity I get.
   
Made in gb
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime







Just remember that this only applies to the bonus attack for having two close combat weapons. Special Attacks like Bio-Plasma do not benefit from this.

Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!)
 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: