Switch Theme:

A few little questions.  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in gb
Regular Dakkanaut




Scotland

Tank Shock
A tank, tank shocks a unit that has a Lascannon or similarly damaging weapon within it. The model is granted an automatic hit per the rules. Can the Tank be granted a cover save through use of a Kustom Force Field or similar piece of wargear?

Shooting from transports
Can a Vehicle and it's occupants shoot at diferent targets?

Are Imperial Guard and Witchhunter etc as broken as they seem?
Large Imperial combined squad and an Inquisitor Lord? with Null rod granting the entire combined squad immunity from Psychic powers?... Cosher?

   
Made in gb
Proud Phantom Titan







Q)Tank Shock
A tank, tank shocks a unit that has a Lascannon or similarly damaging weapon within it. The model is granted an automatic hit per the rules. Can the Tank be granted a cover save through use of a Kustom Force Field or similar piece of wargear?

A) Yes against ranged weapons no against CC weapons

Q)Shooting from transports
Can a Vehicle and it's occupants shoot at diferent targets?

A)Yes

Q)Are Imperial Guard and Witchhunter etc as broken as they seem?
Large Imperial combined squad and an Inquisitor Lord? with Null rod granting the entire combined squad immunity from Psychic powers?... Cosher?

A) The Null rod is DH not WH, It dose however block all psychic attacks (friend or foe). Inquisitor lords must have a retinue so can't join another unit till they are dead. You can how ever give it to a (elite) Ordo Malleus Inquisitor and join it to a unit.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2009/07/13 12:17:13


 
   
Made in au
Quick-fingered Warlord Moderatus






1. If you opt to use a ranged weapon for a Death or Glory attack the vehicle can still claim any valid cover saves such as the KFF. If it was a melee attack you could not take the cover save.

2. Yes, there is no reason for them not to be able to, so you follow the standard rules for firing from a vehicle allowing you to target whatever unit you wish. This is also supported by the Core Rulebook FAQ.

3. This seems to be totally valid, I really don't think being able to protect a large unit of stock guardsmen from psychic powers is that overpowered.

Interceptor Drones can disembark at any point during the Sun Shark's move (even though models cannot normally disembark from Zooming Flyers).


-Jeremy Vetock, only man at Games Workshop who understands Zooming Flyers 
   
Made in us
Heroic Senior Officer





Woodbridge, VA

Re the KFF, isn't there something about shooting attacks within 6" ignore the KFF? Or is that rule gone?

Don "MONDO"
www.ironfistleague.com
Northern VA/Southern MD 
   
Made in gb
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime







don_mondo wrote:Re the KFF, isn't there something about shooting attacks within 6" ignore the KFF? Or is that rule gone?
Ya that rule is gone.

Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!)
 
   
Made in us
Confessor Of Sins






Scranton

I'd like to add that the model with the lascannon can only fire it it is actually in the path of the tank shock. If it is not, and you are only tank shocking 2 small tac marines there is no worries.

 
   
Made in us
Foolproof Falcon Pilot





Somewhere in the unknown universe.

frgsinwntr wrote:I'd like to add that the model with the lascannon can only fire it it is actually in the path of the tank shock. If it is not, and you are only tank shocking 2 small tac marines there is no worries.


By "one of the models in the vehicle's path" (quoted from the rulebook), GW means "any member of a squad in it's path". This is because even if only one member of the squad is hit by the tank, th WHOLE squad it tank shocked, or "in the vehicle's path." Thusly, any member of the squad has the option of Death or Glory.

Manchu wrote:
Agamemnon2 wrote:
Congratulations, that was the stupidest remark the entire wargaming community has managed to produce in a long, long time.


Congratulations, your dismissive and conclusory commentary has provided nothing to this discussion or the wider community on whose behalf you arrogantly presume to speak nor does it engage in any meaningful way the remark it lamely targets. But you did manage to gain experience points toward your next level of internet tough guy.
 
   
Made in gb
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime







Exarch_Nektel wrote:
frgsinwntr wrote:I'd like to add that the model with the lascannon can only fire it it is actually in the path of the tank shock. If it is not, and you are only tank shocking 2 small tac marines there is no worries.


By "one of the models in the vehicle's path" (quoted from the rulebook), GW means "any member of a squad in it's path". This is because even if only one member of the squad is hit by the tank, th WHOLE squad it tank shocked, or "in the vehicle's path." Thusly, any member of the squad has the option of Death or Glory.
Actually, no it doesn't. Only the actual models in the path may DoG.

Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!)
 
   
Made in us
Foolproof Falcon Pilot





Somewhere in the unknown universe.

I think that this is one of the moments that GW needs to be clearer.

I'd call GW and ask, but they like to give different answers each time you call.

Manchu wrote:
Agamemnon2 wrote:
Congratulations, that was the stupidest remark the entire wargaming community has managed to produce in a long, long time.


Congratulations, your dismissive and conclusory commentary has provided nothing to this discussion or the wider community on whose behalf you arrogantly presume to speak nor does it engage in any meaningful way the remark it lamely targets. But you did manage to gain experience points toward your next level of internet tough guy.
 
   
Made in au
[MOD]
Making Stuff






Under the couch

Exarch_Nektel wrote:By "one of the models in the vehicle's path" (quoted from the rulebook), GW means "any member of a squad in it's path". This is because even if only one member of the squad is hit by the tank, th WHOLE squad it tank shocked, or "in the vehicle's path." Thusly, any member of the squad has the option of Death or Glory.


Nope, sorry. The squad is Tank Shocked, but only those models actually in the vehicle's path may DoG.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2009/07/13 21:54:36


 
   
Made in us
Been Around the Block




One question on all this -

If you allow the vehicle a cover save from a death or glory shooting attack, would a piece of wargear like Flechette Dischargers (sp?) work on a model that is making a close combat attack?
   
Made in gb
Proud Phantom Titan







cervidal wrote:One question on all this -

If you allow the vehicle a cover save from a death or glory shooting attack, would a piece of wargear like Flechette Dischargers (sp?) work on a model that is making a close combat attack?

Yes
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: