Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/07/13 19:54:58
Subject: A few quick Questions
|
 |
Krazy Grot Kutta Driva
|
Ok I have both flavours of Eldar and I have a number of queries.
1) Torture amps. It allows the DE vehicle to Tank Shock. What I want to know is does this allow ramming? As it is described as a type of tank shock in the rules.
2) Eldar jetbikes. They are allowed to move in the assault phase. Does this include after turbo boosting?
3) How do scaling nets work? The rule ties me in knots.
4) Do plasma grenades work in the new edition?
If I find any more I shall post them
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/07/13 20:01:20
Subject: Re:A few quick Questions
|
 |
Veteran Wolf Guard Squad Leader
|
2. i would say no as if you turbo boost you cannot do any over voluntary action that turn
4. they are assault grenades
can't help with 1+3
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/07/13 20:14:54
Subject: A few quick Questions
|
 |
Krazy Grot Kutta Driva
|
I think I should clarify 4
The DE rule says 'these grenades negate the effect of cover in close combat so that models strike in Initiative order.'
The BRB says that all models assaulting through cover 'have their initiative value lowered to 1.'
as far as I see there are two ways of interprting this.
A) Both sides strike at normal Initiative as the grenades 'negate cover'
B) They have no effect as the models initiative value is lowered to one.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/07/13 20:17:35
Subject: A few quick Questions
|
 |
Fanatic with Madcap Mushrooms
|
For number 4, I'd say A. Codex specifically says cover bonus is removed, hence normal I. Value Scaling Nets: Normally, a unit must embark on a vehicle at the beginning of it's movement phase (I.E. if the vehicle moves, you cannot embark on it) Scaling nets allow you to embark whenever. I'd say that all vehicles can Ram, as it doesn't say anywhere that it cannot.
|
This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2009/07/13 20:24:50
Some people play to win, some people play for fun. Me? I play to kill toy soldiers.
DR:90S++GMB++IPwh40k206#+D++A++/hWD350R+++T(S)DM+
WHFB, AoS, 40k, WM/H, Starship Troopers Miniatures, FoW
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/07/13 20:20:02
Subject: Re:A few quick Questions
|
 |
Veteran Wolf Guard Squad Leader
|
also in the BRB plasma grenades come under assault grenades, so unless you are playing gwar or someone similar i would say that they work
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/07/14 03:28:00
Subject: A few quick Questions
|
 |
Sickening Carrion
Wa. state
|
Cryonicleech wrote:
I'd say that all vehicles can Ram, as it doesn't say anywhere that it cannot.
Check the DE FAQ
"Q. Does a torture amp allow a Raider to ram
other vehicles?
A. No."
|
Who are all these people, and why aren't they dead? |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/07/14 04:37:09
Subject: A few quick Questions
|
 |
[MOD]
Making Stuff
|
Cryonicleech wrote:I'd say that all vehicles can Ram, as it doesn't say anywhere that it cannot.
' Doesn't say I can't' does not a rule make.
Ramming is a type of Tank Shock. Only Tanks can Tank Shock.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/07/14 05:41:59
Subject: Re:A few quick Questions
|
 |
Ship's Officer
|
Ramming is a type of Tank Shock. Only Tanks can Tank Shock.
I was *sure* this wasn't the case... until I actually read the BRB ( pg.68 for the curious).
Absolutely true, the entire section that talks about Tank Shock and Ramming starts out with a description of Tanks in the 41st millennium and continues to describe both Tank Shock and Ramming as Tank-only actions. You can Ram a non-tank, but a non-tank may never Ram.
I most definitely learned something new, thanks Insaniak!
DoW
|
"War. War never changes." - Fallout
4000pts
3000pts
1000pts
2500pts |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/07/14 06:28:30
Subject: A few quick Questions
|
 |
Focused Fire Warrior
|
yani wrote:I think I should clarify 4
The DE rule says 'these grenades negate the effect of cover in close combat so that models strike in Initiative order.'
The BRB says that all models assaulting through cover 'have their initiative value lowered to 1.'
as far as I see there are two ways of interprting this.
A) Both sides strike at normal Initiative as the grenades 'negate cover'
B) They have no effect as the models initiative value is lowered to one.
Why? Both the rule book and the codex agree that when you have assault grenades you don't take a penalty to the initiative. Why would they have no affect when the BRB and the Codex agree? It's defiantly A.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2009/07/14 06:29:49
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/07/14 10:46:13
Subject: A few quick Questions
|
 |
Krazy Grot Kutta Driva
|
Thanks thats cleared up Number 4.
With number one the Torture amp says 'A vehicle with a Torture amp is able to tank shock even though it is not a tank.' As said before does this allow ramming?
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/07/14 11:45:23
Subject: A few quick Questions
|
 |
Loyal Necron Lychguard
|
Does not allow ramming. Ramming isn't a tank shock, and the DE FAQ forbids it anyway.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/07/14 15:42:15
Subject: A few quick Questions
|
 |
Quick-fingered Warlord Moderatus
|
yani wrote:Ok I have both flavours of Eldar and I have a number of queries.
1) Torture amps. It allows the DE vehicle to Tank Shock. What I want to know is does this allow ramming? As it is described as a type of tank shock in the rules.
The DE FAQ specifically addresses this, no they may not ram
2) Eldar jetbikes. They are allowed to move in the assault phase. Does this include after turbo boosting?
The turbo-boost rules cover this by forbidding them from undertaking "any other voluntary action in the same turn" as they use the boosters.
3) How do scaling nets work? The rule ties me in knots.
They allow you to move the vehicle both before AND after a unit embarks/disembarks, rather than just one or the other, you cannot move over 12" while taking advantage of this, nor can the unit move in the same movement phase as they intend to embark using this.
4) Do plasma grenades work in the new edition?
Yes, all offensive grenades now function the way plasma grenades always have, the dark eldar have rules in thier own codex for plasma grenades anyway so they default to what the codex says, I can't find rules for plasma grenades in the Eldar codex but they will definitely function like normal assault grenades in 5th edition.
|
Interceptor Drones can disembark at any point during the Sun Shark's move (even though models cannot normally disembark from Zooming Flyers).
-Jeremy Vetock, only man at Games Workshop who understands Zooming Flyers |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/07/14 15:50:52
Subject: A few quick Questions
|
 |
Foolproof Falcon Pilot
Somewhere in the unknown universe.
|
2. No
4. Yes
|
Manchu wrote:Agamemnon2 wrote:
Congratulations, that was the stupidest remark the entire wargaming community has managed to produce in a long, long time.
Congratulations, your dismissive and conclusory commentary has provided nothing to this discussion or the wider community on whose behalf you arrogantly presume to speak nor does it engage in any meaningful way the remark it lamely targets. But you did manage to gain experience points toward your next level of internet tough guy. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/07/14 22:49:16
Subject: A few quick Questions
|
 |
Krazy Grot Kutta Driva
|
Thanks guys
Was a little confused as I read some battle reports where some of this stuff was mentioned
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/07/15 04:18:08
Subject: A few quick Questions
|
 |
Lieutenant General
|
MasterSlowPoke wrote:Does not allow ramming. Ramming isn't a tank shock, and the DE FAQ forbids it anyway.
Ramming is a special type of Tank Shock. Without the FAQ, Ramming would have been allowed.
|
'It is a source of constant consternation that my opponents cannot correlate their innate inferiority with their inevitable defeat. It would seem that stupidity is as eternal as war.'
- Nemesor Zahndrekh of the Sautekh Dynasty Overlord of the Crownworld of Gidrim |
|
 |
 |
|