| Author |
Message |
 |
|
|
 |
|
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/07/14 14:19:04
Subject: Few quick DE questions.
|
 |
Wicked Warp Spider
|
The Volley shot for the Reaper bolt thrower is Str 4, armour saves at a -2. Just looking for clarification as my friend argued that it would be a -3 as Str 4 is -1 and it says -2 but doesn't say they don't stack (He plays scaven and was using this agument for his rattling guns as well...). I think its -2 but figured I'de ask before our next game.
Would the Crystal of Midnight work against a Warplock Engineer (who's magic comes from a wargear item iirc?)
Crystal of Midnight - makes the nominated wizard take a ld test on 3d6 and if failed it looses a spell for the rest of the game.
Edit:
Is a Scaly Skin Save the same thing as an armour save? Or does it just function like an armour save (can be negativly modified, ignored, etc...)
|
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2009/07/14 14:40:09
"I suppose if we couldn't laugh at things that don't make sence, we couldn't react to a lot of life." - Calvin and Hobbes
DukeRustfield - There's nothing wrong with beer and pretzels. I'm pretty sure they are the most important members of the food group. |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/07/14 15:29:22
Subject: Few quick DE questions.
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
-2: it gives you the entire Armour Penetration for the bolt thrower in one summary.
He knows the spell same as any other wizard, the wargear gives him the abiltiy to cast it...
Scaly skin Functions exactly the same as Armour, however stacks with light armour etc as it is a "seperate suit" - so indeed it can be ignored, reduced by strength, etc.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/07/14 19:40:13
Subject: Few quick DE questions.
|
 |
Fanatic with Madcap Mushrooms
|
I'm pretty sure it's minus 3.
Basic S4 with additional AP -2.
Same thing with the Organ Gun.
Basic S5 with an AP -3.
Can't answer Crystal Question.
Scaly Skin is an additional save that acts like regular armor.
(I.E. a Sarus Warrior has a 5+ Scaly Skin save. If you give him a HW and Shield, he'll have a 3+ save)
|
Some people play to win, some people play for fun. Me? I play to kill toy soldiers.
DR:90S++GMB++IPwh40k206#+D++A++/hWD350R+++T(S)DM+
WHFB, AoS, 40k, WM/H, Starship Troopers Miniatures, FoW
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/07/14 19:51:31
Subject: Few quick DE questions.
|
 |
[SWAP SHOP MOD]
Barpharanges
|
No, it's -2 to save, the S4 is already taken into account. (Effectively S4 w/ Armour piercing).
|
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/07/14 20:46:21
Subject: Few quick DE questions.
|
 |
Fanatic with Madcap Mushrooms
|
Oh, alright then.
Haven't played my DE army in a while.....
|
Some people play to win, some people play for fun. Me? I play to kill toy soldiers.
DR:90S++GMB++IPwh40k206#+D++A++/hWD350R+++T(S)DM+
WHFB, AoS, 40k, WM/H, Starship Troopers Miniatures, FoW
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/07/14 23:21:02
Subject: Few quick DE questions.
|
 |
Poxed Plague Monk
North Wales
|
The Warp Lightning/Crystal question is tricky, I'm tempted to go with Nosferatu on this one (he's usually right :p) but something is niggling at the back of my mind, as far as I can see, Warp Blades not only give the spell but contain it also - you could rule it either way, the logical answer is yes, the Crystal can delete the spell, but I'd dice it off if any questions arise.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/07/14 23:38:25
Subject: Few quick DE questions.
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
I'm not usually right, I just shout louder and more often
I haven't got the skaven book to hand, last I remember is that the blades allow the wizard to cast the spell, not give him the knowledge. I'll check when I get the chance.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/07/15 00:38:32
Subject: Few quick DE questions.
|
 |
Poxed Plague Monk
North Wales
|
Warp-Blades:
'The warp-blades give the bearer +1 strength and allow him to cast the Warp Lightning spell through them. Note that this only provides the knowledge of the spell, but the payer must spend Power dice to cast the spell as normal.'
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/07/15 03:51:26
Subject: Re:Few quick DE questions.
|
 |
Superior Stormvermin
|
You run into the same problem with miscasts as well. Some miscast results cause the wizard to lose the spell. In my own experience, most opponents agree that the Engineers don't 'know' the spell to begin with. Since the miscast doesn't affect the equipment, the engineer doesn't lose his spell.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/07/15 04:21:00
Subject: Few quick DE questions.
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
So, an Exalted Hero with the Book of Secrets can't lose whatever spell he gets as a result?
What rule makes anyone think that a Warlock Engineer can't lose his Warp Lightning as a result of Miscast?
Fielded basic, he knows 0 spells. Buy him Warp Blades, and he knows 1 spell. You can easily argue that the Miscast shorts out the blades, or that the Crystal of Midnight interferes in some fashion.
|
She/Her
"There are no problems that cannot be solved with cannons." - Chief Engineer Boris Krauss of Nuln
LatheBiosas wrote:I have such a difficult time hitting my opponents... setting them on fire seems so much simpler.
Kid_Kyoto wrote:"Don't be a dick" and "This is a family wargame" are good rules of thumb.
DR:80S++G++M--B+IPwhfb01#+D+++A+++/fWD258R++T(D)DM+++
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/07/15 07:34:28
Subject: Few quick DE questions.
|
 |
Raging Ravener
|
As the Skaven player here this would be affecting...
I'm inclined to say that because the blades gives him the knowledge of the spell, as soon as he looses it, he would regain it. Nothing would cause the warp blades to stop functioning and not give the spell right back to him.
|
"I am the crash of blades, and the furry of the storm. There is no shelter from my wrath, and no reprieve from my judgment." --Unknown (but it sure sounded cool) |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/07/15 14:42:50
Subject: Few quick DE questions.
|
 |
Wicked Warp Spider
|
Shamfrit wrote:Warp-Blades:
'The warp-blades give the bearer +1 strength and allow him to cast the Warp Lightning spell through them. Note that this only provides the knowledge of the spell, but the payer must spend Power dice to cast the spell as normal.'
So its not a bound spell right? (just looking for clarification)
Also did I just find a grey area in the rules or is it just that the scaven codex is poorly written?
|
"I suppose if we couldn't laugh at things that don't make sence, we couldn't react to a lot of life." - Calvin and Hobbes
DukeRustfield - There's nothing wrong with beer and pretzels. I'm pretty sure they are the most important members of the food group. |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/07/15 17:42:37
Subject: Few quick DE questions.
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
It's not a bound spell, it gives the user the ability to cast, as normal, a spell.
SKaven is not a badly written book, it's just not every combination is taken into account.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/07/17 03:38:45
Subject: Re:Few quick DE questions.
|
 |
Wicked Warp Spider
|
A few more questions:
What version of Warp Lightning does the item allow you to cast (or can you choose)?
Do you have to take multiple terror tests if charged by 2 terror causing creatures?
If you have 2 terror causing creatures withing 6" at the start of your turn do you take 2 tests or 1?
Finally, If a unit charges a fleeing unit and catches them the fleeing unit is destoryed if that same charging unit then comes in contatct with another fleeing unit does that fleeing unit get a chance to regroup in its turn or do they still just flee? (does this make any sense)?
|
"I suppose if we couldn't laugh at things that don't make sence, we couldn't react to a lot of life." - Calvin and Hobbes
DukeRustfield - There's nothing wrong with beer and pretzels. I'm pretty sure they are the most important members of the food group. |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/07/17 03:51:37
Subject: Re:Few quick DE questions.
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
Casper wrote:A few more questions:
1) What version of Warp Lightning does the item allow you to cast (or can you choose)?
2) Do you have to take multiple terror tests if charged by 2 terror causing creatures?
3) If you have 2 terror causing creatures withing 6" at the start of your turn do you take 2 tests or 1?
4) Finally, If a unit charges a fleeing unit and catches them the fleeing unit is destoryed if that same charging unit then comes in contatct with another fleeing unit does that fleeing unit get a chance to regroup in its turn or do they still just flee? (does this make any sense)?
1) I'm actually not sure what the question here is...
2) A unit will only ever take 1 Terror test per game. If charged by more than one Terror-causing unit, test for Terror against the first declared charger. If the test is passed, test for Fear against the second unit.
3) One test, as above. If the test is failed, I believe you would flee from the higher US.
4) If a fleeing unit is charged, it automatically elects Flee! as a charge reaction. If its flee move is insufficient to get it away from the chargers, the unit is destroyed and the charges go their full charge move. If this move is sufficient to bring it into contact with another fleeing unit, it counts as a new charge, which gets its own reaction (which will be Flee!). Rinse and repeat.
|
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2009/07/17 03:53:33
She/Her
"There are no problems that cannot be solved with cannons." - Chief Engineer Boris Krauss of Nuln
LatheBiosas wrote:I have such a difficult time hitting my opponents... setting them on fire seems so much simpler.
Kid_Kyoto wrote:"Don't be a dick" and "This is a family wargame" are good rules of thumb.
DR:80S++G++M--B+IPwhfb01#+D+++A+++/fWD258R++T(D)DM+++
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/07/17 05:49:23
Subject: Few quick DE questions.
|
 |
Raging Ravener
|
1) Warp Lightning is one spell, though it has two values 5+ and 9+ to cast at. The war gear just gives you the spell, so you may pick what value to cast.
|
"I am the crash of blades, and the furry of the storm. There is no shelter from my wrath, and no reprieve from my judgment." --Unknown (but it sure sounded cool) |
|
|
 |
 |
|
|