Switch Theme:

Monolith PIE!  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Tail-spinning Tomb Blade Pilot





All kinds of places at once

After several experiences playing against people who disagree with me, I thought I'd ask people here what they thought about the following situations (note that I did search the board, and the answers I found were not quite satisfactory for me):

A monolith's particle whip blast lands with its center on a Vendetta's wing. Does the wing count as part of the hull? If so, is the blast str9 ap1?

A monolith's particle whip blast lands with its center hole over both a warboss on a bike as well as a battlewagon. Do they both take a s9 ap1 hit? Or does only the unit targeted take the hit?

I believe these both have the obvious answer of "yes" but wanted to see what you thought.

~Kitzz

Check out my project, 41.0, which aims to completely rewrite 40k!


Yngir theme song:
I get knocked down, but I get up again, you're never gonna keep me down; I get knocked down...

Lordhat wrote:Just because the codexes are the exactly the same, does not mean that that they're the same codex.
 
   
Made in us
Tough-as-Nails Ork Boy





Vehicle hulls are never clearly defined in the rules. The reason you were unsatisfied with the answers you found are because there is no real answer, you have to work out what defines a hull with your opponent/TO.

Any model under the hole takes a S9 AP1 hit, though the 2 models would have to be within about 1/4" of each other and you would have to land the marker perfectly, so I can't see it coming up very often. Remember, when you place blast markers, you have to center them over a model before scattering.
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut




There is some debate if the wing counts as hull. I believe it does.

I am not sure how the hole can be over a warboss and a battlewagon...unless the warboss is in the battlewagon.
If that is the case, only the vehicle takes a hit.
   
Made in us
Tail-spinning Tomb Blade Pilot





All kinds of places at once

Both of these situations actually occured, and I caved to both opponents to keep the game rolling. I intentionally aim my templates so that if the opponent puts his units too close together, I can take advantage of his mistake. As such, this situation comes up roughly 1/3 of the time my opponent does this, so it is an issue.

Check out my project, 41.0, which aims to completely rewrite 40k!


Yngir theme song:
I get knocked down, but I get up again, you're never gonna keep me down; I get knocked down...

Lordhat wrote:Just because the codexes are the exactly the same, does not mean that that they're the same codex.
 
   
Made in us
Heroic Senior Officer





Woodbridge, VA

Deffgob wrote:. Remember, when you place blast markers, you have to center them over a model before scattering.


No, you don't. The center hole has to be over an enemy model, but it does not have to be centered on that enemy model.

Don "MONDO"
www.ironfistleague.com
Northern VA/Southern MD 
   
Made in us
Tough-as-Nails Ork Boy







don_mondo wrote:
No, you don't. The center hole has to be over an enemy model, but it does not have to be centered on that enemy model.

The blast rules tell you to choose one model and place the template so that the hole is over it's base (or hull) and the diagram shows quite clearly that the hole is entirely over the base of the target model. You can't place it so that the hole itself is over more than one, as the rules say to pick one target model.
   
Made in us
Heroic Senior Officer





Woodbridge, VA

Deffgob: OK, no problem with that statement. I agree that the only way the center hole could be on two models is for it to scatter to that location.

But that's not what you said in your previous post. You stated that the hole had to be centered on the target model, centered, as in placed as close to the middle of the target model as possible. That's all I was disagreeing with. The hole can be placed on the corner of the vehicle, so long as the hole is still on the vehicle. See what I'm saying?

Don "MONDO"
www.ironfistleague.com
Northern VA/Southern MD 
   
Made in us
Sinewy Scourge





Long Island, New York, USA

The blast marker just has to be placed so that the hole is over the base of the target or it's hull if a vehicle. It cna be anywhere over the base or the hull that you choose, so long as you comply with the rest of the rules (range, friendly models).
As far as a wing bieng part of a hull, I play that it is. The rules on page 56 don't necessarily define the hull, but they do say to ignore certain things (gun barrels and antennas, etc). They don't specify the wings and I always consider them to be part of the hull, but as Deffgob said, it's best to clarify this with your opponent before play.

TW

I have found again and again that in encounter actions, the day goes to the side that is the first to plaster its opponent with fire. The man who lies low and awaits developments usually comes off second best. - Erwin Rommel
"For having lived long, I have experienced many instances of being obliged, by better information or fuller consideration, to change opinions, even on important subjects, which I once thought right but found to be otherwise." - Benjamin Franklin
 
   
Made in nl
Blood-Drenched Death Company Marine





The Netherlands

I would say wings are part of the hull. After all, a damaged wing would make a slightly larger impact on a plane than shooting an antenna of a tank.

   
Made in ca
Fresh-Faced New User




I would say they are -not- the hull. The hull of something is the main body. Think of the Vendetta/valkrye as a bird. The wing are limbs extending from the main body.

So, I don't think the wings are part of the hull. Part of the unit, yes, part of the hull, no.
   
Made in au
Trustworthy Shas'vre






Personally I think they are hull.
To counter the bird/body example: the 'body' of an infantry model is defined as any limbs, its torso or its head. They're still pretty damn important to keep the body working Antennas, banners, commander's noses and paraphernalia aren't essential.

Now what is REALLY interesting is if a model was under the wing, and the wing directly above said model was hit by your template weapon....

   
Made in us
Devestating Grey Knight Dreadknight






Anyone who says that a Vendetta's wings are not it's hull must be playing with a lot of vendettas. To draw LOS on a vehicle you must only see ANY part of the model. Why would the wing not be considered part of the hull? If you blow the wing off of a skimmer it goes down in flames. Why would hits against the wings of a skimmer be ignored?

DQ:70+S++G+M-B+I+Pw40k93+ID++A+/eWD156R++T(T)DM++


 
   
Made in ca
Irked Necron Immortal





Also I think a problem with not considering wings as hull, is that aren't their weapons ON the wings?
If so, you would be able to park the craft behind a larger piece of solid terrain, and then shoot without being able to be shot AT...

7000 pts (Not including Gauss Pylon Network)
Alpharius wrote:Meltdown at the Nuclear Over-reactor!
Run! Run! RUN!
Unit1126PLL wrote:Everything is a gunline. Khorne berzerkers have pistols? Gunline unit. Tanks can't assault? They're all, every last one, a gunline. Planes? Gunline. Motorcycles? Mobile gunline. Mono-Khorne daemons? Bloodthirster has shooting attack. Gunline.
 
   
Made in us
Stubborn Temple Guard






Eight Ball wrote:Also I think a problem with not considering wings as hull, is that aren't their weapons ON the wings?
If so, you would be able to park the craft behind a larger piece of solid terrain, and then shoot without being able to be shot AT...


Good point.

I would say wings are perfectly valid, because it is a flying object. Without the wings, it does not fly.

If they don't matter, then don't model them on to give yourself the advantage. How well do you see THAT going over in a tourney?

27th Member of D.O.O.M.F.A.R.T.
Resident Battletech Guru. 
   
Made in ca
Gimlet-Eyed Inquisitorial Acolyte



Around Montreal

I would say wings are part of the hull.
If you get an immobilized result, it's most likely a wing you damaged anyway.
If you get other results, well.. the wing asplode and damaged the other thing?
*shrugs*
I guess my point is damaging a wing damages the vehicle, it's not like it's a part it can do without easily.

Kill the Heretic! Burn the Witch! Purge the Unclean! Exterminate the Mutant! Eviscerate the Traitor! Pwn the Noobs! 
   
Made in us
Tough-as-Nails Ork Boy





don_mondo wrote:You stated that the hole had to be centered on the target model, centered, as in placed as close to the middle of the target model as possible. That's all I was disagreeing with. The hole can be placed on the corner of the vehicle, so long as the hole is still on the vehicle. See what I'm saying?

ok, looking back, I did phrase that poorly, but what I meant from the start was that the center has to be fully over 1 model.

As for the whole wings thing, I think I agree with most players when I say that the wing is a part of the hull, but as I said before, the rules simply do not define "hull." If you get into an argument with someone, you really don't have much of a choice but to 4+ it. That, or don't play with people who want to interpret fuzzy rules for ridiculous advantages.
   
Made in us
Ancient Chaos Terminator





Deep in the Woods

Just ask your opponent if he/she thinks a 747 would fly(correctly) with a huge gapping, molten hole blasted in its wing. If he/she say's "Yes it should fly just fine.", pack up your models and get the heck out of there, because a Logic Bomb is gona go off somewhere very close to your location.

"I have traveled trough the Realm of Death and brought back novelty pencils"
 GamesWorkshop wrote:
And I would have gotten away with it too, if it weren't for you meddling kids!

Oh, somewhere in this favored land the sun is shining bright;
the band is playing somewhere and somewhere hearts are light,and somewhere men are laughing, and somewhere children shout but there is no joy in Mudville — mighty Casey has struck out. 
   
Made in ca
Focused Fire Warrior




Nicorex wrote:Just ask your opponent if he/she thinks a 747 would fly(correctly) with a huge gapping, molten hole blasted in its wing. If he/she say's "Yes it should fly just fine.", pack up your models and get the heck out of there, because a Logic Bomb is gona go off somewhere very close to your location.


A-10's do it . They can fly with less than half their wings blown off (as long as the engine is still attached). That being said...It's still part of the model and i'd say it's part of the hull

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2009/07/18 06:45:26


 
   
Made in us
Fresh-Faced New User




Though I am new to this forum, here is a little video clip that might shed some light on those of you that do not believe that the wing is not part of the hull when when taking a hit. Take a look and see if you can still justify that the wing is not part of the hull and will take a full strenght hit from a wepon and not a half strenght hit.


   
Made in us
Khorne Rhino Driver with Destroyer





umm there is a remark about defilers and what counts as the hull for them and legs being stretched out as long as you can measure to any part of the model basicly not there for just modeling purposes it counts as a hit for instance you can easily cut that annoyingly flimsy antenea off your tank or the flag off the top of your dreadnought...but you cannot cut the wings of your valks in the same way i cannot claim my space marines heads are poking out of the base saying there in sand and that they simply swim through the sand at all times

 
   
Made in us
Da Head Honcho Boss Grot





Minnesota

Don't Valks need the thrusters at the tips of the wings to hover?

I'd say that makes them pretty important. (I'm not sure about the tail though.)

Anuvver fing - when they do sumfing, they try to make it look like somfink else to confuse everybody. When one of them wants to lord it over the uvvers, 'e says "I'm very speshul so'z you gotta worship me", or "I know summink wot you lot don't know, so yer better lissen good". Da funny fing is, arf of 'em believe it and da over arf don't, so 'e 'as to hit 'em all anyway or run fer it.
 
   
Made in us
Guard Heavy Weapon Crewman






Let me look at it from another angle. Hull is a synonym for fuselage, the main body of the aircraft (Not including the wings).

GW really, really, needs to put out an IG FAQ. In the meantime, just discuss the issue beforehand with your opponent or with the tournament judges. Roll off on the issue if you must.

 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: