Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/07/16 00:58:28
Subject: Ramming question
|
 |
Huge Bone Giant
|
Or movement question in general really for vehicles really, as I play Tyranids I miss some of this rather often.
Can you move sideways or backwards?
This came up regarding an Ork player ramming specifically intending to destroy his own vehicle so his Orks got to disembark, etc.
"Why don't you ram with your rear armor, then?"
Only odd looks were returned.
I know its logical, even RAI that vehicles move with the front armor facing forward, is it RAW that they have to?
Ramming even says use the relevant facings on the Ram . . . if Front had to be used, would that not have come up?
shrug
|
"It is not the bullet with your name on it that should worry you, it's the one labeled "To whom it may concern. . ."
DQ:70S++G+++MB+I+Pwhfb06+D++A+++/aWD-R++++T(D)DM+ |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/07/16 01:22:06
Subject: Ramming question
|
 |
[MOD]
Making Stuff
|
kirsanth wrote:Or movement question in general really for vehicles really, as I play Tyranids I miss some of this rather often.
Can you move sideways or backwards?
The normal movement rules for vehicles do not specify any specific direction for movement. While the section detailing turning the vehicle hints that they're intended for vehicles to be facing their direction of movement, it's never actually specified.
For Tank Shock (and by extension Ramming, since it uses the same movement rules) the rules do actually state that the tank is turned to face the relevant direction and moved directly forwards.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/07/16 12:55:52
Subject: Ramming question
|
 |
Shas'la with Pulse Carbine
Tau Player
|
And when describing the hit each vehicle takes, it does state (in brackets) that for the rammer this would always be against the front armour.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/07/16 14:44:34
Subject: Re:Ramming question
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
Insaniak has it right, the Tank SHock/Ramming rules state that you face the direction you intend on moving and declare how far your going to move. No turning or backing up.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/07/16 16:18:17
Subject: Ramming question
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
You can't ram your own vehicles.
|
Your Grandmaster is the only good leprechaun that remains, all the others turned to whiskey. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/07/16 16:26:35
Subject: Ramming question
|
 |
Huge Bone Giant
|
orkcommander wrote:You can't ram your own vehicles.
As true as it is irrelevant.
Anyway, to the folks who actually read it, thanks! I knew I was missing something.
I do see why I was questioning it after re-reading the whole part a few times also though.
"Turn the vehicle on the spot in the direction you intend to move it" seems to way too vague.
|
"It is not the bullet with your name on it that should worry you, it's the one labeled "To whom it may concern. . ."
DQ:70S++G+++MB+I+Pwhfb06+D++A+++/aWD-R++++T(D)DM+ |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/07/16 16:42:23
Subject: Ramming question
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
kirsanth wrote:
This came up regarding an Ork player ramming specifically intending to destroy his own vehicle so his Orks got to disembark, etc.
shrug
It sounded like he wants to ram his own vehicle to me.
|
Your Grandmaster is the only good leprechaun that remains, all the others turned to whiskey. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/07/16 16:48:08
Subject: Ramming question
|
 |
Huge Bone Giant
|
OH OH OH.
My apologies. I understand what you meant now.
He wanted to ram his truck (iirc?) into a land raider.
He had embarked orks first, and wanted to get them back out again - as I saw it.
|
"It is not the bullet with your name on it that should worry you, it's the one labeled "To whom it may concern. . ."
DQ:70S++G+++MB+I+Pwhfb06+D++A+++/aWD-R++++T(D)DM+ |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/07/16 16:57:09
Subject: Ramming question
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
I see what you're saying now.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2009/07/16 16:57:37
Your Grandmaster is the only good leprechaun that remains, all the others turned to whiskey. |
|
 |
 |
|