Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/07/20 17:44:42
Subject: Can you take multiple dedicated transports?
|
 |
Battlewagon Driver with Charged Engine
somewhere in the northern side of the beachball
|
I think the topic speaks for itself.
|
Every time I hear "in my opinion" or "just my opinion" makes me want to strangle a puppy. People use their opinions as a shield that other poeple can't critisize and that is bs.
If you can't defend or won't defend your opinion then that "opinion" is bs. Stop trying to tip-toe and defend what you believe in. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/07/20 17:46:58
Subject: Can you take multiple dedicated transports?
|
 |
Nasty Nob
|
No
|
"Just pull it out and play with it" -Big Nasty B @ Life After the Cover Save
40k: Orks
Fantasy: Empire, Beastmen, Warriors of Chaos, and Ogre Kingdoms |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/07/20 20:59:15
Subject: Can you take multiple dedicated transports?
|
 |
Battlewagon Driver with Charged Engine
somewhere in the northern side of the beachball
|
Why not?
|
Every time I hear "in my opinion" or "just my opinion" makes me want to strangle a puppy. People use their opinions as a shield that other poeple can't critisize and that is bs.
If you can't defend or won't defend your opinion then that "opinion" is bs. Stop trying to tip-toe and defend what you believe in. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/07/20 21:08:24
Subject: Re:Can you take multiple dedicated transports?
|
 |
Infiltrating Broodlord
|
For one unit? No. They may have A dedicated transport.
The army though can have multiple dedicated transports, yes.
|
Tyranids
Chaos Space Marines
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/07/20 21:09:48
Subject: Can you take multiple dedicated transports?
|
 |
Huge Bone Giant
|
It does not say you can for one unit, anywhere.
Also, the dedicated transport listings I see state "may choose a" not "may choose some" nor "may choose an armada of" the listed option.
|
"It is not the bullet with your name on it that should worry you, it's the one labeled "To whom it may concern. . ."
DQ:70S++G+++MB+I+Pwhfb06+D++A+++/aWD-R++++T(D)DM+ |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/07/20 21:25:22
Subject: Can you take multiple dedicated transports?
|
 |
Nasty Nob
|
Ok a very basic example:
Space Marine Tactical Squad
*May select a Rhino or a Razorback. If the squad numbers ten models, may take a Drop Pod.
--> Today I read a post saying that due "fuzzy" language this means that you make take a Drop Pod as well. If anything I would argue that Grammar Gnomes stole the important 'or' factor. I see this as a tactical squad (regardless of size) may take a Rhino, Razorback, or (in the case of a 10 man Squad) take a Drop Pod.
Sternguard Veteran Squad
*May select a Drop Pod, Rhino, or Razorback.
-->'or' indicates that you may select one of the three options. This format for Dedicated Transports is used by the following unit(s) Command Squad, Honor Guard Squad, Assault Squad, Vanguard Veteran Squad, and Devastator Squad. IIRC Spehss Mahreens have the most Dedicated Transport options.
By all accounts one could come to the reasonable conclusion that only one DT can be selected. In the example of the SM there is one unit with questionable options, but I believe that to be a literary accident and not the exception to the rule.
|
"Just pull it out and play with it" -Big Nasty B @ Life After the Cover Save
40k: Orks
Fantasy: Empire, Beastmen, Warriors of Chaos, and Ogre Kingdoms |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/07/20 22:52:46
Subject: Re:Can you take multiple dedicated transports?
|
 |
Swift Swooping Hawk
|
The only exception that Im aware of is the SM tactical squads, since they did write the transport optons there very poorly. Every other squad they give an OR choice for transport options. For tactical squads they had to get fancy and throw in a limit of only taking drop pods for full 10 man squads and put that limit in a new sentence. This does mean that by RAW a SM tactical squad can take a rhino or razorback AND a drop pod if they are a full squad.
It is almost certain that by RAI they meant it to be another or choice; but then there is the apoc battle formation which is just empty drop pods used as gun platforms so perhaps its meant to offer vanilla SM another option for fire support.
Sliggoth
|
Why does my eldar army run three fire prisms? Because the rules wont let me use four in (regular 40k). |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/07/21 14:53:09
Subject: Can you take multiple dedicated transports?
|
 |
Nasty Nob
|
Yeah but that is Apocalypse. If I want to i can have an entire army of Tyranid Spore mines if I want to.
I think you're missing the point. Yes if we want to follow RAW to a fault, well then of course Tactical Squads can take a Rhino and a Drop Pod, but then again look at pg 131 of C:SM, the Chapter Champion has the option to take Digital Lasers. Sounds great except there is no such thing as Digital Lasers, if we are going to be anal about RAW then whoever pays for the Digital Lasers doesn't get to use them (since there is no information on Digital Lasers). Of course if one is reasonable they would "assume" that the Codex writer(s) meant to write Digital Weapons and that they intended to restrict the Dedicated Transport options to a Rhino, Razorback, or (in the case that a Tactical Squad numbers a 10 man squad) take a Drop Pod.
Now that I think of it if we are going to be hardcore RAW then you shouldn't be able to split the Tactical Squad into Combat Squads since the squad would no longer be one 10 man squad, but two 5 man squads.
I see what you're saying, but you can only take RAW so far.
|
"Just pull it out and play with it" -Big Nasty B @ Life After the Cover Save
40k: Orks
Fantasy: Empire, Beastmen, Warriors of Chaos, and Ogre Kingdoms |
|
 |
 |
|