Switch Theme:

Instant death and already wounded models  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Been Around the Block




Tampa, Fl, USA

Ok, so if a uniquely wargeared unit of nob bikers already has a few models with wounds and some without (taken in the shooting phase) and are hit by one powerfist attack that wounds with S8+ (which is instant death for T4(5) bikers) is the ork player allowed to allocate the wound to a unique model that has one wound on it, or is the player forced to put it on an unwounded model.
   
Made in gb
Stalwart Veteran Guard Sergeant






West Sussex, England

I think it has to be an unwounded model because if I remember right the player allocates wounds until all have a wound on them, then repeats the process. I don't have my book with me though, so I can't say for certain.

Play:
2000 Points 
1000 Points
1000 Points

 
   
Made in au
Shas'la with Pulse Carbine




Tau Player

You can allocate it to a unique model that already has a wound, yes. If there was another model identical to that one in the squad, with all its wounds left, then you would be forced to remove the less wounded of the two.




 
   
Made in au
Brainless Servitor




Sydney Australia

on multi wound models you may give wounds out to any model if they are unique but if they are the same then they die... dea that is lol.

It is at tough one though and you need to read the wording of taking wounds and armour saves very carefully!

nup no siggy for you my freind.

Instead I have

7000
1000  
   
Made in de
Fresh-Faced New User




The 5e rules states that whole models must be removed where possible. Meaning, you cant spread out wounds.

Pg 26, 4th paragraph on the right.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2009/07/21 14:22:34


 
   
Made in us
Lead-Footed Trukkboy Driver





If they are all identical, then you can allocate the ID wound to one of the wound groups which already has a wound.

But, if two of the nobs were identical and one of them was wounded and one was not and you allocated the ID wound to their wound group, you would remove the unwounded model for the ID wound.

Clear as mud?
   
Made in gb
Morphing Obliterator





Most of the above is untrue.

When you deal wounds to a unit (rolling on majority toughness) the opposing player can choose to allocate the wounds to any model he wishes. You allocate wounds to individual models and there are no restrictions on which models you must allocate them to, except that each model in the unit must be allocated one wound at the same time before you can allocate a model more than one. These dont carry over between batches of wounds because once a saving throws are taken there are no wounds allocated, wounds have been dealt.

After this you take saves for the identical models in the unit at the same time. Whole models must be removed where possible, but only if there is a choice between removing a model and dealing a wound to an identical model.

So if a fully complex unit of nobs, some with only 1 wound remaining, was hit by a powerfist, it would be up the the nobs controlling player to allocate wounds as he wishes, so long as he allocates a wound to each model for this set of wounds before he can allocate a second to a model.

Its a little complicated but that is how it works.
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut




Regwon FTW.
   
Made in us
Stealthy Dark Angels Scout with Shotgun






Not sure why you said most of the above in untrue, and then restate what was already said.

---
4000+ Dark Angels
4000+ Eldar
4000+ Bad Moon Orks
3000 High Elves
3000 Orcs & Goblins
 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




Dakka Dan - he didn't.

ID forces you to remove *unwounded models* from the *group the wound was assigned to* - however nothing forces you to actually assign the wound to a group with unwounded models as long as you have other groups it can be assigned to.

So you can have 1 nob on 1 wound, and 1 nob with different equipment on 2 wounds. They are two groups, and so you can put the ID wound (as it is just a normal wound at this stage) on the wounded nob and nothing stops you. You then resolve the wound (i.e. it becomes unsaved) and kill the nob. That's it.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2009/07/21 16:07:22


 
   
Made in us
Huge Bone Giant





Oakland, CA -- U.S.A.

Regwon wrote:When you deal wounds to a unit (rolling on majority toughness) the opposing player can choose to allocate the wounds to any model he wishes.


Wrong edition on that. Majority toughness is irrelevant, as wounds are assigned to identical groups.
   
Made in gb
Morphing Obliterator





kirsanth wrote:
Regwon wrote:When you deal wounds to a unit (rolling on majority toughness) the opposing player can choose to allocate the wounds to any model he wishes.


Wrong edition on that. Majority toughness is irrelevant, as wounds are assigned to identical groups.


You have to successfully roll to wound before you can assign wounds to individual models. For units with multiple toughness values you use the majority.

BGB, p19, Multiple Toughness Values wrote:
To keep things simple, roll to wound using the Toughness characteristic that is in the majority in the target unit


   
Made in us
Huge Bone Giant





Oakland, CA -- U.S.A.

Oops.

Missed a step in there when I was reading it.
Or rather I think I read one that wasn't written.

My bad.

"It is not the bullet with your name on it that should worry you, it's the one labeled "To whom it may concern. . ."

DQ:70S++G+++MB+I+Pwhfb06+D++A+++/aWD-R++++T(D)DM+ 
   
Made in au
Shas'la with Pulse Carbine




Tau Player

nosferatu1001 wrote:Dakka Dan - he didn't.

He certainly repeated my answer, in more detail, but then that doesn't exactly make "most of the above" an incorrect statement.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2009/07/22 03:43:35





 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: