Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/07/27 00:06:20
Subject: Confused about "Bring it down!" The IG Order.
|
 |
Commoragh-bound Peer
Chicago, Ill. USA
|
Question for you.... And I thought I had a good handle on it because of how it's written but browsing various websites and sections of IG forums has made me confuzed....
Page 30 of the IG codex regarding the order "Bring it down!" the RAW seems pretty clear to me:
"If the order is successfully issued, chose one enemy vehicle (or unit of vehicles) or monstrous creature (or unit of monstrous creatures) visible to the officer. The ordered unit immediately shoots at the nominated target, counting their weapons as twin-linked."
However, reading on the board (as well as the wording in Army Builder) leads me to believe that this order can be used on anything not just Vehicles and Monstrous Creatures as the RAW leads me to believe. Is there somewhere offical a change to this rule...? Because people have been saying this is the most useful of the orders... I would agree if you could use it on ANYTHING.... but the RAW just doesn't support that.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/07/27 00:19:57
Subject: Confused about "Bring it down!" The IG Order.
|
 |
Proud Phantom Titan
|
wow your right they've got that very wrong. If its not a vehicle or a MC (or unit of the afore mentioned) then you can't count it as TL. That said you can cheat this rule slightly for example if you target a vehicle/MC any flamers that fired will still count as TL even if they can reach other models (flamers are an odd weapon like that) Blasts can be place so that another unit is hit as well as the Tank/MC (TL stops it scattering off). Other then that you can't use to target any thing else.
|
This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2009/07/27 00:54:50
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/07/27 00:22:33
Subject: Confused about "Bring it down!" The IG Order.
|
 |
Lieutenant General
|
Tri wrote:That said you can cheat this rule slightly for example if you target a vehicle/MC any flamers that fired will still count as TL even if they can't reach (flamers are an odd weapon like that)
No. A template that can not cover any models in the target unit misses automatically and thus can not cause any wounds.
|
'It is a source of constant consternation that my opponents cannot correlate their innate inferiority with their inevitable defeat. It would seem that stupidity is as eternal as war.'
- Nemesor Zahndrekh of the Sautekh Dynasty Overlord of the Crownworld of Gidrim |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/07/27 00:25:07
Subject: Confused about "Bring it down!" The IG Order.
|
 |
Sword-Bearing Inquisitorial Crusader
|
Army builder is wrong on a lot of things, rules, and point values.
For instance, Army builder states that Celestians have preferred enemy, when they don't even have that ability, their ability, although similar to 3rd edition's preferred enemy, is called holy hatred.
I know there's some point values off as well, I just can't think of the few I know off hand at the moment.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/07/27 00:40:16
Subject: Confused about "Bring it down!" The IG Order.
|
 |
Commoragh-bound Peer
Chicago, Ill. USA
|
So I interpreted this one right... Good to know... I can read XD Automatically Appended Next Post: Next question... what about a squad that is 1 MC and many regular infantray units... by my reading... they ALL need to be MCs or Vehicles....
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2009/07/27 00:40:54
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/07/27 00:52:10
Subject: Confused about "Bring it down!" The IG Order.
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
You're thinking of a hive tyrant aren't you...
The HT can't be picked out as an MC, therefore you aren't targetting a "unit of MCs" at all, you are targetting a standard unit.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/07/27 00:54:22
Subject: Confused about "Bring it down!" The IG Order.
|
 |
Proud Phantom Titan
|
Ghaz wrote:Tri wrote:That said you can cheat this rule slightly for example if you target a vehicle/MC any flamers that fired will still count as TL even if they can't reach (flamers are an odd weapon like that)
No. A template that can not cover any models in the target unit misses automatically and thus can not cause any wounds.
bah words missing typing fail ... That said you can cheat this rule slightly for example if you target a vehicle/ MC any flamers that fired will still count as TL even if they can reach other models (flamers are an odd weapon like that) (I knew what I meant >_< .)
|
This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2009/07/27 00:56:23
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/07/27 01:10:03
Subject: Confused about "Bring it down!" The IG Order.
|
 |
Commoragh-bound Peer
Chicago, Ill. USA
|
nosferatu1001 wrote:You're thinking of a hive tyrant aren't you...
The HT can't be picked out as an MC, therefore you aren't targetting a "unit of MCs" at all, you are targetting a standard unit.
In fact I was thinking about Chaos Daemons and a special character that's an MC that he usually attaches to a regular squad. So same Idea not the same context tho XD Automatically Appended Next Post: Tri wrote:Ghaz wrote:Tri wrote:That said you can cheat this rule slightly for example if you target a vehicle/MC any flamers that fired will still count as TL even if they can't reach (flamers are an odd weapon like that)
No. A template that can not cover any models in the target unit misses automatically and thus can not cause any wounds.
bah words missing typing fail ... That said you can cheat this rule slightly for example if you target a vehicle/ MC any flamers that fired will still count as TL even if they can reach other models (flamers are an odd weapon like that)
(I knew what I meant >_< .)
Yeah i see what you're getting at. If they end up hitting other models ALSO with the MC or vehicle i'm targeting at. Automatically Appended Next Post: Thank you problem solved. I was playing it right.
|
This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2009/07/27 01:21:33
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/07/27 04:11:25
Subject: Confused about "Bring it down!" The IG Order.
|
 |
Fixture of Dakka
|
ZeroOP wrote:
In fact I was thinking about Chaos Daemons and a special character that's an MC that he usually attaches to a regular squad. So same Idea not the same context tho XD
You can't join MCs to squads
|
Worship me. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/07/27 05:12:13
Subject: Confused about "Bring it down!" The IG Order.
|
 |
Quick-fingered Warlord Moderatus
|
Cannerus_The_Unbearable wrote:You can't join MCs to squads 
You can if they are Independent Characters.
If an MC is attached to a unit of non MC models the MC can still be picked out as a single target for shooting, unless the unit has special rules saying something different.
So I think the only time a partially MC unit would be an issue is with the Hive Tyrant, and in that situation I don't think you could use the order since the whole target unit is not Monstrous Creatures.
|
Interceptor Drones can disembark at any point during the Sun Shark's move (even though models cannot normally disembark from Zooming Flyers).
-Jeremy Vetock, only man at Games Workshop who understands Zooming Flyers |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/07/27 05:57:18
Subject: Confused about "Bring it down!" The IG Order.
|
 |
Confessor Of Sins
|
ZeroOP wrote:nosferatu1001 wrote:You're thinking of a hive tyrant aren't you...
In fact I was thinking about Chaos Daemons and a special character that's an MC that he usually attaches to a regular squad.
Which one would that be? I've failed to find anyone with both MC and IC in ArmyBuilder, but then again it is just a program. The one guy in our group that plays daemons lives a bit too far away that I'd go knocking on his door right now. ;-)
As for "Bring it down" I think it's pretty useful. Vehicles have been made tougher in 5th so the ability to hit them more often is a nice bonus.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/07/27 07:20:37
Subject: Confused about "Bring it down!" The IG Order.
|
 |
Commoragh-bound Peer
Chicago, Ill. USA
|
I have no idea what the name is. I just know it's a Chaos Daemon MC IC... XD He stopped playing with it in small point armies, so i haven't seen it in a while....
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/07/27 09:46:23
Subject: Confused about "Bring it down!" The IG Order.
|
 |
Pestilent Plague Marine with Blight Grenade
|
There is no Chaos Daemon Monstrous Creature with the Independent Character rule. They have Independent Characters, and Monstrous Creatures, but no model has both special rules.
You got cheated.
|
This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2009/07/27 09:48:12
Triggerbaby wrote:In summary, here's your lunch and ask Miss Creaver if she has aloe lotion because I have taken you to school and you have been burned.
Abadabadoobaddon wrote:I too can prove pretty much any assertion I please if I don't count all the evidence that contradicts it. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/07/27 10:09:10
Subject: Confused about "Bring it down!" The IG Order.
|
 |
Fluttering Firewyrm of Tzeentch
|
but can you use dis on heavy weapon squads cuz if you an only use it on IS's whats the point of using it on tanks with S3 weapons
Automatically Appended Next Post: I fink dere is a mc deamon he's a special character i cant remember his name
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2009/07/27 10:11:43
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/07/27 12:11:17
Subject: Confused about "Bring it down!" The IG Order.
|
 |
Heroic Senior Officer
|
However, there is the Necron Lord/Tomb Spider combo. Lord can join the spider as the spider is not always a unit of only one model (due to the scarabs it can produce). SO there's your IC/MC unit for discussion.
And I'm not sure that the "may always pick out a MC" rule still exists. Took a quick look for it just now and didn't find it. Reference please?
|
Don "MONDO"
www.ironfistleague.com
Northern VA/Southern MD |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/07/27 16:32:29
Subject: Confused about "Bring it down!" The IG Order.
|
 |
Death-Dealing Dark Angels Devastator
|
What if you TL a blast weapon (MoO) at a vehicle or MC and it scatters onto infantry? Would you still count it as TL?
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/07/27 16:54:35
Subject: Confused about "Bring it down!" The IG Order.
|
 |
Confessor Of Sins
|
madmen wrote:What if you TL a blast weapon (MoO) at a vehicle or MC and it scatters onto infantry? Would you still count it as TL?
Of course - a TL blast just means you can reroll the scatter. I'd be a bit cross if you didn't reroll in order to hit the original target but you don't technically have to.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/07/27 16:55:47
Subject: Confused about "Bring it down!" The IG Order.
|
 |
Commoragh-bound Peer
Chicago, Ill. USA
|
Spetulhu wrote:madmen wrote:What if you TL a blast weapon (MoO) at a vehicle or MC and it scatters onto infantry? Would you still count it as TL?
Of course - a TL blast just means you can reroll the scatter. I'd be a bit cross if you didn't reroll in order to hit the original target but you don't technically have to.
You have to reroll a scatter using the original place you put it... or else it wouldn't be a re roll it would be a new shot. But yeah, twin linked as long as the target is vehicle or MC Automatically Appended Next Post: don_mondo wrote:However, there is the Necron Lord/Tomb Spider combo. Lord can join the spider as the spider is not always a unit of only one model (due to the scarabs it can produce). SO there's your IC/MC unit for discussion.
And I'm not sure that the "may always pick out a MC" rule still exists. Took a quick look for it just now and didn't find it. Reference please?
Yeah i was looking for it last night and didn't see it. :( about the always pick out an MC rule, that is. Regarding i think all the models in the unit must be either MCs or Vehicles. Automatically Appended Next Post: MinMax wrote:There is no Chaos Daemon Monstrous Creature with the Independent Character rule. They have Independent Characters, and Monstrous Creatures, but no model has both special rules.
You got cheated.
Good to know, I just looked it up it was a Bloodthurster... So if it's not IC in unit type it CANNOT join a squad, correct?
|
This message was edited 3 times. Last update was at 2009/07/27 17:03:32
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/07/27 17:06:20
Subject: Confused about "Bring it down!" The IG Order.
|
 |
Heroic Senior Officer
|
Correct, if it's not an IC it cannot join another unit.
|
Don "MONDO"
www.ironfistleague.com
Northern VA/Southern MD |
|
 |
 |
|