Switch Theme:

Spell question  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Poxed Plague Monk



Wichita, KS

Okay, ran into this over a weekend tournament. I know that magic missiles are not able to be cast into close combat. However, does the spell actually have to say that it CAN be cast into combat for it to do so? i.e. Nurgle, Rot Glorious Rot says "this can even affect units that are engaged in combat". Some spells don't say whether they can or can't. The one that came up was Tzeentch Infernal Gateway. It just says "target an enemy unit up to 24' away". It doesn't say you can't target an engaged unit. Anyone know the exact ruling for this kind of thing? a place in the BRB im missing?

So the questions is:

Does the spell being cast have to actually say that it can target a unit in close combat in order to do so?

Thanks


Vermin Swarm : : Dwarven Holds, Infernal Dwarves, Empire of Sonnstahl, Warriors of the Dark Gods, Sylvan Elves

Check out my Warhammer Blog: www.mwgamingalliance.wordpress.com

Rock is broken
Paper is balanced
--Scissors-- 
   
Made in us
Widowmaker





Virginia

Yes. Page 107 under casting spells

2012- stopped caring
Nova Open 2011- Orks 8th Seed---(I see a trend)
Adepticon 2011- Mike H. Orks 8th Seed (This was the WTF list of the Final 16)
Adepticon 2011- Combat Patrol Best General 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




However while you cannot TARGET a unit in CC unless the spell specifically says so, you can affect units in CC just fine.

Area of Effect /= Target.

So Rot Glorious Rot never targets a unit, so the prohibition is irrelevant - it just affects all units in a radius. Winds of Undeath etc are the same.
   
 
Forum Index » The Old World & Legacy Warhammer Fantasy Discussion
Go to: