Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/07/27 16:21:29
Subject: Lurking and going to ground
|
 |
Bounding Assault Marine
|
Tyranids that use instinctive behaviour rules can choose to lurk instead moving when out of synapse and gain +1 cover save. But can a lurking unit also go to ground and gain another +1 cover save? Can't find anything to say that it's not possible to do so.
If so then lictor who already has +2 to his cover save could have +2 when lurking and going to ground. 3+ cover save while in open  not bad
|
Space Marines 6700pts Tyranids 5000pts Tau 2350pts Blood Angels 2850pts Orcs & Goblins 1350pts
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/07/27 16:27:05
Subject: Lurking and going to ground
|
 |
Lord of the Fleet
|
Whilst the codex doesn't cover this (having been written for 4th ed) I would say that the Lurk option is going to ground.
Does lurking or being out of synapse have a blanket prohibition on further actions or does it have a list of forbidden actions? (I don't have my 'nid codex in front of me)
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/07/27 16:34:13
Subject: Lurking and going to ground
|
 |
Bounding Assault Marine
|
when outside synapse "alternatively the brood may lurk. This means it will remain stationary that turn but may fire as normal. Lurking units that are not monstrous creatures add +1 to any cover save they may benefit from. lurking tyranids may not claim objectives or hold table quarters"
So it's not same as going to ground. As they would be able to act as normal in next turn. when gone to ground, they can't do anything next turn.
|
Space Marines 6700pts Tyranids 5000pts Tau 2350pts Blood Angels 2850pts Orcs & Goblins 1350pts
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/07/27 17:12:46
Subject: Lurking and going to ground
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
It is not the same. They can stack.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/07/27 17:15:07
Subject: Lurking and going to ground
|
 |
Huge Bone Giant
|
Lictors are Fearless, as per the FAQ, they cannot Lurk - as they do not follow IB.
shrug
|
"It is not the bullet with your name on it that should worry you, it's the one labeled "To whom it may concern. . ."
DQ:70S++G+++MB+I+Pwhfb06+D++A+++/aWD-R++++T(D)DM+ |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/07/28 08:07:44
Subject: Lurking and going to ground
|
 |
Lord of the Fleet
|
Thunder555 wrote:when outside synapse "alternatively the brood may lurk. This means it will remain stationary that turn but may fire as normal. Lurking units that are not monstrous creatures add +1 to any cover save they may benefit from. lurking tyranids may not claim objectives or hold table quarters"
By RAW then, they can go to ground while lurking.
I suspect that the next codex will correct this but for the moment it's perfectly valid.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/07/28 18:17:21
Subject: Re:Lurking and going to ground
|
 |
Hunter with Harpoon Laucher
Castle Clarkenstein
|
We just consider lurking to be a better version of GTG, that lets you determine your actions in the following turn, instead of being pinned. We don't stack the two bonuses.
|
....and lo!.....The Age of Sigmar came to an end when Saint Veetock and his hamster legions smote the false Sigmar and destroyed the bubbleverse and lead the true believers back to the Old World.
|
|
 |
 |
|