| Author |
Message |
 |
|
|
 |
|
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/07/28 20:49:30
Subject: Strength D on Gargantuan Creatures
|
 |
Lord of the Fleet
|
P91 of the Apocalypse Rulebook states that if Gargantuan Creatures are "affected by an attack that wold normally kill a model automatically" they instead suffer D3 wounds.
If a Gargantuan Creature was to be targeted with a Destroyer weapon, would they suffer D3 wounds, or just one, as P96 states that if the target is immune to Instant Death, then they suffer one wound as normal?
If they only suffer one wound, this means that a failed Characteristic Test would cause more damage than a direct hit from a Volcano Cannon, which completly defies logic.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/07/28 21:09:30
Subject: Strength D on Gargantuan Creatures
|
 |
Da Head Honcho Boss Grot
|
Are gargantuan creatures immune to Instant Death? (Which is to say, actually immune to the rule completely and not merely having a special rule that downgrades it to d3 wounds.)
I thought I read that Gargantuan Creatures suffered d3 wounds specifically from StrD weapons, but I may be mistaken.
|
Anuvver fing - when they do sumfing, they try to make it look like somfink else to confuse everybody. When one of them wants to lord it over the uvvers, 'e says "I'm very speshul so'z you gotta worship me", or "I know summink wot you lot don't know, so yer better lissen good". Da funny fing is, arf of 'em believe it and da over arf don't, so 'e 'as to hit 'em all anyway or run fer it. |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/07/28 21:17:49
Subject: Re:Strength D on Gargantuan Creatures
|
 |
Lord of the Fleet
|
Yes, on closer inspection it does say that Gargantuan Creatures are immune to Instant Death, so Destroyer would only cause one wound as normal.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/07/28 21:41:58
Subject: Strength D on Gargantuan Creatures
|
 |
Da Head Honcho Boss Grot
|
At least it automatically wounds.
Actually, when most Gargantuan Creatures are T8 or 9, the automatic wounding is kind of nice.
|
Anuvver fing - when they do sumfing, they try to make it look like somfink else to confuse everybody. When one of them wants to lord it over the uvvers, 'e says "I'm very speshul so'z you gotta worship me", or "I know summink wot you lot don't know, so yer better lissen good". Da funny fing is, arf of 'em believe it and da over arf don't, so 'e 'as to hit 'em all anyway or run fer it. |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/07/29 10:55:07
Subject: Strength D on Gargantuan Creatures
|
 |
Lord of the Fleet
|
Orkeosaurus wrote:At least it automatically wounds.
Actually, when most Gargantuan Creatures are T8 or 9, the automatic wounding is kind of nice.
Good point. Actually if you give a Warlord Laser Blasters and Turbo Lasers, you can cause 10 automatic wounds per turn, just enough to take down any Gargantuan Creature, unless you get some really unlucky scatter rolls.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/07/29 17:20:45
Subject: Strength D on Gargantuan Creatures
|
 |
Rampaging Chaos Russ Driver
|
You are also presuming it fails invulnerable saves.
|
|
|
|
 |
 |
|
|