Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/07/29 15:02:50
Subject: Fearless = No Instinctive Behaviour?
|
 |
Fixture of Dakka
|
Just a quick one...
If a Tyranid creature is listed as Fearless (i.e. Lictors and Carnifexes), I assume they don't revert to Instinctive Behaviour when outside synapse range, because they automatically pass leadership tests. Correct? Automatically Appended Next Post: Have just answered my own question by looking at the FAQ. I am correct... well done me.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2009/07/29 15:15:55
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/07/29 15:18:09
Subject: Fearless = No Instinctive Behaviour?
|
 |
Heroic Senior Officer
|
Per the FAQ, Fearless Nids ignore IB.
Without the FAQ, they would (IMO) suffer from it just as any other Nid. Fearless allows you to automatically pass all Morale and Pinning tests, not all Leadership tests.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2009/07/29 15:19:58
Don "MONDO"
www.ironfistleague.com
Northern VA/Southern MD |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/07/29 15:33:30
Subject: Fearless = No Instinctive Behaviour?
|
 |
Huge Bone Giant
|
don_mondo wrote:Per the FAQ, Fearless Nids ignore IB.
Without the FAQ, they would (IMO) suffer from it just as any other Nid. Fearless allows you to automatically pass all Morale and Pinning tests, not all Leadership tests.
|
"It is not the bullet with your name on it that should worry you, it's the one labeled "To whom it may concern. . ."
DQ:70S++G+++MB+I+Pwhfb06+D++A+++/aWD-R++++T(D)DM+ |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/07/30 10:32:22
Subject: Fearless = No Instinctive Behaviour?
|
 |
Raging Ravener
Orlando, FL, USA
|
Fearless automatically passes Morale checks, not Leadership tests (which is part of why Synapse is so powerful, as it auto-passes ANY Leadership test that is not a Psychic test).
The FAQ rules that Fearless Nids don't roll for IB because Fearless units can't fall back, and failing your IB check would force you to fall back.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/07/30 10:40:07
Subject: Re:Fearless = No Instinctive Behaviour?
|
 |
Missionary On A Mission
The Eye of Terror
|
To respond to your thread title:
Yes. Fear is, in fact, an instinctive behavior, and anything without fear is either ignoring their instinctive behavior, or has none.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/07/30 11:53:16
Subject: Fearless = No Instinctive Behaviour?
|
 |
Heroic Senior Officer
|
Course, interesting note, some of the GW studio originally said that Fearless Nids suffered from IB and fell back, because codex special rules trumped main rulebook core rules..............
Hmmmmm, codex trumps main rules, where have I heard that before? Yet another reason that an FAQ was needed so that Fearless Nids could ignore IB.
|
Don "MONDO"
www.ironfistleague.com
Northern VA/Southern MD |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/07/30 13:52:19
Subject: Fearless = No Instinctive Behaviour?
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
Almost all of the Nid players I know (including on Nid boards) played it that Fearless models suffered IB (back before the FAQ). Carnifexes didn't fall back, but they might not move forward...
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/07/30 14:34:43
Subject: Fearless = No Instinctive Behaviour?
|
 |
Heroic Senior Officer
|
Yep, but if by RAW codex overrules Main Rules, they would fall back since the codex special rule says to. And certain GW studio folks said that originally. (Remember the oooold GW forums?) After all, if part of a codex special rule applies, all of it should apply.
But all water under the bridge now, due to the (since Gwar's not here I'll say it....) unofficial FAQ.
|
Don "MONDO"
www.ironfistleague.com
Northern VA/Southern MD |
|
 |
 |
|