Switch Theme:

Dawn of war Death!  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Rough Rider with Boomstick





Mah Hizzy

I had a question bout Dawn o'war. Say my opponent decides to set nothing up and I decide to infiltrate my HQ and 2 troops which in this case is a 5 man Shaper Council and 2 20 man squads of Kroot. If I am able to completely block off his table edge are the units that are unable to get on via tank shocking me or left in reserve before hand just dead? That's the main question I am wondering. If this has been covered before post a link please thanks!

2000 
   
Made in us
Sneaky Sniper Drone






I think there was a thread about off table tank shocks.

I think it went that you could tank shock but if that tank was Death or Gloried into a stun or immobilized (not to mention destroyed and explodes) then it's destroyed with all passengers


Automatically Appended Next Post:
and if your opponent is playing skimmers or jump troops... well...

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2009/07/30 06:08:07


Curse you GW! GO Learn ENGLISH. Calling it "permissive" is no excuse for Poorly written Logic. 
   
Made in au
Quick-fingered Warlord Moderatus






Basically with blocked board edges there's no rule that clearly explains what happens to the reserves, they obviously can't come onto the board, and if they are still in reserves at the end of the game count as destroyed, but nothing clearly says what to do when you succeed a reserves roll but that unit can't enter due to a blocked table edge.

You can't really resolve this situation by RAW IMO.

Interceptor Drones can disembark at any point during the Sun Shark's move (even though models cannot normally disembark from Zooming Flyers).


-Jeremy Vetock, only man at Games Workshop who understands Zooming Flyers 
   
Made in us
Rough Rider with Boomstick





Mah Hizzy

Ya if they have skimmers or jump jumps but if I can black off the majority of there stuff do they just go to reserves or are they dead? There a big dif for me doin it know what I mean? I would personally say they just go back into reserves but the thing is what if its a big foot slogging army with maybe one tank. Can I just keep them off the board the whole game?

2000 
   
Made in au
Quick-fingered Warlord Moderatus






CajunMan550 wrote:Ya if they have skimmers or jump jumps but if I can black off the majority of there stuff do they just go to reserves or are they dead? There a big dif for me doin it know what I mean? I would personally say they just go back into reserves but the thing is what if its a big foot slogging army with maybe one tank. Can I just keep them off the board the whole game?


This is what I'm saying, there's no rule which tells you what to do, they might go to reserves, they might die, they might come on as soon as there's enough room, the rules don't say.

Interceptor Drones can disembark at any point during the Sun Shark's move (even though models cannot normally disembark from Zooming Flyers).


-Jeremy Vetock, only man at Games Workshop who understands Zooming Flyers 
   
Made in us
Nurgle Chosen Marine on a Palanquin





Livermore, Ca

if you can't get on the board, you die. If your opponent let you do this to him... too bad for him.
   
Made in au
Quick-fingered Warlord Moderatus






Sazzlefrats wrote:if you can't get on the board, you die. If your opponent let you do this to him... too bad for him.


Here we go... Show a rule which says this is what happens.

Interceptor Drones can disembark at any point during the Sun Shark's move (even though models cannot normally disembark from Zooming Flyers).


-Jeremy Vetock, only man at Games Workshop who understands Zooming Flyers 
   
Made in us
Nurgle Chosen Marine on a Palanquin





Livermore, Ca

Obviously you can't, but since you can't get on the board most TO's treat it like demons without an icon. Poof.
   
Made in us
Missionary On A Mission




The Eye of Terror

So, it's what happens because you say so?

 
   
Made in us
Sneaky Sniper Drone






Well, that exception is not even mentioned in the BRB.


Automatically Appended Next Post:
They always assume that you could


Automatically Appended Next Post:
without considering if you can't

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2009/07/30 09:15:50


Curse you GW! GO Learn ENGLISH. Calling it "permissive" is no excuse for Poorly written Logic. 
   
Made in us
Nurgle Chosen Marine on a Palanquin





Livermore, Ca

Canonness Rory wrote:So, it's what happens because you say so?


I'm reporting what I've seen. If you say otherwise go ahead, make a poll see what the majority likes. But think of it this way, in the above scenario, if you can't get on the board its the same as being destroyed because, he'll sit there for 5 more turns and you still don't get to do anything.

   
Made in pt
Tea-Kettle of Blood




Sazzlefrats wrote:Obviously you can't, but since you can't get on the board most TO's treat it like demons without an icon. Poof.


Except that demons can't get their icon back as the game progresses whille the reserves could eventually get an oppening if you had some troops outflanking or some skimmers or something like that...

Its hard to say either way, either dice it off if it is a friendly game (why would you use this tactic in a friendly game is beyond me), or ask the TO during a tournament...
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut




There was one RAW conclusion that was finally figured out.

If you are blocking off the side edges, trying to stop troops from Outflanking.
You now have a situation where a unit has a rule (Outflanking) that may keep it from moving onto the board. The rules say that in such cases, you ignore that rule. Thus the models would be forced to walk on from the player board edge.

This does not, however, help with your current question.


As for my opinion of how it should be played... I say they are kept in reserves until they can get on. If they never get on, they count as destroyed.
   
Made in us
Heroic Senior Officer





Woodbridge, VA

Or..... it's not their special rule (Outflank) that is preventing them from coming on. it's the main rule that doesn't allow you to be within 1" of an enemy model during the movement phase. Which would not be covered by that rule.

And (to present the opposition side) you go with what GW once answered regarding Space Puppy Scouts being unable to come on due to a picket fence and count them as destroyed.

Don "MONDO"
www.ironfistleague.com
Northern VA/Southern MD 
   
Made in us
Implacable Black Templar Initiate



United States of America

coredump wrote:There was one RAW conclusion that was finally figured out.

If you are blocking off the side edges, trying to stop troops from Outflanking.
You now have a situation where a unit has a rule (Outflanking) that may keep it from moving onto the board. The rules say that in such cases, you ignore that rule. Thus the models would be forced to walk on from the player board edge.


Where was this RAW rule found? I have read over the USR pg 76 and MSR pg 94 but cannot find the reference you mention except for units with special rules forcing it ot move in a specific direction or that could stop it from moving. This is of course a special rule and not based on the tactics of your opponent. Would provide a page?

Now this is just based on what the rules say, but if you are playing DoW, your opponent decides to bring ALL of his units on turn 1, you decide to infiltrate enough units to remain in the DoW strictures and cover his board edge, he had better have skimmers, jump troops, or tanks or he won't have a chance to get onto the board. If he cannot deploy then based on the rules under WIPEOUT! pg 90 and Units destroyed on pg 108 or 300 (depending on your rulebook) he is dead. It doesn't make for a fun game in my opinion but you don't have to play the guy again.

When I get home I'm going to do SO much coke and ---- hot women. It will be like, 'It's 5pm..., time to do some coke and ---- hot women!' 
   
Made in us
Nurgle Chosen Marine on a Palanquin





Livermore, Ca

coredump wrote:There was one RAW conclusion that was finally figured out.

If you are blocking off the side edges, trying to stop troops from Outflanking.
You now have a situation where a unit has a rule (Outflanking) that may keep it from moving onto the board. The rules say that in such cases, you ignore that rule. Thus the models would be forced to walk on from the player board edge.

This does not, however, help with your current question.


As for my opinion of how it should be played... I say they are kept in reserves until they can get on. If they never get on, they count as destroyed.


This seems reasonable.
   
Made in us
Prescient Cryptek of Eternity





Mayhem Comics in Des Moines, Iowa

Necron Warriors have a rule which let's them come in from reserve thru a Monolith. If they do this they have to come in thru a Monlith. Their rules say if they become avalable while your Monoliths are still in reserve then they just wait and will come in when a Monolith IS avalable, but they will count as destroyed if all Monoliths are destroyed befor the warriors get on the board.

You could confir this to be a similiar situation. Units are avalable to come in from reserve but they don't currently have a route to take so they just wait till one opens up. If they are unable to make it onto the board befor the game ends Then they will count as destroyed.

 
   
Made in au
Gore-Soaked Lunatic Witchhunter






Australia (Recently ravaged by the Hive Fleet Ginger Overlord)

Okay, obviously normal infantry and such can't get on through here. So your opponent better hope he has some skimmers or deep striking units or he's BONED!

Question
If you were lucky enough to kill off your entire opponenets army in the first turn, before they have had a chance to roll for thier reserves. Do you automatically win?

Smacks wrote:
After the game, pack up all your miniatures, then slap the guy next to you on the ass and say.

"Good game guys, now lets hit the showers"
 
   
Made in gb
Mutilatin' Mad Dok






Cherry Hill, NJ

It seems like if your opponent is foolish enough to let you block off all 4" of his board he deserves to lose. Then again if I played against an opponent who tried to win this way, I would shake his hand and make a note never to play him again.

Emperors Faithful- The rules on p. 90 of your rulebook answers your question. Specifically WIPEOUT! and ENDING THE GAME.



 
   
Made in us
Slaanesh Havoc with Blastmaster



Orklando

Emperors Faithful wrote:Question
If you were lucky enough to kill off your entire opponenets army in the first turn, before they have had a chance to roll for thier reserves. Do you automatically win?
If you were able to do this in a friendly game, sit back and gloat and say "I win. Wanna play again?"

In a tournament, if the judge lets you automatically kill your opponent's army by blocking off the escape routes, you have to then also ask them what they will do if you totally eliminate your opponent's army. Because the Wipeout! rule on page 90 only refers to Standard Missions, i.e. the ones in the rulebook. They might have a house rule for that scenario for what to do about wiping out your opponents army. The rule might be that the game ends immediately and you don't score a Major Victory, only a Minor, because you don't get time to capture the objectives! (Been there, done that, actually.)
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: