Switch Theme:

Assaulting vehicles for several rounds  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut





Ok, so after a game of 40k, a buddy and I got to talking about assaulting vehicles and discussing what would happen if a unit assaulted a vehicle with a squad and the assault ended up going for several rounds? I get the whole "if a vehicle does not move, then any cc attacks are automatically hits" and not questioning that. What we are questioning is say a valkyrie becomes immobilized by a unit assaulting it (for the sake of this discussion it was not subject to the destroyed (wrecked) if hit rule). I understand that the vehicle does not become locked into combat (aside from walkers), but are the figures themselves locked into combat after assaulting the vehicle?(meaning that unless the owner of the valkyire chooses to move it, the figures are locked to it and cannot move away)
   
Made in au
Anti-Armour Swiss Guard






Newcastle, OZ

No, only walkers are locked in combat. Non-walkers cannot be locked.

You can always move away in your turn and charge it again.

I'm OVER 50 (and so far over everyone's BS, too).
Old enough to know better, young enough to not give a ****.

That is not dead which can eternal lie ...

... and yet, with strange aeons, even death may die.
 
   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut





No, you got me wrong Chrome, I'm asking if the figures (The unit consisting of infantry) are locked into combat. I know that the owner of the vehicle can move it during the movement phase, but can the owner of the infantry move his infantry during his movement phase if combat has continued into his next turn?

Oh, and another question is if the player of the assaulting infantry unit does not successfully destroy said vehicle during his assault, and the player owning the vehicle does not move it, does assault continue into his round as well (IE the infantry owner gets a chance to hit the vehicle during the vehicle owners assault phase)

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2009/08/02 00:37:24


 
   
Made in us
Ship's Officer





Reading, UK

Chrome actually does have it right.

Check out pg.63 for vehicle assaults. Basically there is no requirement for any combat resolution for either party. The infantry are free to move away and so is the vehicle (provided it is not a walker). That's why Chrome said you can move your infantry away and re-assault an immobilized vehicle.

Also, IIRC this means infantry that have assaulted an immobilized vehicle, but failed to destroy it, can be targeted for ranged attacks in the following enemy player's turn. The vehicle still blocks LOS, of course, but you are never 'locked in combat' and do not suffer the same penalties or benefits.

Hope that clears it up a bit.

DoW


Automatically Appended Next Post:
Oh and no, you don't get to hit the vehicle again. You're not locked in combat so there is no requirement to resolve combat in the enemy vehicle owner's turn.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2009/08/02 00:49:37


"War. War never changes." - Fallout

4000pts
3000pts
1000pts
2500pts 
   
Made in us
Tough-as-Nails Ork Boy





DogOfWar wrote:
Oh and no, you don't get to hit the vehicle again. You're not locked in combat so there is no requirement to resolve combat in the enemy vehicle owner's turn.

Actually, pg 63 specifies that, though they are not locked in combat, they may still make attacks on the successive turn if the vehicle did not move and they are still in btb contact.
   
Made in us
Ship's Officer





Reading, UK

Deffgob wrote:
DogOfWar wrote:
Oh and no, you don't get to hit the vehicle again. You're not locked in combat so there is no requirement to resolve combat in the enemy vehicle owner's turn.

Actually, pg 63 specifies that, though they are not locked in combat, they may still make attacks on the successive turn if the vehicle did not move and they are still in btb contact.

Right you are!

Testament to reading the *whole* thing instead of stopping halfway through.

DoW

"War. War never changes." - Fallout

4000pts
3000pts
1000pts
2500pts 
   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut





So then even though they do not move, they still get the +1 attack for charging into assault and for Orks (who was being fought) would get furious assault. Not trying to start a fight, just trying to find out so we dont run into this question again. Thanks for the help guys BTW!

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2009/08/02 02:45:59


 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut







s2ua7 wrote:So then even though they do not move, they still get the +1 attack for charging into assault and for Orks (who was being fought) would get furious assault. Not trying to start a fight, just trying to find out so we dont run into this question again. Thanks for the help guys BTW!


No, the models in base contact with the vehicle would only get any charge bonuses in the subsequent turns if they actually charged.

First round: The charged and get charge bonuses.
Second round (opponent's turn): If the vehicle is still in base contact, attacks can be made but since there was no charge this round, no charge bonuses.
Third round: The attacking models can shuffle back an inch and charge the vehicle again. (They're not locked, so technically they may be able to charge again without having to move, but it's a bit iffy but there might be some obscure rule about it somewhere...)
   
Made in us
Fresh-Faced New User




Yeah, that was more the question I was curious about. As the ork player would I continue to get furious charge every round even if I, nor the vehicle moved.
   
Made in ca
Angered Reaver Arena Champion






No, as stated above you do not get charge benefits in subsequent rounds. Furious charge only works for the assault phase you charged in.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2009/08/02 04:11:55


Sangfroid Marines 5000 pts
Wych Cult 2000
Tau 2000 
   
Made in au
Trustworthy Shas'vre






Can you be locked in combat with an immobilized walker?
   
Made in us
Sneaky Sniper Drone






yes: walkers have a WS. Thus locked you are

Curse you GW! GO Learn ENGLISH. Calling it "permissive" is no excuse for Poorly written Logic. 
   
Made in us
Fresh-Faced New User




Dracos wrote:No, as stated above you do not get charge benefits in subsequent rounds. Furious charge only works for the assault phase you charged in.


However, since you can't be locked in combat, you could simply move away and re-assault gaining furious charge again, right?
   
Made in us
Ship's Officer





Reading, UK

crunch wrote:
Dracos wrote:No, as stated above you do not get charge benefits in subsequent rounds. Furious charge only works for the assault phase you charged in.


However, since you can't be locked in combat, you could simply move away and re-assault gaining furious charge again, right?

Absolutely.

By 'subsequent rounds' I believe Dracos was referring to the following opponent's assault phase. Obviously you never gain any charging bonuses during your opponent's turn (except for Counter Attack, but that doesn't apply in vehicle assaults).

DoW

"War. War never changes." - Fallout

4000pts
3000pts
1000pts
2500pts 
   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut





Lacross wrote:yes: walkers have a WS. Thus locked you are


So the only thing thing that will lock units into battle are WSs? Just curious as it sounds plausible as the only things that dont have a WS are vehicles (not including walkers). I was just curious if this generalization would be correct or if anyone knows of any unit w/o a WS that could lock something into combat
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: