Switch Theme:

Minimum deployment distances: How do you play them?  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Poll
How do you play, for example, the 12" minimum distance to enemy forces infiltration rule?
The infiltrating unit, given good terrain, can move 6" and charge 6" in one turn (given the enemy didn't move away, of course)
The infiltrating unit is supposed to NOT be able to assault in their first turn, therefore the 12" means, they are supposed to be some micro-inches away from their needed assault distance.

View results
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in de
Mekboy Hammerin' Somethin'




Lubeck

Hello Dakka!

I thought about this for a while already. The rules state in many cases that units are allowed to deploy near the enemy only at a minimum distance, often 12", sometimes 18".

Now, my question is: Is this meant as exactly 12", so exactly that it is theoretically possible to move 6" and assault 6", given the fact that you move directly and precisely at the enemy unit?
Or is this rule rather made to prevent first turn charging, telling us that the distance between unit and enemy needs to be slightly greater than the possible moving and assaulting distance?

I'm asking for several reasons. First, I saw the second option in some posts here on Dakka, although I can't quote the exact posts they were in. Second, it is simply unclear to me; if GW wanted to allow us first turn charge, they could've set the distance at 11" or 17" in the other case, making it perfectly clear for everyone. On the other hand 13" or 19" would also be clear, no charge for normal (and normal fleeting, 6 inches running) infantry units.

I have no real opinion on what might be the correct one and think this question is rather important, because some tactics rely on first turn assault, while some defensive tactics would also benefit from not being able to be assaulted first turn.

Hope for some input!

Witzkatz

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2009/08/03 13:21:30


 
   
Made in gb
Morphing Obliterator





If you deploy 12" away (has to be out of LoS), move 6" and then charge 6" then you will be in base to base contanct and be in assault.

Nobody can guess what GW want to happen (they dont tell us) so we can only play by the rules we have. If a model has enough charge range to get into base contact with an enemy model then it can charge it.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2009/08/03 13:36:42


taking up the mission
Polonius wrote:Well, seeing as I literally will die if I ever lose a game of 40k, I find your approach almost heretical. If we were to play each other in a tournament, not only would I table you, I would murder you, your family, every woman you ever loved and burn down your house. I mean, what's the point in winning if you allow people that don't take the game seriously to live?
 
   
Made in au
Long-Range Ultramarine Land Speeder Pilot




Probably somewhere I shouldn't be

It's perfectly possible for a turn one charge, though rare because you have to move around whatever cover you were hiding in (or be lucky on your terrain tests).

40k: WHFB: (I want a WE Icon, dammit!)
DR:80S+G+M(GD)B++I++Pw40k96+D+A+++/areWD206R+++T(M)DM+
Please stop by and check out my current P&M Blog: Space Wolves Wolf Lord 
   
Made in de
Dakka Veteran




if an infiltrating unit can only move a max of 6" to move and another max of 6" to assault it would be impossible to get a first turn assault off.

Reason is on page 75 under the heading for the USR Infiltrate. "....The infiltrators may be set up anywhere on the table that is more than 12" from any enemy unit...."

this is one of the biggest misread lines in 40k since 4th ed. Most people read this as simply 12" and not what it actually says more than 12".

DA 3rd Co. w/duelwing 6000+ pts
Mostly tanks 2000+ pts
Ultras 3rd Co and 1st Co. 7000+ pts
Harald Deathwolf's Co. 7000+ pts
4000+ pts (Daemonhunters)
Kabal of the Hydra 5000+ pts
Skullrippa'z Freebootaz 6000+ pts
Plague Marine Force 2000+ pts
and not finished until I own some of every army
 
   
Made in au
Long-Range Ultramarine Land Speeder Pilot




Probably somewhere I shouldn't be

padixon wrote:Reason is on page 75 under the heading for the USR Infiltrate. "....The infiltrators may be set up anywhere on the table that is more than 12" from any enemy unit...."
Padixon has a good point - theoretically, if someone was to move into base contact, then they couldn't have been 'more than 12" away". I change my mind.

40k: WHFB: (I want a WE Icon, dammit!)
DR:80S+G+M(GD)B++I++Pw40k96+D+A+++/areWD206R+++T(M)DM+
Please stop by and check out my current P&M Blog: Space Wolves Wolf Lord 
   
Made in gb
Lord of the Fleet






More than x" does not mean x" or greater.

If it says "more than 12" then a normal unit cannot charge.
   
Made in us
Angry Blood Angel Assault marine





In the depths of a house in minnesota

12" if no LOS 18" if there is LOS because of the fleet special rule.

If you walk a mile in another mans shoes you will be a mile away from him and you will have his shoes.


 
   
Made in de
Mekboy Hammerin' Somethin'




Lubeck

Thanks for all the answers!

Due to translation mistakes, my german rulebook isn't as clear as the original one seems to be. It says something about "not nearer than 12" " somewhere in the middle of the infiltration paragraph and later talks about "more than 12" away" when it comes to infiltrators in buildings.

It seems now very clear to me that option 2 is correct. However, I don't want to stop any kind of discussion on this topic if there is additional info to be found.

For now, thanks!

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2009/08/03 17:25:23


 
   
Made in us
Water-Caste Negotiator




Clinton, TN

Also, if it helps, the only army I can find (I hope people find more) that is GUARANTEED a first turn assault is Space Marines. Scout bikers (infiltrate 18.1", scout to 12.1" away, can move 12" to .1" away) and Shrike w/ assault marines (infiltrate 18.1", fleet 1" to 17.1", move 12" to 5.1", assault 6", but that one is without difficult terrain.)

Also, i can't imagine trying to discuss rules through language translations, more power to you sir!

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2009/08/03 20:13:07


Currently Play/Own
= 3500 = 3500 = 4000 = 2500 = 1000 = 500 = 3000 = 2000 = 1000 = 2500 = 1500

"Now the general who wins a battle makes many calculations in his temple before the battle is fought.
The general who loses a battle makes but few calculations beforehand." - Sun Tzu 
   
Made in us
Fixture of Dakka






Arlington, Texas

Lash raptors and some Nids can too

Worship me. 
   
Made in us
Water-Caste Negotiator




Clinton, TN

Really, what nids? i play nids... hormaguants are close, but not a fully guaranteed.

Lash raptors though, ow, yeah...

Currently Play/Own
= 3500 = 3500 = 4000 = 2500 = 1000 = 500 = 3000 = 2000 = 1000 = 2500 = 1500

"Now the general who wins a battle makes many calculations in his temple before the battle is fought.
The general who loses a battle makes but few calculations beforehand." - Sun Tzu 
   
Made in us
Raging Ravener





The only nids that can infiltrate are Broodlord /w his Stealers, thou they then loose fleet, so no dice there. Outside of that i cant think of any way for them to do it.'
Though Horm and Ravagers could get 1st turn assault. 6" move, 6" Run (fleet) and a nice 12" assault to make for a fun distance of 24" though this hinges on you getting a 6" on run.


"I am the crash of blades, and the furry of the storm. There is no shelter from my wrath, and no reprieve from my judgment." --Unknown (but it sure sounded cool) 
   
Made in de
Stalwart Veteran Guard Sergeant




Essen, Ruhr

The second option, as clearly stated in the rules.

Apart from Shrike and Lash Raptors, IG can easily get first turn charges. Gotta love those Ogryns in the midst of someone's Fire Warriors...

"Whenever the literary German dives into a sentence, that is the last you are going to see of him till he emerges on the other side of the Atlantic with his verb in his mouth." S. L. Clemens

All hail Ollanius Pius! 
   
Made in us
Implacable Black Templar Initiate



United States of America

Dark Eldar Wyches in raiders with the combat drug for 12" assualt can get a first turn charge. Move 12, disembark 2, fleet d6, 12" charge.

When I get home I'm going to do SO much coke and ---- hot women. It will be like, 'It's 5pm..., time to do some coke and ---- hot women!' 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




You MUST deploy over 12" away, however first turn charges are entirely possible all across the board - DE having been the biggest culprits of this for a long time.
   
Made in de
Mekboy Hammerin' Somethin'




Lubeck

Looks like there are a few units able to pull it off, didn't think it would be so many! However, I'm wondering...the poll, which still is in favour of option 2, gained more and more votes for option 1, without supporting this decision with arguments in this thread. I'd be interested in their rules interpretation, as it might add valid points to a discussion.
   
Made in us
Yellin' Yoof on a Scooter




Isn't getting within 1" of your target considered assaulting? Even if your > 12" but < 13" away you should be able to assault no problem...
   
Made in us
Huge Bone Giant





Oakland, CA -- U.S.A.

scarab5 wrote:Isn't getting within 1" of your target considered assaulting? Even if your > 12" but < 13" away you should be able to assault no problem...

No. Models are simply not allowed to move within an inch outside of the assault phase, generally speaking.

"It is not the bullet with your name on it that should worry you, it's the one labeled "To whom it may concern. . ."

DQ:70S++G+++MB+I+Pwhfb06+D++A+++/aWD-R++++T(D)DM+ 
   
Made in us
Water-Caste Negotiator




Clinton, TN

Also, in order to successfully assault a unit, you must have 1 model in base-to-base contact, other wise the declared assault fails.

Currently Play/Own
= 3500 = 3500 = 4000 = 2500 = 1000 = 500 = 3000 = 2000 = 1000 = 2500 = 1500

"Now the general who wins a battle makes many calculations in his temple before the battle is fought.
The general who loses a battle makes but few calculations beforehand." - Sun Tzu 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: