| Author |
Message |
 |
|
|
 |
|
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/08/05 15:32:14
Subject: No Mystic from Vendetta, right?
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
As I recall, Mystics work on deep strikers within 4d6 inches and LOS, right? As a Vendetta has no fire points, if a Mystic is embarked on one, they can't draw LOS to anything. Thus, the vendetta's scout move can't be used to extend Mystic range against a first turn drop.
Do I have that right?
|
All in all, fact is that Warhammer 40K has never been as balanced as it is now, and codex releases have never been as interesting as they are now (new units and vehicles and tons of new special rules/strategies each release -- not just the same old crap with a few changes in statlines and points costs).
-Therion
_______________________________________
New Codexia's Finest Hour - my fluff about the change between codexes, roughly novel length. |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/08/05 15:45:36
Subject: Re:No Mystic from Vendetta, right?
|
 |
Drop Trooper with Demo Charge
|
The rules for mystics does'nt say anything about line of sight. Therefore you can scout move and extend the mystic range. But remember, if you do that odds are you wont have a plasmacutioneer/other nastiness within 12" to fire with.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/08/05 17:15:50
Subject: No Mystic from Vendetta, right?
|
 |
Heroic Senior Officer
|
As Sharik points out, there is no requirement for LOS for the Mystic ability to work. So you measure from the hull. And forget the vendetta. Just park them in their dedicated Land Raider transport in the middle of the IG army.....................
|
Don "MONDO"
www.ironfistleague.com
Northern VA/Southern MD |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/08/06 09:14:47
Subject: No Mystic from Vendetta, right?
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
Wishing I was back at the South Atlantic, closer to ice than the sun
|
don_mondo wrote:As Sharik points out, there is no requirement for LOS for the Mystic ability to work.
While that may be true, is there still the requirement that the firing unit has LoS?
Andrew
|
I don't care what the flag says, I'm SCOTTISH!!!
Best definition of the word Battleship?
Mr Nobody wrote:
Does a canoe with a machine gun count?
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/08/06 09:34:45
Subject: No Mystic from Vendetta, right?
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
The rules for the Mystic state that: 'Aside from this, the normal shooting rules apply.'
So yes, the firing unit still needs to have a LoS to the deepstriking unit.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/08/08 15:14:56
Subject: No Mystic from Vendetta, right?
|
 |
Lord of the Fleet
|
So use the ability with a unit of Leman Russ Executioners and the enemy are in for a lot of hurt with a possible 15 plasma cannon shots heading their way!
|
|
|
 |
 |
|
|