Switch Theme:

Units in open toped vehicle shooting while moving?  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Yellin' Yoof on a Scooter




Does the unit inside the vehicle count as a weapon? So only if the vehicle doesn't move can all the units shoot (open toped)? Or if it goes 6 inches or less 1 of the guys inside can shoot?

Playing orks and if all my shootas / lootas could shoot even after the truk / battle wagon moved that would be great



Edit: Ok found another thread that answered part of my question...the shootas part. What about lootas being heavy. Does it count as moving if they are in a vehicle?

Other post

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2009/08/05 18:31:44


 
   
Made in us
Sinewy Scourge





Bothell, WA

The unit inside can shoot as if it had moved that turn (meaning only assault weapons or rapid fire weapons at 12" range) as long as the open toped vehicle moved at combat speed (6" or less).

So yes, all your shootas can fire, however, your lootas, which have Heavy weapons, can not.

Salamander Marines 65-12-13
Dark Eldar Wych Cult 4-1-0
Dark Eldar Kabal 36-10-4
2010 Indy GT Tournament Record: 11-6-3
Golden Ticket Winner with Dark Eldar
Timmah wrote:Best way to use lysander:
Set in your storage bin, pick up vulkan model, place in list.
 
   
Made in us
Perfect Shot Dark Angels Predator Pilot





Oregon

something else to remember is that red paint allows an extra inch without any penalties. IE you could slam your wagon 7 inches forward and unload with your shootaz.
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut





US

Open topped full of burnas is happiness

Craftworld Uaire-Nem pics "Like shimmering daggers of light our fury shall rain down and cleanse this battlefield." Autarch of Uaire-Nem
BlueDagger's Nomad pics - "Morality, my friend, is merely a price tag." - BlueDagger, Contraband Dealer. Holo-recording played during the murder trial of an undercover PanOceania officer. Court Record 9002xaB, . Infinity Nomads - Come see what it's all about!
|Looking for War-gaming matches in the Colorado area? Colorado Infinity
 
   
Made in fi
Confessor Of Sins




rednekgunner wrote:something else to remember is that red paint allows an extra inch without any penalties.


Exactly. But remember that RPJ is "added to your move" - moving 1'' must still mean you moved for the purpose of determining what speed band you're in. So no Lootaz shooting from a wagon that crawled that one inch.
   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut





What I've seen done is absolutely sick with orks and the damn Trukks... lol... Move 13", disembark 2", shoot, assault 6"... Absolutely crazy... most of my army got crushed the first turn. but then again, its my faultfor letting them get so close... lol

This message was edited 3 times. Last update was at 2009/08/06 07:54:23


 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut






Moving flat out..

I thought that you couldn't disembark the Orks if a trukk moved fast that turn?


Join the Da 'Umie Chattah Intahceptahs - Trukk Shoota Boyz

Projekt Bench by: DX3
http://www.dakkadakka.com/dakkaforum/posts/list/390647.page

45+ Successful Transactions on DakkaDakka
184+ eBay Transactions

 
   
Made in us
Hoary Long Fang with Lascannon





Kalamazoo

Trukks are opentopped, so you can assault after moving 12'
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut






Moving flat out..

Thanks, Durandal.


Join the Da 'Umie Chattah Intahceptahs - Trukk Shoota Boyz

Projekt Bench by: DX3
http://www.dakkadakka.com/dakkaforum/posts/list/390647.page

45+ Successful Transactions on DakkaDakka
184+ eBay Transactions

 
   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut





asugradinwa wrote:The unit inside can shoot as if it had moved that turn (meaning only assault weapons or rapid fire weapons at 12" range) as long as the open toped vehicle moved at combat speed (6" or less).

So yes, all your shootas can fire, however, your lootas, which have Heavy weapons, can not.


I actually just read this post even though it was posted before my last post here, but I guess I am misunderstanding you Asugradinwa, are you saying that assault weapons can only shoot at the 12" range if they have moved? If so, you are wrong on this as on page 28 states "assault weapons shoot the numbers of times indicated whether you moved or not and regardless of range." Just curious as it if I missed something or not.
   
Made in gb
Lead-Footed Trukkboy Driver






Leicester, UK

s2ua7 wrote:
asugradinwa wrote:The unit inside can shoot as if it had moved that turn (meaning only assault weapons or rapid fire weapons at 12" range) as long as the open toped vehicle moved at combat speed (6" or less).

So yes, all your shootas can fire, however, your lootas, which have Heavy weapons, can not.


I actually just read this post even though it was posted before my last post here, but I guess I am misunderstanding you Asugradinwa, are you saying that assault weapons can only shoot at the 12" range if they have moved? If so, you are wrong on this as on page 28 states "assault weapons shoot the numbers of times indicated whether you moved or not and regardless of range." Just curious as it if I missed something or not.


(meaning only "assault weapons" or "rapid fire weapons at 12" range")
I think this is how it was meant.

You cannot disembark if the trukk moved Flat Out.
If it moved 1-12"(13" RPJ), you can disembark, shoot then assault.
If it moved 6"(7" RPJ) you can shoot all non-heavy weapons from inside, measuring from any point on the hull. This unit can fire at a different target than the trukk.

I refuse to enter a battle of wits with an unarmed opponent. 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut





US

Black Spike's listing is correct gj

Yes, if you get within 18" of a trukk full of boyz then expect to get assualted. Golden rule of thumb for most armies... if you playing orks pick them off at range.

Craftworld Uaire-Nem pics "Like shimmering daggers of light our fury shall rain down and cleanse this battlefield." Autarch of Uaire-Nem
BlueDagger's Nomad pics - "Morality, my friend, is merely a price tag." - BlueDagger, Contraband Dealer. Holo-recording played during the murder trial of an undercover PanOceania officer. Court Record 9002xaB, . Infinity Nomads - Come see what it's all about!
|Looking for War-gaming matches in the Colorado area? Colorado Infinity
 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: