Switch Theme:

Infiltration and transports  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in au
Frenzied Berserker Terminator




In your squads, doing the chainsword tango

Just seeking a clarification here with infiltrating/outflanking units and transports. If i have a unit that is infiltrating, and it has a dedicated transport (my example here is Chosen CSM in a rhino), does the unit infiltrate in the transport i.e you place the rhino with the unit inside just before the first turn? And if you outflank, the unit moves in from off the table edge. This means said rhino cannot dump marines on the edge so they can assault the turn they outflank, if i've got this right?


cheers in advance!

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2009/08/06 17:02:30


   
Made in au
Long-Range Ultramarine Land Speeder Pilot




Probably somewhere I shouldn't be

You have it right, an Infiltrator unit, if deployed in a transport cannot infiltrate, however, they can outflank. Because the tank has to move onto the board, troops that disembark on an outflank cannot assault.

BGB p.94 wrote:Note that if such units are picked from their army list together with a dedicated transport, they may outflank [...] embarked in it.

BGB p.94 wrote:When a reserve unit arrives, it must move onto the table

BGB p. 67 wrote:If the vehicle has already moved [...] After disembarking, these models may shoot (counting as moving), but may not assault.


EDIT: adding rules support.

This message was edited 3 times. Last update was at 2009/08/06 18:02:49


40k: WHFB: (I want a WE Icon, dammit!)
DR:80S+G+M(GD)B++I++Pw40k96+D+A+++/areWD206R+++T(M)DM+
Please stop by and check out my current P&M Blog: Space Wolves Wolf Lord 
   
Made in au
Frenzied Berserker Terminator




In your squads, doing the chainsword tango

Cheers on that. I'm at work doing army lists, but i don't have a BGB. Shame landraiders can't be taken as dedicated transports for Chosen

   
Made in au
Long-Range Ultramarine Land Speeder Pilot




Probably somewhere I shouldn't be

Consider looking on Ebay for the digest-sized rulebook that comes in the AoBR box - you can often find them for less than US$10. Exactly the same content and layout as the full book, but without the background info or modeling section.

40k: WHFB: (I want a WE Icon, dammit!)
DR:80S+G+M(GD)B++I++Pw40k96+D+A+++/areWD206R+++T(M)DM+
Please stop by and check out my current P&M Blog: Space Wolves Wolf Lord 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: