| Author |
Message |
 |
|
|
 |
|
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/08/06 20:19:45
Subject: Independent Characters in Assaults
|
 |
Cultist of Nurgle with Open Sores
Connecticut
|
Okay here's the instance .. Say an IC that has already joined a squad of troops makes a charge on an opponent. They charge as a group, but the IC isn't able to make it into base to base due to distance and thus, obviously cannot make any attacks during that turn. Now for some reason my friend seems dead set on the fact that now, even though the IC can't make attacks and isn't in base to base with anyone, he can still be attacked by opponents because they're engaged.
It seems very unlikely to me that this would be the case, that ICs can be attacked, but not attack, simply because they're not in base to base yet engaged. It's as clear as day to me on page 49 but he doesn't seem think so. Please let me know what you guys think. Thanks in advance.
|
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2009/08/07 15:13:43
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/08/06 20:24:11
Subject: Re:Idependent Characters in Assaults
|
 |
Infiltrating Oniwaban
|
In that scenario the assaulted unit is not engaged with the IC so it cannot direct its attacks towards him. Units have to have at least one model in base to base with a target unit in order to attack. It doesn't matter if the defender has models within 2" of the IC.
|
The Imperial Navy, A Galatic Force for Good. |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/08/06 20:35:02
Subject: Re:Idependent Characters in Assaults
|
 |
Cultist of Nurgle with Open Sores
Connecticut
|
Thanks for the quick reply.
Just to clarify, perhaps we both had the wrong definition of "engaged," which would make perfect sense. We both were under the assumption that enganged simply meant locked in combat, is this not the case? Does engaged mean base to base (and within 2" of someone who is in BTB in the same unit)?
And thus an IC who is locked in combat, yet not engaged (not in BTB) cannot be attacked or make attacks?
|
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/08/06 20:40:07
Subject: Idependent Characters in Assaults
|
 |
Proud Phantom Titan
|
in order for the models to fight they need to be in base to base contact. Any model within 2" can also fight. Wounds can be allocated on to any one in the unit that's been attacked. IC always count as a separate unit and should be moved first to combat. Since an IC is a separate unit he can only be attacked if some one is in Base to base contact with him.
|
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2009/08/06 20:41:07
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/08/06 20:48:34
Subject: Idependent Characters in Assaults
|
 |
Slaanesh Havoc with Blastmaster
Orklando
|
Tri wrote:IC always count as a separate unit and should be moved first to combat. Since an IC is a separate unit he can only be attacked if some one is in Base to base contact with him.
Nitpick: always count as a separate unit during the attack/be attacked stage of close combat. Before and after that they are part of units they were part of before the combat started.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/08/06 20:56:34
Subject: Re:Idependent Characters in Assaults
|
 |
Focused Fire Warrior
Atlanta
|
As I understand it...
When a unit declares an assault, any IC's attached move first if they can reach any models in the target unit.
If the IC does not reach base contact, it will be included in the list of models which the opponent must attempt to base with their 6" pile-in move.
At this point, when attacks are made, anyone who is in base contact with the independent character can swing on the independent character, as can any model in the same unit within 2" of that model who is not in base contact with another enemy model. In return, the independent character can swing against any unit which he is in base contact of a model of.
The short method of saying this is that before and after swings are made, the Independent Character is treated as a part of the unit they have joined, but during the allocation of attacks it is a separate unit unto itself.
|
Victorious warriors win first and then go to war, while defeated warriors go to war first and then seek to win. -- Sun-tzu
The art of war is simple enough. Find out where your enemy is. Get at him as soon as you can. Strike him as hard as you can, and keep moving on. -- Ulysses S. Grant
Armies and records (w/l/d) (1v1 only)
Orks: ~8500pts -- 2009: 52/2/7 & 17/2/6 in RTTs -- Casual size 85% Painted
Empire: 7000pts -- 2009:19/6/11 & 3/1/5 in RTTs -- Casual size 50% Painted
Marines: 2000pts -- 2009: 4/2/0 -- 20% Painted
Kroot Mercenaries - ~1500pts -- 2009: 0/1/1
Vampire Counts: 1850pts -- 2009: 9/3/4 -- Paint? We're dead...
Skaven (Work in Progress) - ~4000pts -- 2012: 1/1/1 -- Unpainted
Tau (Work in Progress) - 1500pts -- 2012: 5/1/1 -- 20% Painted |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/08/06 21:02:32
Subject: Re:Idependent Characters in Assaults
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
Malecus wrote:As I understand it...
When a unit declares an assault, any IC's attached move first if they can reach any models in the target unit.
If the IC does not reach base contact, it will be included in the list of models which the opponent must attempt to base with their 6" pile-in move.
At this point, when attacks are made, anyone who is in base contact with the independent character can swing on the independent character, as can any model in the same unit within 2" of that model who is not in base contact with another enemy model. In return, the independent character can swing against any unit which he is in base contact of a model of.
The short method of saying this is that before and after swings are made, the Independent Character is treated as a part of the unit they have joined, but during the allocation of attacks it is a separate unit unto itself.
When a unit delcalres an assault, any IC's attached do not move first unless they are they closest model to the unit being charged. what your thinking of is reaction moves by the unit being charged. if there is an Independent character in the unit being charged the IC must make his move first before any of the other models to try and get into base to base with the enemy. Same applies to pile in moves.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/08/06 21:37:35
Subject: Re:Idependent Characters in Assaults
|
 |
Infiltrating Oniwaban
|
Yep, there is no requirement for an IC attached to an assaulting unit to move into BTB first. It is usually advisable to move them early to ensure they get to fight, but it's not always the case. As already pointed out, the requirements of the defenders reaction rules do state that an IC must be the first to respond if he isn't already in BTB with a unit.
|
The Imperial Navy, A Galatic Force for Good. |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/08/06 22:25:39
Subject: Idependent Characters in Assaults
|
 |
Impassive Inquisitorial Interrogator
|
Well, from how I read the rulebook, there's no rule that even says that the IC HAS to get into base to base contact. Although if you didn't then you won't get the sportsmanship award because as long as he's within 2" of the target he still attacks. I had an Ork player up against me who always threw Nobz in front of him when they charged so he attacked but couldn't be attacked back. Bah!
But yes, you have to be in base to base with an IC to attack him.
|
You don't see da eyes of da Daemon, till him come callin'
- King Willy - Predator 2 |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/08/06 23:09:33
Subject: Idependent Characters in Assaults
|
 |
Cultist of Nurgle with Open Sores
Connecticut
|
Matt1785 wrote:Well, from how I read the rulebook, there's no rule that even says that the IC HAS to get into base to base contact. Although if you didn't then you won't get the sportsmanship award because as long as he's within 2" of the target he still attacks. I had an Ork player up against me who always threw Nobz in front of him when they charged so he attacked but couldn't be attacked back. Bah!
But yes, you have to be in base to base with an IC to attack him.
I'm afraid you're wrong sir .. An IC MUST be in base to base to attack, that much my friend and I were both very clear on from the start.
|
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/08/07 00:00:53
Subject: Re:Idependent Characters in Assaults
|
 |
Boosting Ultramarine Biker
|
It's worthwhile to point out that according to the rules, for all extensive purposes the IC is it's own unit/squad when engaged in CC. The IC cannot attack or be attacked unless in B2B with the opponent as it is considered a completely different unit in CC.
edit: Some rules to clear up some misconceptions in this thread...
"When the attacks are resolved, independent characters are always treated as a separate single-model unit..."
"...this also means that they have to be in base contact with the enemy to be able to attack."
|
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2009/08/07 00:07:17
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/08/07 01:41:52
Subject: Idependent Characters in Assaults
|
 |
[MOD]
Making Stuff
|
Matt1785 wrote:Well, from how I read the rulebook, there's no rule that even says that the IC HAS to get into base to base contact.
He's a separate unit.
So if he's not in base contact he's not engaged, and so can't fight.
|
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/08/07 04:38:58
Subject: Re:Idependent Characters in Assaults
|
 |
Shrieking Guardian Jetbiker
Los Angeles, CA
|
Axyl wrote:It's worthwhile to point out that according to the rules, for all extensive purposes the IC is it's own unit/squad when engaged in CC. The IC cannot attack or be attacked unless in B2B with the opponent as it is considered a completely different unit in CC.
edit: Some rules to clear up some misconceptions in this thread...
"When the attacks are resolved, independent characters are always treated as a separate single-model unit..."
"...this also means that they have to be in base contact with the enemy to be able to attack."
If I may take this a bit further..
If an IC is in a unit, and enjoys some passive benefit from one of the models in that unit, does this then mean that he loses those benefits during the assault?
|
Eldritch Raiders 2500
Ogre Kingdoms 1500
LotR-Mordor 750 |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/08/07 05:51:48
Subject: Idependent Characters in Assaults
|
 |
Bounding Assault Marine
|
Not necessarily, otherwise Chaplains would never ACTUALLY allow re-rolls for the hit in melee. It would be just the Chaplain... and that's plain silly.
|
Gwar: "Of course 99.999% of players don't even realise this, and even I am not THAT much of an ass to call on it (unless the guy was a total dick or a Scientologist, but that's just me)"
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/08/07 15:46:32
Subject: Re:Idependent Characters in Assaults
|
 |
Cultist of Nurgle with Open Sores
Connecticut
|
Axyl wrote:If I may take this a bit further..
If an IC is in a unit, and enjoys some passive benefit from one of the models in that unit, does this then mean that he loses those benefits during the assault?
If it's something that they give him, or he gives them at any point, they both keep it during combat as well, unless stated otherwise. One example of this would be the SM Honor Guard Chapter Banner which adds "+1 attacks to all models in the same unit as the banner," hence an IC joining this unit gains an extra attack during close combat. And vice versa, ICs like the Chaplain mentioned confer rerolled hits on a charge to the unit he joins.
Thanks all for the excellent responses to my original post
|
|
This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2009/08/07 15:49:48
|
|
|
 |
 |
|
|