Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/08/14 21:30:32
Subject: Bound items
|
 |
Never-Miss Nightwing Pilot
|
Can someone please explain the rules on bound items, as the ones in the BRB arent very clear. Im in the dark here
|
"The stars themselves once lived and died at our command yet you still dare oppose our will. "-Farseer Mirehn Biellann
Armies at 'The Stand-still Point':
Cap'n Waaagggh's warband (Fantasy Orcs) 2250pts. Waaagghhh! in full flow... W-D-L=10-3-3
Hive Fleet Leviathan Strand 1500pts. W-D-L=7-1-2 Nom.
Eldar armies of various sizes W-D-L 26-6-3
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/08/14 21:45:41
Subject: Bound items
|
 |
[SWAP SHOP MOD]
Barpharanges
|
Basically, you can use a bound item once per your Magic Phase turn (unless stated otherwise).
The spell bound to the item is cast automatically at whatever level is stated, and can be dispelled per normal dispel rules, with the defender having to roll equal to or above the power level of the spell.
For example: If you have an item that casts the Fireball spell with Power Level 3, your opponent can dispel the spell on a 3+.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/08/14 22:50:43
Subject: Bound items
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
Furthermore, with the exception of Tomb Kings, you may use the Bound Spell whenever you wish in the phase. Some people tend to use the die in the beginning of the phase to suck-up Dispel Dice (Roll a die or your Wizard's getting wounded on a 2+), while others use it at the end in an attempt to force out a Dispel Scroll / get off a surprise spell (Out of dice? Great, all these guys are now striking first and re-rolling failed to hits unless you use a Scroll).
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/08/15 03:57:18
Subject: Bound items
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
If all that isn't clear, think of the power level being a fixed "dice roll" like you would do when rolling a spell normally - it goes off automatically as if you had rolled "X", with "X" being the power level stated.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/08/15 11:31:07
Subject: Bound items
|
 |
Never-Miss Nightwing Pilot
|
I find that a bit rubbish, especially when it has a power level on 2 or 3, though it is good for the ways Minsc said, especially if it has of power lvl of 5, forcing the opponent to use 2D6 if he really wants to dispel it.
Thx 4 the help guys.
|
"The stars themselves once lived and died at our command yet you still dare oppose our will. "-Farseer Mirehn Biellann
Armies at 'The Stand-still Point':
Cap'n Waaagggh's warband (Fantasy Orcs) 2250pts. Waaagghhh! in full flow... W-D-L=10-3-3
Hive Fleet Leviathan Strand 1500pts. W-D-L=7-1-2 Nom.
Eldar armies of various sizes W-D-L 26-6-3
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/08/15 17:41:34
Subject: Bound items
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
Try to have enough other magic that dispel dice are gone: if they have none left, then it goes off even though it is power level 3 (minimum you will find, as it also matches "minimum 3 to cast" for normal spells) - or it gets rid of a dispel scroll.
Having just one or two bounds and a caddy will, unfortunately, likely get you nowhere: magic is pretyt limited to all or nothing.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/08/28 16:43:56
Subject: Re:Bound items
|
 |
Bounding Assault Marine
In the deepest reaches of Valhalla
|
Apart from whats already been said. Bound spells is a wild card. Easy to dispel, yeah, but effective if it goes through.
I mainly use them as annoyance.
//Edge
|
|
 |
 |
|