Switch Theme:

Can you tank shock from off the table if you cannot complete all the steps?  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Boom! Leman Russ Commander








Enemy has lined up his models on the table edge.

Other player decides to tank shock to break the lines.

The first step of tank shocking is to......move the model on the spot and point it in the direction you want the tank to move.

Since you can't move a model that is off the table, you can't tank shock. Even if you intend to move straight, if you cannot accomplish any step in a sequence of steps, then the process cannot occur.

Therefore, you cannot tank shock if the model is off the table.

Ok rip it up!

.Only a fool believes there is such a thing as price gouging. Things have value determined by the creator or merchant. If you don't agree with that value, you are free not to purchase. 
   
Made in gb
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime







Yes, you can, because the rules for arriving from reserve tell you to place the model as if it were off the board in contact with the board edge. Once you do that, you can move it however you want.

Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!)
 
   
Made in us
Boom! Leman Russ Commander






Gwar! wrote:Yes, you can, because the rules for arriving from reserve tell you to place the model as if it were off the board in contact with the board edge. Once you do that, you can move it however you want.



That is irrelevant to the process. Can you turn a model off the table? No ( even if you intend to move straight, if you don't have the ability to perform the first action, the following actions cannot occur).


.Only a fool believes there is such a thing as price gouging. Things have value determined by the creator or merchant. If you don't agree with that value, you are free not to purchase. 
   
Made in gb
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime







General Hobbs wrote:
Gwar! wrote:Yes, you can, because the rules for arriving from reserve tell you to place the model as if it were off the board in contact with the board edge. Once you do that, you can move it however you want.



That is irrelevant to the process. Can you turn a model off the table? No ( even if you intend to move straight, if you don't have the ability to perform the first action, the following actions cannot occur).

In that case models can never move onto the board from reserve, as you can never move a model off the table either. If you are permitted to move the Vehicle onto the table, you are permitted to choose what angle it its coming in.

Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!)
 
   
Made in us
Junior Officer with Laspistol






The eye of terror.

It's not irrelevant because the rules give you permission to move the vehicle that is off the table, and tell you to do it exactly as if the vehicle was moved to the table edge the turn before.

The quasi-rule that you are quoting "you cannot turn a model off the table" is not written anywhere.

Granted, "the rules don't say I can't do it" is not a valid argument, but the fact that the rules tell you how the on-coming vehicle will interact with the table, combined with no specific restriction from doing it written in the rules, means that at the moment the vehicle is coming onto the table, it may rotate and move X inches in one direction, exactly as if it had ended its move at the table edge the turn before.

QED.

Why did the berzerker cross the road?
Gwar! wrote:Willydstyle has it correct
Gwar! wrote:Yup you're absolutely right

New to the game and can't win? Read this.

 
   
Made in us
Veteran Wolf Guard Squad Leader





What if you play on a table that the edge of the gaming board is the edge of the table?

Can you not tank shock then? Since your model would be 3 ft below the battlefield on the floor.

My 40k Theory Blog
 
   
Made in us
5th God of Chaos! (Yea'rly!)




The Great State of Texas

Modquisition on: Politeness will be required in this thread.

I'vve also been informed there was an earlier large thread on the topic. You might review that as well.

-"Wait a minute.....who is that Frazz is talking to in the gallery? Hmmm something is going on here.....Oh.... it seems there is some dispute over video taping of some sort......Frazz is really upset now..........wait a minute......whats he go there.......is it? Can it be?....Frazz has just unleashed his hidden weiner dog from his mini bag, while quoting shakespeares "Let slip the dogs the war!!" GG
-"Don't mind Frazzled. He's just Dakka's crazy old dude locked in the attic. He's harmless. Mostly."
-TBone the Magnificent 1999-2014, Long Live the King!
 
   
Made in us
Evasive Eshin Assassin






http://www.dakkadakka.com/dakkaforum/posts/list/248772.page
   
Made in us
[DCM]
Tilter at Windmills






Manchester, NH

If your Tank were on the table, and already pointed in the exact direction you wanted to Tank Shock, you would not need to pivot it. Would that prevent it from Tank Shocking? I can’t imagine anyone trying to make that argument.

Given that a tank off the table has no pre-defined orientation (it just counts as being in contact with the table edge), I see no reason it would need to pivot either.

Adepticon 2015: Team Tourney Best Imperial Team- Team Ironguts, Adepticon 2014: Team Tourney 6th/120, Best Imperial Team- Cold Steel Mercs 2, 40k Championship Qualifier ~25/226
More 2010-2014 GT/Major RTT Record (W/L/D) -- CSM: 78-20-9 // SW: 8-1-2 (Golden Ticket with SW), BA: 29-9-4 6th Ed GT & RTT Record (W/L/D) -- CSM: 36-12-2 // BA: 11-4-1 // SW: 1-1-1
DT:70S++++G(FAQ)M++B++I+Pw40k99#+D+++A+++/sWD105R+++T(T)DM+++++
A better way to score Sportsmanship in tournaments
The 40K Rulebook & Codex FAQs. You should have these bookmarked if you play this game.
The Dakka Dakka Forum Rules You agreed to abide by these when you signed up.

Maelstrom's Edge! 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: