Switch Theme:

Taking saves  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Mutilatin' Mad Dok




SE Michigan

Alright, so first I'd like to apologize for my ignorance,
but can you take both a cover save and a armor save in the same turn for the same unit
example a unit of chaos marines are in a building, they get shot at, can they take both an armor and cover save?(note:this is just a hypothetical situation I play orks)
thanks for all and any responses,

www.mi40k.com for pickup games and tournaments
3000+


 
   
Made in gb
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime







No, you only ever take one save. Page 24 of the Rulebook "Models with more than one save".

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2009/08/19 01:50:55


Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!)
 
   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut





Gwar is right, but I would like to elaborate a little more, not that it needs elaborated on, as this is a common sense thing, but if I remember right, the rule states that figures with more than 1 save must take the best save. So even if your save is 3+ (in the case of Sisters of Battle), even if your in cover (say in a a ruin which, if memory serves me is a 4+)taking normal fire (not requiring invuln saves) you must take your 3+ save. Again, not all that suprising, but thought I would mention it.
   
Made in au
Gore-Soaked Lunatic Witchhunter






Australia (Recently ravaged by the Hive Fleet Ginger Overlord)

Guess who's right? You got it, kids! It's s2ua7 and not anyone else!

Smacks wrote:
After the game, pack up all your miniatures, then slap the guy next to you on the ass and say.

"Good game guys, now lets hit the showers"
 
   
Made in gb
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime







Emperors Faithful wrote:Guess who's right? You got it, kids! It's s2ua7 and not anyone else!
But he says I am right, which means that therefore I divide by 0

Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!)
 
   
Made in gb
Lord of the Fleet






To elaborate a bit for huffy - let's say we have a terminator (who has 2+ armour and a 5+ invulnerable) who's in cover (4+).

He's got 3 saves - 2+armour, 4+cover. 5+inv.

You must take the best save against what's shooting at you. So, against a bolter (AP5) you'd use the 2+ armour. Against a plasma gun (AP2) you'd use the 4+ cover. Against a power weapon you'd use the 5+invulnerable.

The only time that a model gets to make two saves is with feel no pain. Models with this ability get to make an extra 4+ save AFTER they've failed their normal save (armour, cover, whatever).
   
Made in gb
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime







Just remember though that Feel No Pain (and Ghosthelms, the only other comparable effect iirc) are NOT Saves per se, but are special rolls taken in addition to saves. (No point in letting people fall into bad habits now )

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2009/08/19 08:34:31


Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!)
 
   
Made in gb
Lord of the Fleet






Very true but it's often a source of confusion for newbs who get told they can only have one save then see people (apparently) taking two.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2009/08/19 09:14:09


 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: