A dispute has opened up at my
FLGS because of my recent use of Vulkan-Powered Combi-Meltas via dropping sternguard.
Basically their claim, based on a strict form of
RAW is this--- I lose special ammunition rules for sternguard whenever I take combi-weapons, because strictly speaking-- they are no longer boltguns. Their actual NAME is combi-melta. ...and while they are described as regular bolters with a one-shot add on--- the special rules specifically state they are for Bolt Guns.
My first instinct was to fly into a righteous rage... but then I had to sit back for a second. Now, I've never played it this way, never seen ANYONE play it this way, but that doesn't mean they don't have something of a point.
I said I'd roll for it and we did (I won)-- the game continued.
Now though, I'm thinking about it-- and if I DO give myself this with the combi-melta....then couldn't others claim that Techmarine Gunners that come with TF cannons count as Techmarines that can allow for units of servitors. Couldn't others start to claim similar situations?
Somebody throw me a bone here-- is there a specific rule or mention I missed that states for the purposes of special rules, etc. they are considered boltguns?
Best answer gets this =>