Switch Theme:

Firing flamer at unit out of range hitting other unit.  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Irked Blood Angel Scout with Combat Knife





Say I drop pod my MM/HF Dreadnaught and the opponent has his armor surrounded by infantry and I fire at the tank over his infantry troops.

If the tank is within 8" then the template hits it and also gets all the guys under it.

If the tank is beyond 8" then the template cant reach it. Can I still shoot the infantry with the heavy flamer? Can I aim it any direction within 45 degree arc or does it have to be in the direction of the tank?

I was thinking I could shoot it at any angle because the max number in the unit I am shooting is zero so I am not hindered by anything else except the 45 degree angle.

DD__EEE_N___N_N___N_Y_Y_1__8___22__4_4
D_D_E___NN__N_NN__N_Y_Y_1_8_8_2__2_4_4
D_D_EEE_N_N_N_N_N_N__Y__1__8____2__444
D_D_E___N__NN_N__NN__Y__1_8_8__2_____4
DD__EEE_N___N_N___N__Y__1__8__2222___4 
   
Made in gb
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime







denny1824 wrote:If the tank is beyond 8" then the template cant reach it. Can I still shoot the infantry with the heavy flamer? Can I aim it any direction within 45 degree arc or does it have to be in the direction of the tank
No, you cannot, as the target is out of range and the Flamer auto-misses, thus the template does not hit the infantry.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2009/08/25 22:40:43


Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!)
 
   
Made in us
Irked Blood Angel Scout with Combat Knife





On page 29, under Template, it says "Instead of rolling to hit, simply place the template so that its narrow end is touching the base of the model firing it and the rest of the template covers as many models as possible in the target unit without touching any friendly models."

I don't see any thing about missing if you can't reach. Where is that rule at?

DD__EEE_N___N_N___N_Y_Y_1__8___22__4_4
D_D_E___NN__N_NN__N_Y_Y_1_8_8_2__2_4_4
D_D_EEE_N_N_N_N_N_N__Y__1__8____2__444
D_D_E___N__NN_N__NN__Y__1_8_8__2_____4
DD__EEE_N___N_N___N__Y__1__8__2222___4 
   
Made in gb
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime







It is the Check range Part, which happens before the Roll to hit part.

Page 17:
"If a target is beyond this maximum range, the shot misses automatically."

As the Range is Template, if the Target is more than the templates distance away, it auto misses.

RAWR I ninja'd insaniak for once

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2009/08/25 22:50:58


Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!)
 
   
Made in au
[MOD]
Making Stuff






Under the couch

Page 17, "Check Range"


The template rules replace the To hit roll, and give you a handy teardrop shape to check range with instead of your tape measure. They don't remove the rule that tells you you miss if the target is out of range.

 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut




Gwar!: No, you cannot, as the target is out of range and the Flamer auto-misses, thus the template does not hit the infantry.
I'm not sure if this is true.
Heavy Flamers are listed with Template in there range characteristic.
They have no range number listed
The qualifications for firing a template is that the firer must place the narrow end to it's base and the wide end covering as many models in the target unit as possible without touching friendly models.
With vehicles, the template must cover as much of the vehicle as possible without touch friendly models. (none is a possibility)
I don't see anything saying that if the target can't be cover that the template weapon fails to fire since it seems to me that unless the template rules (pg29) trump the Check Range rules (pg17) that the template weapons would never be able to fire as they have no range measurement listed.
Also the template rules seem to indicate that the weapon is designed to cause incidental casualties, as rules are write to handle these incidental casualties.
   
Made in us
Irked Blood Angel Scout with Combat Knife





Thanks

DD__EEE_N___N_N___N_Y_Y_1__8___22__4_4
D_D_E___NN__N_NN__N_Y_Y_1_8_8_2__2_4_4
D_D_EEE_N_N_N_N_N_N__Y__1__8____2__444
D_D_E___N__NN_N__NN__Y__1_8_8__2_____4
DD__EEE_N___N_N___N__Y__1__8__2222___4 
   
Made in gb
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime







You still measure range. Nothing in Template says you do not.


Automatically Appended Next Post:
denny1824 wrote:Thanks
You are most welcome.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2009/08/25 22:56:28


Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!)
 
   
Made in au
[MOD]
Making Stuff






Under the couch

Belphegor wrote:They have no range number listed


They don't have a range number... but they do have a range.


You determine hits and range by placing the template. Anything not under the template is out of range of the weapon.

 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut




insaniak: They don't have a range number... but they do have a range
You determine hits and range by placing the template. Anything not under the template is out of range of the weapon.
I suppose interpreting otherwise would open up too much possibility for abusive dreadnought/Russ multi-targeting.
Thanks
   
Made in fi
Confessor Of Sins




Belphegor wrote:
Gwar!: No, you cannot, as the target is out of range and the Flamer auto-misses, thus the template does not hit the infantry.
I'm not sure if this is true.


Think again in that case because as so often before Gwar has the correct answer. Range: Template gives no special excemption from auto-missing if the chosen target is out of range. Blasts that scatter out of range have an excemption in their rules. If in doubt, always return to "what isn't permitted is not happening".
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: